We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve(Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve)
US$2,382
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$1,691
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$2,446
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
US$1,244
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve(Inyati Private Game Reserve)
US$1,338
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
US$1,734
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$646
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umkumbe Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nkorho Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
508
45
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
45
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame viewingsafari experiencethe riversabi sandsbreakfast in the bushcolonial stylewild dogsthe main lodgeskukuza airportcolonial feelboma dinneroff roadsouth africablack rhinopersonal butlerrooms are comfortableleopard sightings
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Kirkman's Kamp

Wow, what an experience, what a place!! We loved it!!

Icon Expeditions (Leigh-Ann) recommended this place after we told her that we wanted to see predators in action. And for longer periods of time. We wanted to see the hunt and kill. Very rare to see. You have to be very lucky.

When we were in the Serengeti viewing the great migration, we saw millions of animals. But when they went off road into the bush, we couldn't follow because in the national parks you have to stay on the roads. It was frustrating when we saw some lions on the hunt, but couldn't follow.

Kirkmans Kamp is on a private reserve. They can go off road and they have a driver/guide and tracker. The tracker is important because when they find fresh tracks, the tracker will leave the vehicle and follow the tracks until they find the animal. He then radios us and we drive thru the bush until we see the animal. We stay with the animal for longer periods of time.

Also on private reserves, they limit the number of vehicles viewing the animals to two. They take turns, but you stay with the animal for a while. All the drivers are in communications with each other. In the national parks there will be 15 vehicles surrounding the animals. Here the animals don't feel crowded.

Each vehicle holds six tourists. Nice number. At Exeter they had eight tourists to each vehicle.

We saw leopards, lions, and wild dogs. We got to follow them and saw a wild dog kill. The adults ate the bushbuck in less than five minutes and took it back to the pups (9) and regurgitated it to feed them. The pups were making lots of noise.

So the game drives were much better than the Serengeti, Masai Mara, and Negorongoro crater.

When we arrived at Kirkmans Kamp, Brendon, the manager, along with his staff were waiting outside, with welcoming drinks and food. Very nice touch. When we got back on game drives they were there also. Always asking us how was the drive, how is everything else. Very impressive. They were all concerned with making us happy.

The food was outstanding. Five star quality. We especially liked the Kudu. Ordered it every chance we got. We liked that our guide Ralph had dinner with us. Interesting conversations. Ralph and David did a good job finding the animals.

The room was air conditioned and clean. We were escorted back to our room at night, as there are animals visiting because they think they are safer near our kamp. One night there were some cape buffalo in our back yard.

Brendon and staff made us feel very welcomed. They did a great job. We would give them our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view to see more animals
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravelerOrangeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Kirkman`s for 4 nights in early July for my wife`s 50th holiday. From start to finish an absolute joy and whilst this was our first safari, I would be surprised if there are many better options out there. Impeccable staff, wonderful food and wine and the safari drives themselves fantastic. We saw eveything we hoped for and so much more. You name it, we saw it and our ranger/guide Jason and Jerry were first class.
We loved it so much that my wife is returning next month with her Dad for a trip of lifetime that he never thought he would make...its that good.
My only tip would be that if you are going in the SA winter as we did then make sure you take plenty of warm clothes. It is freezing on those open top jeeps even with the complimentary blankets and hot water bottles. Wooly hats, gloves, a decent coat..pack them all!

Room Tip: for convenience/ease of access ask for a room near the lodge. If you want more privacy one further away maybe but they are all very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Normally when I write a review, I try to be even-handed, and mention both good and bad points. In the case of Kirkmans Kamp, I simply cannot think of anything bad to say. This was definitely one of the best vacations we have ever had, and much can be accredited to this amazing place. The location allows for free animal movement, so the likelihood of seeing many types of wildlife are very high. There are morning and afternoon game drives and we did not do a single drive without seeing something amazing. We particularly loved Kirkmans rule of no more than 3 vehicles at any animal sighting - very often it was just us. some of the highlights were sitting literally feet away from a hyena den, watching a brave leopard try to decide whether to take on a baby rhino (with mother in attendance) and (probably the favorite of Ross, our guide) getting up close and personal with a rare pack of African wild dogs. But to be honest, there are too many good things to mention. The rooms are individual and very well equipped. The food was simply amazing (and you WILL eat too much!!) and the staff was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. Yes, it is not cheap, but in my opinion worth every cent. Recommended as highly as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the second safari we have been on, the first in South Africa.
I really did like Kirkman's. As with all the &beyond places the people were great and the food was amazing. We actually picked this place because we wanted something a bit more "hotelly" for this safari, in Botswana we did "under canvas" and the camps were really isolated. I must say that it being closer to a "standard hotel" does not take away from the experience In fact it's a nice bonus that you can plug your electronics in and charge them all day (no generators), you have wifi (which can be a pro or a con depending on your point of view), you have electric blankets and heaters in your rooms and a mini fridge (if the drinks at the lodge aren't enough).
All rooms have a place where you can sit out during the day (no going out at night). You can watch the bushbuck, guinea fowl, ibis, monkeys, baboons and who knows what else pass through...there were lions that wandered through during the day when we were out on our drives!
The standard day is: 6am knock, 6:20 drinks and off on the morning drive, ~10am breakfast, 1pm lunch, 3pm drinks and off on the afternoon/evening drive, 7pm dinner.
I'm unsure if the water is completely potable, they provided bottles so we used them for teeth brushing.

The trucks do not have tops - in Botswana all of them were covered - so this might mean you want to bring hats and do extra sunscreen. This is due to the offroading and they do offroad a lot. It's great because you can see things you wouldn't otherwise see - and as much as it looks like they are destructive they explained to us that there are certain things it is ok to run over and certain things they avoid.

Weather - can be very cold in the mornings (hats/ear covers useful - you might want a scarf), they give you blankets and hot water bottles. It was much colder than Phinda and some people looked freezing in the mornings, we had 3 layers + windbreaker jacket (t-shirt, shirt, sweater, jacket) - and then you remove the layers during the day and put them back on in the evenings.

We found that it wasn't as dusty as Chobe, but if dust bothers your eyes you might want to bring sunglasses. I found that a bandana also helped (i actually bought it in the gift shop) to cut down on early morning windburn and keeps you a bit warmer.

We saw the big 5 and wild dogs - but, as a warning, lions and wild dogs are not guaranteed as they pass through and none of them actually live here. Leopards are pretty much a guarantee.

Pregnant on Safari - I didn't find much info on this before so I will add this note. At 25 weeks pregnant (and having an easy time) I would say safari here is very doable. There is a bit of off roading here, but to be honest it really didn't bother me. Keep in mind if you need to go to the bathroom more frequently than every 3 hours you will you will need to squat behind a bush (try not drinking before for an hour before the game drives). Didn't take malarial meds (SA says this area is malaria free in winter) and didn't see any bugs in either Kirkmans (Sabi sands) or Phinda.

Andbeyond Rankings from our experience:
Chobe was best for quantity of herd animals and lions, Kirkmans and Sandibe equally best for leopard, Phinda best for cheetah, Xudum is good for birding

Room Tip: Not sure if you have a choice but the lower numbered rooms are closer to the lodge
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We absolutely loved our 3-night experience at Kirkman's. we arrived from Ngala, a wooded safari lodge and immediately enjoyed the contrast of Kirkman's with its British colonial feel. We settled in immediately.
on our first drive with Ross and Robert we saw baby rhinos playing with each other, lions, elephants, and giraffe. On several drives we saw 4 of the big 5 in short order. Ross and Robert did a terrific job of making sure that we saw what we came to see.
Our meals were terrific and Friday is a fabulous server- consider asking for him! We often relaxed by the pool for an hour I t he afternoon- it was very cold in the morning but warmed up nicely by the afternoon. If you go in the winter do take a coat, scarf and warm hat- it is really cold in the morning and evening drives. The sunsets were gorgeous.
Kirkman's provided a wonderful stay and we miss it already!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews