We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Certificate of Excellence
Bredsten, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

After a 2 hour trip in a minibus from Nelspruit airport, we arrived shaken (not stirred) at the lodge. We were shaken because of the long distance on bad roads, but that was partly compensated because on the way in we already saw elephants browsing along the road. The whole management of the lodge turned out to welcome us and to guide us around so that we were made familiar with the place and the routine of this safari camp. After a short break we were taken with a spare landrover to our ranger for the coming week. Within few hours we had seen 4 of the big five: lion, elephant, buffalo and leopard, the rhino came the next morning. All we all in the 5 days we were at kirkman we saw the big five many times, inclusive a herd of buffalo of more than 500 animals and a herd of elephants of more than 70 animals, great and small. A very worthwhile visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    40
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
210
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

You really can't fault any of the &Beyond camps and this one is no exception. The welcome was warm and friendly. We arrived on a Federal Air flight from Jo'burg and were met by our tracker, Robert and driven to the camp, about 20 minutes from the airport. After a lunch and a couple of hours to relax we went on the first our our 6 game drives over 3 days. Our Ranger Lennox and tracker were both excellent and we'd seen 4 of the big 5 in the first afternoon. The game drives were all excellent through out our stay. The big plus of doing these smaller reserves around Kruger is being allowed to go off road with the Land Rovers and not being limited to the tracks as in Kruger! Well worth remembering if you want to get up close to animals no matter where they are.
The accommodation is basic ++ but very clean and comfortable with enough of a colonial feel to make you feel like you really are in Africa. The homestead is superb and a great place to mingle with other guests for pre-dinner drinks. Highly recommended.
Off to Ngala next, main camp and tented, I'll add reviews of those too..

Room Tip: Room 14 is right at the end of the block over-looking the river where you can see big game from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WurlitzerOMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana farm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Other then the AC not working in the transfer service vehicle was most fantastic outdoor experience our family has had. It was only 95 when we were picked up, I feel for people in the same vehicle when it was over a 100 there. If all roads were blacked topped would have been good acclimation for the drives at the camp with all windows open. But when you are following other vehicles on dirt dusty roads is a issue. That said then having to wait almost half hour to get thru the gate to get into the park was frustrating also. There is a miscue between the guards, the transfer service and or the camps, no idea what problem was but wait was too long-was paperwork issues. To me this should not be a issue with transfer services and lodges. They should not frustrate paying guests this way. That was the first 2 1/2 hours of our safari experience!!! My thoughts at that time were HELP, what did we get ourselves into. Upon arriving at Kirkman's everything else was top notch. The atmosphere was great with the history of the lodge. Our guide was Lennox, he was fantastic. For me the 100 plus elephant herd moving thru the valley thru the river was the most memorable experience of wild animals ever for me. It gave me new meaning to the phrase of "looks like a herd of elephants went thru here".. Have to say that Kruger is overpopulated with elephants, you can see that the elephants are destroying the large tree vegetation at a faster rate then its growing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at Kirkmans with my parents during the first week in September. Our ranger Ralph, was superb and incredibly knowledgeable, along with Richard our tracker, who's keen eyesight meant that we saw all of the big 5 and had some incredibly memorable leopard sightings.

Other memorable moments include spending some time in the infinity pool whilst a family of elephants crossed the river and a small herd of kudu munched on a nearby hedge.

Having previously travelled to Tanzania we weren't sure what to expect from South Africa but Kirkmans set the bar very high for any future safari lodges we intend to visit.

I cannot recommend Kirkmans highly enough. The service and food was impeccable and the company both on the game drives and for dinner was fantastic.

If ever I have the opportunity to travel to South Africa again I will certainly plan a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuleBritannia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
505 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Kirkmans. We had a great time and met some really nice fellow travelers. Our butler was Cynthia and she was excellent. She got to know everything we liked and wanted and we had it without asking. She is superb!!! Our ranger was Brett and he was tremendous. Sadly for you he was leaving and we were his last safari. His tracker was Elvis who could spot animals and their tracks day and night. We got to see the Big 5 which was excellent. We were this close to leopards and elephants. Seeing lions was a treat. Brett was very knowledgable and brought along a picnic one day. He is staying with the company and will be a great asset. Walking through the property at anytime of the day you see animals so at night you always have an escort to your room. The rooms are good sized with sufficient closet space. The bathrooms are nice. The only complaint my wife had which is typical in South Africa is hair dryers are not in the bathroom. They food you constantly with a snack before you go out in the morning, then breakfast, lunch and dinner. I am a poor eater, very fussy meat and potatoes guy but I tried all the animals they serve for dinner. Generally, I wasn't fond of the food but it was plentiful and the fruit was very good. South African wine flows freely which we will continue drinking home. You must get a massage, she does an excellent job.
They do an excellent job at Kirkmans and you see all the animals you can imagine. It is expensive but it is a lifetime experience to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is one of those camps that you want to share with others but at the same time don't want the whole world to know about. It is the quintessential South African safari experience--a perfect blend of luxury and tradition. My family has been involved with Kirkman's for many years and we always say this is the ONLY place we will ever go, and we have been very lucky to travel to many places around the world. Everything about the safari experience is immaculately prepared, from the rooms to the game drives to the service. The staff is beyond courteous and the game viewing is arguably one of the best in the world.

While being a "luxury" camp, everything about Kirkman's is down-to-earth. There is so much grounding and tradition in this classic South African game lodge, unlike places such as Mala Mala and Singita, which have piled on the "pomp and fritz" and don't feel uniquely South African anymore. The size is ideal and the staff here really care about what they do and it shows. Kirkman's is also on a better property than most of the other game lodges in the Sabi Sand, which means you get a huge variety of landscape and game--nothing beats it.

In sum, if you want to experience a real South African bush camp, come here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolabee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We could not wait to write this review before we leave on Saturday. Since we got off from the car that brought us from the airport we were received and welcomed by the management staff. We have a niice room facing the Sabi Sand River, food so far has been excellent. Our ranger Ralf has been excellent and helpfull, So far we seen elephants, rhyno, leopard, hippos, buffalos, baboons and lots of birds. Hopefully this afternoon we will see lions. Anybody who wants to visit South Africa should come to Kirkman's Kamp should come here. It is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefrene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
10.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
15.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.3 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Property: andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing