We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
504
44
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
44
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame viewingsafari experiencethe riversabi sandsbreakfast in the bushcolonial stylewild dogsthe main lodgeskukuza airportcolonial feelboma dinneroff roadsouth africablack rhinopersonal butlerrooms are comfortableleopard sightings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Kirkmans Kamp is a very pretty lodge, with the main homestead being beautifully decorated in a colonial style. The rooms were a nice size with air conditioning and comfortable beds, but, as the rooms are mostly next to each other in a line, you regularly get people walking right past your window, so it isn't all that private, as another review has mentioned.
We had a very good ranger and tracker - they were really friendly, knowledgeable and keen to share their experiences and we really enjoyed our game drives and seeing the many animals that were around the camp.
The food overall was excellent - especially the dinners and in particular the vegetarian food was fantastic and the chef had clearly gone to great lengths to make a special meal not just a quick substitute for meat, as is so often the case.. The desserts, which were several mini desserts served on a cake stand, were also really excellent! The only negative thing we could say about the food was about the buffet lunches as much of the food was covered in flies, despite the staff trying to avoid it, which was a little offputting.
As is the practice in many game reserves, we were allocated a butler on arrival - which
is good when they are around, but when they aren't, all the other staff tend to ignore you are you aren't "one of theirs" - sometimes we were left waiting to get a drink, for example, and having stayed in many game reserves, we didn't feel that the service provided by our butler was up to the same standard that we have experienced elsewhere.
The day we were due to check out, we went on the morning game drive, and after breakfast, came back to find our beds had been changed for the next guests, and the dressing gowns and bath mats taken away - not particularly helpful as you usually shower after breakfast. Then when our ranger asked us what time we wanted our bags collecting, and we said 11am, he said "how about ten to 11 and then at least you're out for 11". This comment, along with the room being cleaned at between 6 and 9am, before the checkout time, left us with the feeling that they wanted to get rid of us and was unfortunately left us with the feeling that if we were going to spend a few days in a game reserve, we probably wouldn't go back there. Overall, we had a nice time, but we feel there are better places.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rbg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Stayed 3 nights at Kirkmans - unbelievalble! Despite part of the reservation being unaccessable due to the high river we saw all the big-5 and much more. Elliot, our ranger, was outstanding and the whole team, led by Coleen, pampered us for the whole stay. Not cheap, but the best things in life never are. Will return some day

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mayslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We just returned from a 2-week trip to South Africa and Mozambique. We spent 3 days at the Kirkman's Kamp game lodge, and WOW!

We were greeted by the manager, Coleen, and she was spot on. She showed us around, & gave us the run-down. We were given all the important information without spending too much time.

We were introduced to our butler, Friday, and he couldn't have been friendlier. He always greeted us with a smile and great service. I've heard that at other lodges the staff falls all over you, and it's a little uncomfortable. Not at Kirkman's!

Our room was spacious, comfortable, and lovely. I loved the Colonial Dutch decor. It really looked like Martha Stewart had been there and found the perfect place for every little thing. They have interesting antiques around that make you feel like you really are staying at someone's home.

The food is to die for. Everything is fresh and very interesting. You could never go hungry there. Food and drink is very plentiful.

The safaris were amazing. We saw a leopard on all 4 of our safaris! We saw all the big five, and our guide and tracker were awesome. (We had Elliott, and he knows his stuff.)

I would recommend getting a massage while there. Salome does it right. She's so friendly, cheerful, and she gives amazing massages.

Overall, I would recommend this place for anyone looking to go on safari in South Africa!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AshDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

I was looking forward to a lodge with an older colonial atmosphere and Kirkmans delivered. The setting is lovely and the main lodge beautifully decorated with a very elegant atmosphere. The rooms very nicely appointed and comfortable. All drinks served in crystal glasses. At first, it seemed strange to be in a lodge with such refinement after coming from Mapula in the Delta, but after a couple of days the atmosphere grew on me. Came back from an afternoon game drive to find crystal glasses with a predinner drink ready for us in our room.
The guide and tracker, Ralph and Rich, were wonderful and highly skilled. They did everything they could to bring us to the animals and delivered great game drives including the Big Five on one game drive.
The food was outstanding, with the quality and caliber of a high class restaurant. Our butler was there for anything we wanted when we wanted it. I would have preferred to have had the option to sit with other travelers for dinner, but we were confined to our game drive "group" for our dinners. Nice folks, but would have liked the option to sit with others if we chose.
All in all, a class act all the way around - guide, tracker, food, accomodation, atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wakeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Kirkman's for 3 nights in August. We selected it, in part, because it is operated by CC Africa, a company whose lodges in Africa we've stayed at before, and which we think provides overall excellent service. We were not disappointed. Kirkman's is in a beautiful location, is well-run, and its staff at all levels was competent, responsive and "happy to be there." Our ranger/tracker team of Lennox and Thomas was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor and adventure. We highly recommend them! A few things to know about before you choose Kirkman's -- (1) it is a rather large camp, with 18 "cabins," so it may not feel "intimate" enough to some, (2) the cabins are not each in an individual building, rather they are in "duplexes," so you will have close neighbors, unlike in some other luxury camps, and (3) due to the "duplex" structure and the size of the camp, it does occasionally get noisy (from neighbors, cleaning staff, guests walking around), which may detract from the romanticism of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Drer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews