We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!”
Review of Dulini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We recently returned from a trip to South Africa with our 19 yr old son and 15 yr old daughter. We did a lot of research for this trip and was hopeful the &Beyond experience would be everything we expected. It was, and more. We loved the staff, Gift, Maurice, Isaac and of course our Game Ranger Steve and Tracker Prince. The attention to detail was beyond expectation. &Beyond knows how to make their guests feel special. The food was amazing and the game drives a trully memorable experience. Steve and Prince are a great team and we very much enjoyed their enthusiasm and respect for the animals. We saw everything and yet with each game drive, it was another adventure. We never took our sightings for granted, each one was a new experience. We were sorry to have left but very much look forward to returning again soon. Thanks Dulini!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpemsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Dulini Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is our 2nd review and was our 3rd stay at Dulini and won’t be our last. Arriving at this lodge once again was like coming home, the entire staff and management are as they say “family”. Couple family with fantastic food, unquestionable service, warm yet exciting ambience, and you have a heightened experience with the attraction of being in Africa.

One again, Gift was there to meet us with a warm hug, followed by Reply and Freddy who make everything just “work” with ease. Given our early afternoon arrival, Reply bought a lovely lunch to our room where we could relax for a short time before the afternoon game drive.

On this visit, our ranger was Justin, with Chris tracking, and both complimented each other perfectly to find us some unbelievable sightings. Justin was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and surrounding environment and explained everything in layman’s terms.

Leisha is the lodge manager and we fortunately got to spend some quality time with her. She was quite forthcoming with great information and stories for just about everything, well that’s how it appeared after several good bottles of South African wine…..lol.

The game drives last for three to four hours and traverse with several other properties throughout the western sector of the Sabi Sand Region, including Inyati, Savanna, Leopard hills, Ulusaba, Idube and of course other &Beyond managed lodges such as Exeter River lodge and Leadwood. The area has an abundance of wildlife and the amount of sightings we encountered are too many to mention, however it goes without saying we had numerous sightings of our favourite big cats.

The lodge is unfenced and allows the wildlife to wander through the beautiful grounds at any time. We enjoyed beautiful nyala joining us for breakfast and lunch, and waterbuck, bushbuck and more alongside the deck of our room. Predators have also been seen leisurely walking through the grounds from time to time…..wow, how good is that.

Once again, one night on our way back to camp, we were surprised with a candle lit tree with a hanging basket of chilled champagne. On another occasion we were treated to a surprise champagne pre-breakfast on a hill top with 360 degree views of the Sabi Sand……how wonderful to experience this type of atmosphere in the bush.

One reason we keep going back to Dulini is that the guest accommodation is limited to 6 rooms and each game vehicle is also limited to a maximum of 6 only. Although children under 16 are welcome, this lodge doesn’t appear to attract them as only 2 guests are allowed in each room. Another reason this lodge is so special is the amount of repeat guests such as ourselves with whom we all share the same unique past and present stories and experiences.

Furthermore, we take advantage of &Beyonds offer of stay 4, pay 3 which is a great saving and reduces the average price per night. This is certainly value for money compared to some other surrounding lodges.

Dulini has certainly become part of our lives as our walls at home are full of memorable photos made into canvas paintings, giving us a little feel of Dulini and the African bush each day.

We trust anyone visiting Dulini or the other &beyond lodges within Sabi Sand will fall in love with it as we certainly have.

Vicki & Rob.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms are fantastic.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Felt like I was leaving family behind when I left... that's how good the staff was! And, of course, the decoration, comfort, beauty of the cottages and main areas and the excitement of the game drives were things I will never forget. The Dulini family made our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have stayed at a number of &Beyond branded properties and am consistently impressed by their attention to detail and staff training. From the wonderful people who lovingly prepared and cleaned our suite to the well trained and polished guides that made our game viewing experience an absolute triumph.

Our Butler (Reply) was an absolute gem of a man. He gently and humbly assisted us at mealtimes and during our short 2 night stay managed to attend to our needs intuitively and recognised our likes and dislikes. Well done Reply!

The meals prepared by the kitchen team were of an incredibly high standard and many guests were overheard asking for recipes which were readily supplied.

Game drives were of a high standard and our Guide/Tracker team Pat and Tyrone were superb. My only concern regarding the drives is &Beyonds radio protocol which did not work for me. Due my enquiring nature and having been blessed with many visits to various lodges in the Sabi Sands I have begun to pick up on the "Guide Lingo" and as a result knew exactly what was being sighted. "Madoda and Mafazi Ingwe umkhonzo south of the firebreak" - roughly translates into male and female leopard tracks have been seen... "Stations have relocated Mafazi Ingwe on Mala bamba"... roughly translates into female leopard found with an Impala kill.

Perhaps &Beyond could revisit their radio procedures by either just stating the obvious... Male leopard located at Hippo Dam or I am hearing Kudu alarm calling and am following up. Remember that there are some of us who understand what is being said and when a guide drives past telling another guide he has to drop silly Umlungus at the landing strip it could be rather offensive. In my opinion English is the international business language and guides should communicate clearly and honestly with one another in english.

I actually enjoy learning the Shangaan names of the animals and this is why I knew a lot of what was being seen. It becomes stressful when all you want to see is a photographable leopard in good light and you know one is nearby or has been seen and your guide gets there late when the sun has gone and there is no opportunity for a superior photo. Fortunately this did not happen with Pat and Tyrone and although they spoke in Shangaan they kept us informed at all times (this was not true for the Tinga guides/Nyalaland guides who chatted to each other exclusively in Shangaan.

Overall a consistently great guiding experience.

The suite is another marvel of african delight. Each of the 6 suites in privately situated nicely spaced apart with sublime views of the seasonal Mabrak river. Each suite is magnificently proportioned and includes a covered deck with rim flow plunge pool. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and the room tastefully decorated. A fully stocked mini bar is at your disposal as is a fantastic outdoor shower.

I really loved Dulini and urge everyone to go immediately! Thank you team Dulini for making our stay so welcoming and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mlondozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Dulini. It was the stay of a lifetime.

A few things that make Dulini stand out:

1) Generally caring staff. You can't train people to care. From the manager on down everyone was there to make our stay amazing.

2) Only 12 people allowed. This means no more than 6 per car. This is KEY to a good experience on the game drives, and isn't this what you are really there for?

3) Excellent driver and tracker. We felt like we were leaving friends when we finally said goodbye. If the animals were around we stayed out. On several of our drives we were out nearly 4 hours.

4) Flexibility. My wife is a picky eater and they addressed this by telling us in advance what was being offered and if she didn't like it, she could ask for an alternative.

We truly had an amazing stay and I hope to return.

Room Tip: Room #6 is the most private. Rooms 1-4 seem to have the best views of the riverbed and animals.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Not sure why I've taken so long to write my review on my stay since this is the best travel experience I've ever had This property and staff are OUTSTANDING.

Lodging - The bungolo's are warm and inviting, elegant and super comfortable. The beds are perfect and its so quiet. I was concerned about privacy since there was an outdoor shower that I used and the way in which each property is situated allows complete privacy. We enjoyed the small property with I think only up to 12 people at a time. The room had a fully stocked bar and snacks. The main lodge was nice if you preferred to step away from your room for a bit to chat with the staff or other visitors, have a drink or read a book.

Safri Drives - The best part of the trip were the game drives. Our ranger and guides were Patrick and Tyrone. If they are still working there you must insist on riding with them. Patrick did an outstanding job of getting us sooo close to everything - just perfect!!! We arrived for the afternoon drive and were the only ones on the truck. The next morning there was only one other couple and finally the next day a total of 6 people max. It's those small attention to details that makes Dulini so wonderful. We saw other lodges with packed trucks...they looked a little jealous ;-)

The food..absolutely wonderful. It was amazing to walk out to see gourmet food in such a remote location. They made sure to situate everyone in special places each night too. You will not be disappointed with the food so dont worry about that.

We were really sad to leave this property. Not one single detail to complain about here. Planning on doing the Migration in 2013 and also see my review on Ngala Tented Camp.

Room Tip: Not a bad room on the property. Didnt matter if you were a little farther away from the main lodge s...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The many accolades this lodge receives are so well deserved - we have stayed at many of the "higher end" Sabi Sand lodges and none were as good as this. The standard, size, comfort and location of the suites was vastly superior and at less cost to any previously experienced in Sabi Sand and the staff, as always with the case of andBeyond teams went the extra mile at every opportunity - from housekeeper to ranger to lodge hostess, Gift, who keeps a "special box of surprises" from which she regularly produced the most delighful experiences that did so much to enhance our stay.

The great, and consistent, thing about all the andBeyond lodge teams, is apart from their attention to detail, their overarching commitment to care of the land, care of the animals and care of the people. The world class sightings we were fortunate to experience were managed with sensitivity in terms of the animals and our desire to photograph or often just sit in awe of the power and beauty of Mother Nature.

A truly unforgettable experience in a most beautiful setting that has left us with indelible memories and a commitment to return next year for our 10th consecutive visit to an andBeyond location

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREENSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
7.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
421 reviews
22.9 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#2 of 175 in Kruger National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
500 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
407 reviews
12.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £82 - £1,719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Dulini Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing