We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical experience !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arathusa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arathusa Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magical experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

An eden in South Africa with unparalleled service,comfort.
Good value for money given pricier options nearby.
Game drives were the highlight with excellent rangers/trackers
and sightings of the BIG 5.
Definitely recommend this place

Arthi & Dharshan ,manchester

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    99
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
484
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

We spent 4 nights at Arathusa and can't possibly list all of the wonderful things about our visit. Accomodations were lovely. Recently upgraded bathrooms have walk-in showers and separate tubs. There are also private outdoor showers. Beds were comfy and the mosquito netting made for a romantic look, though not necessary since rooms have AC (much needed during our stay!) and we had no problem with bugs. The pool was a great place to relax and read during the day. There is a lake in front of the property which has resident hippos and crocodile, and lots of other animals visiting for a drink. It was amazing to watch 7 elephants come down one night for a bath.
Meals were excellent.

The whole point of our visit, the game viewing, was spectacular! Repeated viewings of the big 5. We were able to get soooo close to the animals. The ranger, Mike, was exceptional in accomodating all guest preferences and requests, making sure even those staying just a night or 2 had great sightings. I think the highlight of this trip was the leopard sightings. We saw leopard every day, including one dining on a young kudu it had dragged up a tree. The hyenas waited below for leftovers.

We may not return for a few years, but we will definitely be back!

  • Liked — The game viewing, and everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank OnIslandTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2006

I stayed two nights in Arathusa in November 2006. After having stayed two nights in a luxury tent with no air conditioning that was a welcome as it made it easier to sleep in the evening. The lake is wonderful with hippos and a crocodile located there. Animals also come there to drink at the lake. The ranger and track are quite good and able to get right next to animals. We saw two leopards mating the first day, not a common site to see! I could touch the leopards from the vehicles. That was how close we were. The food was nothing to write home about but if you want a luxury experience in Sabi Sand this is an ideal place to stay when comparing to other "non 5 star lodge" locations.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank edandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

I stayed at this lodge for two nights during Setember 2006.
If a quiet and private experience is what you require, this is the place to go, due to the fact that the lodge caters for only ten guests at a time. It is secluded and you never feel swamped by other guests and can expect the best personal attention from the staff.
The accommodation is comfortable and spacious, and decorated in chic bushlodge style. The lodge is situated next to a dam and you can sit in comfort and watch the resident hippos and crocodiles and the other animals coming to drink. The food during my stay was well prepared, but not memorable, although supper in the boma is an experience to remember.
The game drives and the bushwalks are the definate highlights of this lodge. The ranger and the tracker (especially Rufus, the tracker) are knowledgable and pleasant and we saw our first leopard within two minutes of leaving the lodge on our first game drive. There are an abundence of game in the area, and we saw four of the big five on our first drive. If you are an avid photographer, there are numerous opportunities for excellent photography.
I can highly recommend Arathusa, and I will surely return there for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Can be very hot in summer.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Cannoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2006

After 9 years of traveling to southern Africa (S.A., Zimbabwe, Zambia, Botswana, and Namibia), my sister and I have found our home — ARATHUSA SAFARI LODGE. A little gem (only 10 max.) in the Sabi Sand, which has the best game viewing overall in southern Africa.

Opened in May 06 and owned by the original family, it is run by our friends Jaco and Laurika Buys. Jaco is famous as a ranger for his many years of experience in Kruger and Sabi Sand and has hired the very best Shangaan tracker in the area, Rufus. Together with a brand new LandCruiser, they give you the best gameviewing possible. Many of the Shangaan trackers in the area refer to Rufus for his knowledge.

Laurika is in charge of the kitchen and we had some of the best food we have ever had in Africa! I now have several of her recipes.

The bungelows are newly appointed with wonderful linens, the most comfortable beds since home, indoor and outdoor showers and killer views of their lake and the resident crocs, hippos, elephants, baboons, and Fish Eagles.

As an added bonus, Arathusa has its own airstrip and observation tower. Jaco, a Level 3 in Astronomy, will take you there for sundowners (cocktails) and guide you thru the beautiful southern night skies.

Jaco is planning a website that will post his daily sightings and his knowledge gleaned from years of experience in the bushveld.

Less expensive than many of the lodges in Sabi Sand, ARATHUSA SAFARI LODGE offers the most bang for you money. My sister and I are counting the days until we return next year.

Helpful?
17 Thank BigM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2006

After 9 years of traveling to southern Africa, my sister and I have finally found the perfect game lodge. Arathusa Safari Lodge is small (10 guests max.), but loaded with everything the most expensive lodges have.

Owned by the original family and run by Jaco and Laurika Buys, Arathusa is a dream come true. Jaco has years of experience as one of the best rangers in Sabi Sand and Rufus, his Shangaan tracker, is known for his abilty to find anything you can imagine. Add a brand new LandCruiser (not Land Rover) and they are the best team in the Sabi Sand. How about leopards up close and personal every day? Jaco will soon have a website you can follow his sightings and learn from his years of experience.

Laurika runs the kitchen and we had the best food we have had in Africa! The bungelows are charming and newly appointed with wonderful linens, indoor and outdoor showers and incredible views of the lake with its resident animals and birds.

An added bonus, Arathusa has its own airstrip and watchtower - from which sundowners, while star gazing, is a real treat. Jaco has a Level 3 in Astronomy and will guide you thru the southern night skies.

We will be back next year and are counting the days.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank BigM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathusa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathusa Safari Lodge

Property: Arathusa Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathusa Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Arathusa Safari Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Arathusa Safari
Arathusa Safari Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing