We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first safari experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Kirkman's Kamp was the first stop for our group on a tour of Southern Africa, coming from New Zealand. We had a wonderful time. The lodge as comfortable, the food was good, and the staff very friendly. Within the first 24 hours we had seen the "Big Five", and also giraffes and hippos. The advantage of being in a private game park such as Sabi Sand is that their are few other vehicles doing game drives, in this case only from one other lodge, Lion Sands. Also, the game drive Landrovers are not limited to roads, but could follow animals across rough ground. The opening of the new Skukuza airport in Kruger means that access is easier, as for us there was a two hour drive from Mpumalanga airport..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had the most fantastic sightings of leopards mating. Wonderful experience, lovely setting, good food. Ralph and Lennox our Rangers were great and their knowledge great of the bush and wildlife. Saw everything we wanted to see.

Room Tip: Any room all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marianajohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Kirkmans is arguably the best place in Kruger to visit this year. Everywhere is the area is great for big five sightings, but Kirkmans has an active wild dog den and hyena den. During our visit the young hyena were 4 weeks, 4 months, and about a year old. It was wonderful seeing them interact with each other and the adults. The wild dog pups were 9 weeks. This forced the five adult dogs to stay close to the den making it one of the best places in the world to see wild dog. We followed them on a successful kill and then back to the den to regurgetate the meat to the pups. There is no guarentee the dogs will den in the same place in future years. We stayed four nights and saw the big five regularly, and all five in one amazing two hours. Leopard, buffalo, rhino, and elephant are all resident. The territory of the lions is larger than Kirkmans, so they work hard to know where they are and take customers to them when ever they are on Kirkmans or Lion Sands land. Kirkmans also have a border with Kruger National Park, so there is a chance for anything to wander in. Cheetah is an occational visitor. Kirkmans large stretch of river make game thick in the dry season. &Beyond has a rigorous guide qualification program and our guide JP was excellent. He knows all the mammals, birds and their calls. He worked hard to get to know his customers and came up with great personal things to please them. One couple really wanted to see elephants, and he arranged brunch on a bluff above the river where a herd was feeding.
Kirkmans is very comfortable with climate control, hair dryer, in room bar etc. The tap water is not 100% safe, but they provide abundant bottled water, pure ice etc. You will have the same server for every meal, and the food is good and abundant. There are basically 5 meals and 2 snacks every day, so plan on skipping some. All our dry season dining was outdoors including two cook outs in the bouma. The bouma meals included traditional singing and dancing. On bouma nights you sit with your guide and game drive mates. Other nights are mostly couples or family tables. There are always vervet monkeys and bush buck around and 3 buffalo visited one night, while baboon visited another day.
The camp holds up to 36 guests with 7 vehicles doing game drives. Sme sightings may have up to two other vehicles at the same time. Sensitive sights such as the dog den are limited to one vehicle, with a system for taking turns.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrotter921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first safari and suffice it to say, we can't wait for our second. We selected Kirkman's for the game drive reputation and it lived up to every bit of it. Jared and Vic were unbelievable in tracking and locating everything we could ever want to see. Several leopards, one with a rat kill, wild dogs feeding their litter and on and on and on. The accommodations and hospitality were also beyond expectations, Friday and Gift were gems and Lauren who was visiting for a job opportunity was terrific. Brendan runs more than just a remarkTable Kamp, but one that makes your feel like a home right from the moment you arrive. Thanks to all. The Russells.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Kirkman's Kamp was a wonderful experience for us. The guides all seem to be excellent. Ours, Elliot has been at Kirkman's for 27 years and is retiring soon. He was a treasure, but the others seem very good in their own way. The camp has more guests than others we have been visited. At first, this was a concern, but soon dispelled as the camp manages the guests very well. When we visited, about 60-70% of the guests were American. We were able to see the Big Five and there is plenty of game on the reserve. Cheetah are rare, however. The landscape is quite beautiful. Food is fantastic and plentiful. Home-baked cakes at tea time are not to be missed. Service is a priority and staff is very friendly. We loved our stay there and highly recommend Kirkman's.

Room Tip: All the cabins are fine. Some are closer to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Tremendous staff. Great food. Great lodgings. Terrific game drives over a very large area now that they are sharing access with Lion Sands. I love flying in over the bush to Tsukuza, being met by the ranger and tracker you will be working with on your visit. The Boma dinners are fantastic experiences. The staff will work with you to do whatever your heart desires. Staff walk you to your cabin and night and from it in the dark of the morning, since wild animals can wander through any time (we saw elephants in the central yard one time).

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely located. I personally prefer the furthest away rooms from the lodge for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my first Safari and I really enjoy it.
Kirkmen is best choice for Safari. Colonial style house, lots of history and characters, It make you feel back to century. But there is comfortable bed and modern bathroom inside.

Our Ranger J.P. and our Tracker were wonderful. J.P is very knowledgable to our game drives. We saw the big five and wild dog hutch and many other animals. It was magical........
The food and service were very, very good. Only complain is they feed us too much, always eating. Woke up, coffee and cookies, game driver, come back have delicious breakfast. Two hours later, lunch served,follow by afternoon tea, game drive, dinner.

The most sweet thing the lodge did is have blanket and water bottle ready for our drive in the morning. It's so thoughtful. And it did make our drive more comfortable.


I certainly would go back and recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: I was in room 1 which was the nearest to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
10.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
15.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £99 - £1,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of safari comes alive at historic Kirkman’s Kamp. Step back in time into the gracious early settler atmosphere of this original 1920s homestead and marvel at the spectacular views of the unspoiled wilderness from each of the 18 guest cottages and the lodge’s rim-flow swimming pool. Rolling lawns carve out a niche in a wild and tumbling wilderness that hosts memorable game viewing in one of the most renowned Big Five wildlife regions in the world. Spacious sitting, dining and bar guest areas contain original mementos of a time long past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkman`s Kamp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
AndBeyond Kirkman's Kamp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing