We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding safari experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding safari experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights on our first safari experience. It was outstanding from beginning to end!
We saw the big 5 (including a leopard on three occasions) and many other animals besides including the rare wild dog.
Our ranger (Jason) and tracker (Roy) were very knowledgable and could spot things from about 40 metres away which was just astonishing to watch. We also had a star gazing session one night which was a lovely touch and something completely different.
The accomodation was lovely - the rondavels were very spacious and it was a pleasure to sit on the terrace every day looking over the lake trying to spot more animals.
The food was of good quality and was served in a very intimate setting around the boma every night where you can get to talk to the other guests.
We will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    99
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
484
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

My fiancé and I had a 5 night safari and stayed at two different lodges. Arathusa was the second lodge where we stayed for three nights. Our tour operator (African Sky) had made all our arrangements for us including flights, airport pick ups and all transfers. Everything was perfectly timed and executed; between the lodge transfers and airport drop off, we didn’t miss a game drive.

Arathusa Safari Lodge is located in Sabi Sands which is in the Greater Kruger National Park area. There are restrictions for the vehicles but not for the animals and so you can get many coming through from Kruger. The lodge itself is not fenced off and is by a waterhole so you get to see quite a range of game coming to drink and others occasionally wandering onto the lodge grounds. On our game drives, the game viewing was more than what we could have asked for! Excellent, excellent!!

The lodge has only 10 chalets with a maximum of 20 guests, no children under 12 yrs. The facilities are not luxuriously flashy like some other lodges but the bed was comfy, the bathroom was big and the decor was refined. There is a swimming pool, a curio shop and one internet terminal (connection was very slow though) that is charged at 2 Rand per minute. There is also Wifi for 150 Rand per stay but the signal was extremely weak.

On the service side, the whole team were very warm and welcoming. Being a smaller lodge, everyone knew your name and always asked how your day went. We had the chance to speak with the owner of Arathusa, who was super nice and engaging. Our ranger Jason and tracker Roy, were a fantastic team. We never felt rushed on our drives and Jason was always dispensing his knowledge; of the animals, the flora and of the stars! We couldn’t have asked for a more enthusiastic and passionate ranger.

Meals are served in an open dining area facing the waterhole. All guests sit together and the menu is set with a main course choice that changes daily. You always have more than enough to sustain you throughout the tough day!

One thing that struck us was that both lodges gave fairly detailed instructions in the Guest Folder on how much tipping they thought appropriate for the ranger and tracker. We believe that tips should be a reward for great service, and not based on a formula of how many in your party multiplied by the number of nights stayed. We felt this was too standardized and expected, no matter what level of service was delivered.

Overall, we had an amazing stay. Our ranger really was the key to making our safari experience exceptional. But the lodge was outstanding in location, size, facilities and service. We would not hesitate to recommend Arathusa to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Arathusa was beyond our expectations! The staff greeted us on arrival and made us feel so welcome and instantly relaxed. Each room is it's own building with views of their lake. The game drives were unbelievable! Jason and Roy are the best that we had in South Africa, but Andre and Rufus were also great. The communication that they have with other reserves in Sabi Sands and agreements to go onto each others properties makes the experience very enjoyable and allows you to see almost every animal you could want to see. The food was great and the venue for the meals was fabulous. Because there are no fences between Sabi Sands and Kruger the animals are free to move around and for us this was the best - we didn't like to idea of seeing animals that we fenced into an area. We saw the Big 5 numerous times and saw every animal and then some numerous times just a few feet from the truck. We were only to stay one night and 3 at another reserve, but cancelled and returned to Arathusa for our last night in South Africa. It's worth every penny and I will pay it again and again as we plan to return many, many more times and take friends and family with us! Simply the best!!

FYI - If you are driving out to Sabi and Arathusa in a rental car make sure it is a good car. The road is gravel and full of washboards (about 25km long). Our rental fell apart on that road which made us late for the game drive and rattled our nerves badly. With that said, we did drive back a few days later with the same car because Arathusa was that amazing!!! I already want to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngtravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

You would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in Sabi Sand. The location by the waterhole is superb and the staff are excellent. Jason, our ranger, made a real effort to get to know everybody's name and use it throughout our stay. The food was excellent and the accommodation spacious.
The game drives were the most special of all. With excellent tracking from Roy & Jason, we managed to witness a leopard kill and a cheetah kill in our 3 day stay.
We spent quality time at sightings and although we saw all the 'Big 5', we didn' t just rush around trying to tick them off.
A quality experience, made extra special by the staff.
I have included photos of some of the animals we saw.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed at Arathusa for 4 nights of our trip to SA. It was brilliant - I am from Africa but haven't seen too many leopards in the wild and this was my main aim of the stay. We weren't disappointed! And the greatest thing I liked was our enthusiasm was matched by the staff - they were just as excited as we were everytime we spotted something - and they were DETERMINED to show us much as they could. We didn't see huge amounts in terms of volume - but what we saw was very close and intimate and made this safari unique. I would go back - without a doubt and would recommend Arathusa over and over again! Thanks to Ryan and all the staff - it was a truly great 4 days.
Just on the side: I know there are camps out there (esp. in SA) that are super luxurious....this one isn't one of them. But for me I wanted to feel like I was in the bush - not in the middle of a city with every conceivable luxury to hand. Arathusa struck the right balance for me - very comfortable but you still felt you were in the bush!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paff-froid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by Arathusa. The locations is amazing - at a waterhole in the Sabi Sands area. The rondovelles are huge - we even had a king sized bed and mosquito netting that were both unexpected. The beds were turned down every night with a local flower on the bed. Special. Indoor shower, outdoor shower and a tub!! But it's all about the animals, and the guides knew when they could get close - and close we got!! We saw elephants, leopard, lion and RHINOS (even a baby)!! I can't say enough good things about Arathusa. Watching a giraffe drinking at the waterhole while sitting on our private veranda was a highlight!! The food was excellent and the setting was beautiful every night under the stars. There's even a salt water infinity pool (very environmentally friendly). We were very impressed especially after spending a lot more money at other accommodations that were not as good. Yes, of course there were some minor problems - a few maintenance things and a little construction going on (it's probably really beautiful now that they spiffed it up a bit) but the location and the staff make up for any issues. I would recommend to anyone but the most demanding. We really enjoyed the rest of the guests, too. No snooty here!! Perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Had phenomenal three day stay that was flawless. Friendly helpful staff - clean rooms - great drives - saw all the game. Other places charge more but you're here for the wildlife from a great lodge! The watering hole on site offered a daily parade of animals. Arathusa or stay home!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing