We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our first safari experience and we were not very sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived, it was apparent that this resort was going to be the best choice we could have made. The welcome we received was warm, friendly and very personalised - you feel special and valued from the outset. Our lodge was spacious, clean and very tasteful (with an enormous, super-comfy bed!). The relaxed, calm enviornment means that you start unwinding from the very minute you arrive. We were introduced to our ranger Brett as soon as we arrived, along with our fellow safari group with whom we all shared our first evening meal getting to know each other. Brett proved to be extremely knowledgeable not only about the animals and plants we encountered over the next few days, but also he was able to discuss all different aspects of South Africa as we travelled and ate together, answering many different sorts of questions with a lot of insight and passion. Together with our waiter Freddie and Spotter Exon we were treated to the most fantastic few days at the start of our South African adventure. Thank you to all the staff at Kirkman's!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Charming and historic building caught our sight as we first stepped in. Kirkman's Kamp is beautiful. It is sited on high ground overlooking the Sands River, with big trees everywhere. It's a true holiday heaven. We were greeted warmly by the camp's manager Brandon.

We reached there past lunch hour, but the management kept the lunch for us to make sure we had something to eat before the afternoon game drive. We came from another &Beyond lodge, the staff at both lodges took the initiative to communicate to make sure we are taken care of. They even make sure we do not have the same type of dinner on two consecutive days.

Our ranger Sean is full of enthusiasm and drive. Animals in Sabi Sands come in big herds and very interesting to watch. We saw a pride of 5 lions preying on a buffalo. We spotted a few herds of buffalos, elephants, zebras, giraffes etc. We saw a leopard family, a group of wild dogs, a bloat of hippos.

Animals came frequently to our lodges. We saw a happy bush buck running round and round the lawn, hyaenas walking past our dining tables, monkeys waiting for food at the breakfast table.

Our butler Simon is very entertaining. He showed us funny tricks. He coordinated with our ranger Sean to cook us a surprise flapjack breakfast out in the wilderness.

Food wise it's good and abundant. Make sure you taste the cake of the day baked freshly for the afternoon tea before the game drive. We tried the almond cake, the carrot cake, the milk cake - they are all fabulous!

Free wifi is provided at the common area as well as in the rooms. Free laundry everyday and returning the same day, nicely pressed. Free flow of drinks, cashew nuts and dried fruit in the room.

In between game drives, you can chill out at the pool with superb view, do a bush walk with the rangers, go for a drive to see the community works &Beyond has done to the township nearby.

Room Tip: we stayed at room 4, it has limited river view. Room 13 and 14 are on higher ground and full view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We visited for 3 nights with my husband and adult daughter. This was the highlight of our trip to South Africa. Wow,where do I begin. From the moment we arrived, they greeted us with warmth,served us a delicious lunch with Moses and loaned us a camera(Brenden) then took us out on the most fun and awesome game drive with Ralph and Richard where we spotted wild dogs. Every day was equally great with wonderful service,genuine hospitality and true sense that they were eager to help our every wish to find the big 5 which we did. We met wonderful guests who all had a wonderful time. The room was big,comfortable and welcoming at the end of a busy day. We used the pool that was refreshing and had a great view. Massage with Jonetta was fantastic.At night someone(Sipht) walked us to our room and made us feel so safe.
I loved Kirkman's Kamp and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Kirkman was my first safari stop and I was totally impressed with the quality of rangers and trackers. Out of 4 different andBeyond properties Kirkman was the best based on the safari experience.

They impressed me right from the first moment after I arrived. I knew in advance that I was going to be very late for the first safari drive so I did not expect it at all. However, as soon as I received my welcome drink the camp manager asked me if I want to join a safari. Of course I wanted so she found a car and a ranger to bring me to the vehicle I was assigned to for the next 24 hours. I was very impressed by a ranger knowledge. Actually, not only by knowledge (andBeyond is famous for well trained rangers), but by willingness to share the knowledge (I was able to compare it to other camps later). After first 24 hours I had a private vehicle reserved and again my ranger and a tracker were extremely good. Not only they were trying to help me with what I wanted, they were also making really good suggestions on what else we can do/see. So they were extremely proactive in trying to please.

Overall the facility/food/other staff are also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ganna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyour second weekend at KK just as much as our first! No effort was to much! I would like to thank Katherine for her patience in getting us there, Gift for the hearty welcome, Moses for looking after us and for the delicious crumpets he made for our us at the coffee stop in the bush. Thank you Japhet for finding the leopard so early one morning and for Elliott getting us through the donga (very deep ditch) that evening in order to find a good spot to watch the male leopard resting after a hectic day of mating. We saw the female as well but she decided to rest behind a bush. Thank you to the people who gave us this wonderful present. It was the best 46 th wedding anniversary present ever! Thanx again for making your guests visits so special!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had the most wonderful experience in Kirkman's Kamp. We stayed for four nights at the end of February 2014, with our two kids aged 8 and 7. Everything was perfect, from the warm welcome of Gift and Agnes to the great rooms and dinning experience. But of course the real highlights of our stay were the game drives. We were very lucky with our ranger (Darren) and our tracker (Jerry). The were both extremely competent, helping and enthusiastic. We got to see leopards, hyenas, lions, rhinos, hippos, elephants and of course lots of impalas, zebras, giraffes, gnus, buffalos. We even saw a pack of wild dogs getting organized for a chase. It is a magical place. We loved every second of it, and Darren and Jerry made our stay really special. We learnt a lot from them, not only about mammals but also about all the beautiful birds we saw, about the plants, and about conservation efforts and the communities surrounding the reserve. Our kids cried on the plane back to Switzerland. They did not want to leave. This trip will remain in our memories for a long time. Thanks to the big Kirkman's Kamp family for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Javier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our recent stay at Kirkmans was fantastic! On our first night there, dinner was served on the lawn and there was a bull elephant feeding on one side of us and a hyena on the other, it was pretty surreal. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff were all brilliant and couldn't do enough to ensure you felt comfortable and had everything you could possibly want. Having been on game drives previously we had seen a lot of animals so the bar was set pretty high but we had never seen a leopard in the wild. Once our tracker (Victor) and ranger (Darren) became aware of this, they went on a mission to find one for us. In fact they found more than one, we were even lucky enough to see a mother and cub make a kill. In addition we saw all of the big 5 and numerous other animals and birds. Darren & Victor's knowledge of the park also added an awful lot to our drives and they were extremely friendly. The lodge itself was really nice and the food was plentiful and very good, in fact if anything, there was probably too much. The pre dinner drinks in the bar were good fun as there was a lot of friendly competition between the rangers backed up by us,
the guests, regarding what animals etc we'd managed to find on the days game drives. We will definitely recommend this place to anyone planning a safari.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
412 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
10.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
15.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £81 - £1,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing