We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unbelievable Experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The accommodation at this lodge was amazing! The game drives out of this world!! Thanks to our ranger Roy and tracker Chris we managed to see the big 5 three drives in a row! The drives were also extremely informative. Lots of fun was had by everyone. I would go back at the drop of a hat if I could. The staff were also very accommodating and food was wonderful especially after the drives when you really notch up a hunger! I always thought this would be an fantastic trip but it way surpassed my expectations!

Room Tip: I feel the best rooms are near the main area as there is a wonderful view of the lake and you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtaplin44880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at Arathusa for 3 nights and it was our first ever safari experience - we loved it! Staff are friendly, our ranger & spotter Roy & Chris ( "rock & Roy") were fantastic. They promised us the big5 during our stay and they delivered in the first 2 days!! They fed us constantly, and the food was fantastic, lots of seafood options, game meat ( we had impala one night!) and something different every night! One night we had dinner sitting around the fire on the deck, another night it was a braai (outdoor BBQ by a fire) and the third night in their indoor/outdoor restaurant area. Breaky was awesome too- one morning it was even out in the bush.

The bush walks with Roy were good and informative and the other guides were really friendly and welcoming. Lodge is based around a big watering hole/ lake so Sitting out by the pool in between game drives was another opportunity to see more animals come and have a drink. We saw heaps of hippos, a 14 strong memory of elephants, zebra and warthogs without even leaving the lodge!

The only reason we wouldn't give a 5 is that although our room was well made up and mostly clean, out bath tub was dusty and dirty and our toilet had a bit of a sewer-ish smell the whole time which wasn't ideal. Also, our toilet blind was broken so when it was fully down people could still see in, not much but still a little. But the bed was super comfy with awesome pillows and towels were massive and fluffy. The other thing is that we were celebrating our honeymoon and another couple who were also there on honeymoon said their room was made up on their last night all special with rose petals etc. we also met other people who on their birthday also got special little things in their room... However we didn't get anything for us... :( It's not a big deal at all, but when we heard this we were a little bummed.

Overall though it was a really lovely lodge with awesome game drives, food, people, everything. We really enjoyed out time there.

Room Tip: Our room (7) was right where most meals are served which is handy with a pretty good view of waterin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wehearttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our first safari but after this experience definitely won't be our last.

Lovely accommodation, great food and saw many more animals than we ever expected to and in very close proximity.

Treatments in the Spa were very good value.

Would definitely recommend Arathusa.

Thanks to everyone at Arathusa for giving us the holiday of a lifetime, particularly to Debeer's, Professor and Ryan :)

Chris and Nicky

Room Tip: We went in May, ensure you pack fleeces and jackets for the morning and evening game drives. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at this wonderful lodge for 4 nights May 2014.. If there was a rating of more than 5 stars, this would be a 10. The lodging, the food, the staff, the tracker (Rifus), the guide (Sean) surpassed my highest expectations. The chef even fixed smores for several of us. I hope someday soon to return to this wonderful lodge. By the way, we saw the Big Five plus many other animals numerous times. A trip of a lifetime.

Gretchen

Room Tip: Standard rooms face the lake where you will see some of the animals . Great spa facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our first trip to a game reserve and fullfilled a bucket list dream...can't wait to return with our family. Our guide Roy and tracker Chris were outstanding and took as much delight in seeing a pack of wild dogs as we did. Our chef took great pride in serving outstanding meals and the Spa was a great way to unwind after a day in the bush! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have done game parks in the past and have lived the "rough" outdoor life. When staying here, you can forget about the rough part. We stayed in 5 star accommodations (we all had our own "house") The rooms are ridiculous! One night we heard a noise and when looking out the window there was a hyena staring back at us. Hippos sing to you at night here! The food is outstanding. The chef at Arathusa is a star. Our game rangers, "Double D" went out of their way to make sure we could see the big 5. I will tell you the drive to get to this park is a nightmare, lots of potholes and a banged up dirt road. However, once you are greeted by the staff and this beautiful place you will forget all about it. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our stay at Arathusa Safari Lodge was wonderful. The accommodations were comfortable and quiet. The food was very good. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, the lunches and dinners were full meals, well prepared and tasty. The rangers and trackers were fun to be with and made our visit most enjoyable. We had multiple encounters with the “Big 5” and many, many other animals. We had a cottage overlooking the pond and were able to sit on our front porch and watch the animals. A wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The cottages overlooking the watering hole make for a great time sitting on the front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingM-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
2 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
446 reviews
9.7 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
342 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing