We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

For most people going to Africa and on Safari is a big deal and you want to get it right. We feel so fortunate that we included Idube in our plans. The rooms were lovely - not ultra modern - but they had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our dietary requests. The game drives were beyond anything we imagined. Okker is a fantastic ranger and was great with our kids - always drawing them in. We saw more than we had dared to hope to see and never felt that we were among crowds. The only thing that I would love to see is a better wifi system for those of us who wish to stay connected and a place to get a good workout in. When you are used to being able to go for a run or do some yoga it is hard to sit for 7-8 hours a day on drives and not crave some exercise in between. All in all I would easily suggest this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyfamily_of_4_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    30
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
190
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We knew that going on a safari would be a trip of a lifetime, but Idube well surpassed even our highest expectations. Everything was exceptional and the wildlife viewing was top notch, we saw the big 5 on our first 2 drives! You don't need binoculars on this safari! I was amazed how close we were able to get to the animals. We were lucky enough to stay in the Makubela suites, breathtaking and a wonderful view into the clearing of the bush. The food, the staff and game drives were truly exceptional. We cannot wait to go back and we will definitely choose Idube.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonoAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

After arriving at Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport on September 23, we experienced a 1 1/2 hour ‘African Massage’ over somewhat bumpy roads to the first of four safari stops, the Idube Safari Lodge. As seniors with some physical problems and medical issues, we requested a queen/king sized bed and air conditioning for each lodging. The manager, Andrew, and his team met us and reviewed the policies and schedule for our three-day stay. We were then shown to our lodge, which met our expectations. Andrew was our guide for our stay and Ron was the spotter. The staff accommodated all of our needs from the minute we arrived including providing easy access to the Toyota Land Cruisers to meeting our dietary restrictions. Each day was a spectacular voyage as we drove through the Sabi Sand Game Reserve from dawn to dusk where we saw the animals close up – from prides of lions to giraffes to rhinoceros and elephants and leopards and cheetahs and a variety of deer like animals, And we saw packs of Wild Dogs which members of our other safaris were clamoring for. The food, which was prepared by Andrew’s wife Lauren who was covering for the chef, was divine. We loved the open seating arrangements that allowed us to meet other guests and converse with all the staff. From our perspective, it’s the people we meet that are a big part of any trip. Although there are many other places we plan to visit on our future travels, the stay here and the ambience makes us want to return! And we would love to show Andrew and Lauren our five star moose safaris here in Maine

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Idube - what a fantastic place. After our welcome drinks and hot towels we were escorted to our rooms, the newly added Makubele suite, which is built outside the electric fencing, but linked with a wooden deck, very private, very spacious with a beautiful splash pool on your own private deck overlooking part of the river.! We loved the minimalistic African decor, it is a place where you can relax completely. Back at the lodge we were introduced to our ranger, Okker and he is truly a fantastic guide! We were introduced to the rest of the staff, as well as chef Chrizette - a real treat, we enjoyed her interaction with the guests - and the food was delicious every single night. After 3 nights we departed as friends and would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Definately nr 2 of the Makubele suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for three fantastic nights in November. Saw leopard on the first night! Thought it couldn't get any better, but every day was awesome. We were really lucky to have Andreas as our tracker. Probably the best safari I've been on. Even without the animals the location was beautiful. Idube was intimate, well furnished, friendly, and a really high standard. The food (and I'm really fussy) was just superb. The staff couldn't be more helpful, but without the fawning you get in other places! This is definitely high on my list of places to go back to (please dad?).

Room Tip: I think we were in room 4, just past the other lodges, so felt a little isolated (even though it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having been many times to Londolozi we were a bit doubtful as to whether Idube would compare at half the price. It may lack some of the luxuries but who wants a butler in the African bush! Accommodation was very comfortable, every couple had a like a cabin in the woods, food was superior to Londoz, all served in the Boma with an excellent choice of wine. Andreas was our Ranger who was first class, game viewing was as good as Londoz (obviously the same animals as they are not that far apart) saw big 5 on our first 2 drives and really close to amazing cats. So don't hesitate, we will definitely be returning sonn and at half the cost we can go for twice as long!

Room Tip: All much the same and we were in standard which we're fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Wright J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We arrived at the lodge in the evening after a bumpy ride from the airport. The staff met us with welcoming drinks and told us plan for the next day. I don't think we slept that night as we were so excited to be going on safari in the morning. Wessels was our guide and we also had a spotter who's name slips my mind. Together over the four days they showed us all the promised animals and more. We even had the god fortune to see a pride of lions feeding on a dead buffalo and a once in a life time visit from an elephant right near our private suite. He/she was thirsty so had a drink from our private pool and splashed some over his/her body and wandered off! Would highly recommend this game reserve. Actually some friends are leaving for the same park in Jan2014!!

Room Tip: The Makubela Lodges are the most comfortable but they cost a little more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
13.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.3 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#13 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.2 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idube Game Reserve Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idube Game Reserve Lodge

Property: Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Address: Portion 1 | Wallingford Farm, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Idube Game Reserve Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idube Game Reserve is a safari lodge situated in the Sabi Sand Reserve, in the heart of South Africa’s premier wildlife conservation area of the Greater Kruger Park. Game, including the Big 5, is viewed really close by from open Land Rovers, or spotted on guided walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Idube Game Reserve Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idube Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Idube Game Reserve Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing