We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dulini Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$99
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
437
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstracker isaacour honeymoonplunge poolsabi sandsgame driveswild dogssafari experienceoutdoor showerfudgethe riverbubble bathmiddle seatpersonalized servicesouth africasitting areasinging and dancingdry river bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Dulini for 4 days in April 2014, and must say we loved our stay from start to finish.

Poppy makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. We were seated in the 'living room' while being offered a lovely ginger cocktail. After the check-in we were shown our suites which are outstanding and beautifully appointed. While the parents stayed in one suite, our 3 girls (16, 14 + 12 years) shared another and still had plenty of space left. Gorgeous bathrooms and outside showers simply complete the picture. Fully stocked mini bars and personal touches such as home made fudge were greatly appreciated. Communal pool and plunge pool in the suite looked lovely but water too cold for us to use at this time of year.

From wake up call at 5am until the end of the day all family members enjoyed every minute. I know some guests prefer to nap between meals/ drives, but we loved the lodge and suites so much we felt that would be a waste. In addition the resident owners Ian & Sue made our stay very personal. Their 2 delightful daughters made our girls feel very welcome, joining us on some drives & providing many entertaining stories about life in the bush. Plus taking our girls for a picnic in the bush one day and fishing on a lake on another. All unforgettable experiences.

The drives of course were exceptional. Our ranger, Patrick and tracker Tyrone ensured we saw the big 5 plus more. The jeeps are very comfortable and layout with 2 seats per row ensures everyone gets a great view. Ponchos provided were perfect for the chilly mornings. Highlights - Driving out through the early morning mist to find a pride of lions sitting on the road in front of us was unforgettable. Following a pack of wild dogs (getting close enough to enjoy their unmistakable smell!!). Watching a leopard hunt its prey, didn't actually witness the kill (luckily) but saw the leopard in a tree the next morning with the carcass. Watching a pack of hyenas fight over a kill. Bushwalk back to the camp. Sundowners in various locations, star gazing with Patrick amazing us with his knowledge of the constellations.

Food was very good and they cater for vegetarians and fussy eaters. Dinner and lunch were set up in different locations each night with the most amazing setting on our last evening, wont spoil this surprise by saying where. They have a small but well equipped gym which we used on at least one occasion.

We were all very sad to say goodbye. Dulini is a really special place and certainly lived up to all the reviews we read on trip advisor.

Room Tip: believe they are all good
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank o_poelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I visited Exeter Dulini in September 2013 - we thought we had already written a review but have just seen we didn't so here goes. We drove into Sabi Sands and saw elephants and a white rhino - a great introduction to what was to come.
The accommodation at Exeter Dulini was outstanding. Beautiful rustic colonial exterior with a large, warm and inviting interior. There is a lovely sitting area, bedroom with views to the bush and a fantastic, huge bathroom.
Reply was our butler and he made sure that all our needs were catered to without ever even letting us know he had been there.
Our guide and tracker were Fred and Martin. Their knowledge was excellent and entertainingly delivered. Fred, hope you tell everyone how kudu got their name. On one occasion Martin got off the vehicle and tracked a leopard for nearly two hours just to make sure we all saw one - and we got to see a mum and her cub. Talk about going above and beyond the call of duty!! We saw a lion kill actually happen, two leopards mating and the list goes on. This all due to Martin's great tracing skills and Fred's driving ability.
The food here was the best we had in our five weeks in Southern Africa. Jess strives to make a delicious and varied meal every occasion. She is a little treasure.
We are so sorry but we can't remember the managers name, nevertheless his attention to detail, his love for the country and animals, his conversation and his thoughtfulness made our stay the best we had.
All in all, Exeter Dulini Lodge is truly wonderful and the staff tip it over the edge.
Many thanks from Col and Carolyn for making our stay such a wonderful and amazing time - we miss you all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FooteParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Absolutely fabulous experience. Great units, better than the photos. Fantastic attentive service, including from the part owners, Iain and Sue, who dined with us one evening and were there often to greet us after game drives. Also the wonderful butler, Freddy. Food very good and they strived to give you a different dining experience every evening. Shifted location and theme.

Great team on the game drives, Dinamosi, Isaac and May. Wonderful game drives and all different. Loved the special at the end of the morning drive, mocha with a kick. Only six to a vehicle.

Good combination of couple time and socialising. Can't recommend enough for an all round experience but still very African.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We came to this lodge from another one that we thought was outstanding... Well, this was even better for some aspects. Great personal attention from the kind owners Ian and Sue (and their lovely girls). Large rooms decorated with great taste (only issue is that they do not have connecting rooms, so no ideal for families with small kids). Excellent food. Most importantly plenty of opportunities to see the big 5, also thanks to the experienced ranger Dynamite and tracker Isaac (thank you guys). Only minor issue is that sometime the safari gets a little "crowded" as you cross 4x4' from other camps. Nevertheless a great experience we hope to get back one day!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Zannino63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was my reluctant husband's first safari experience so there was a lot riding on it for me. It paid off handsomely; now all he wants to do is come back! Firstly because of the wonderful game drives with Fred and Martin (great characters and incredibly well informed), secondly because of the fantastic atmosphere and the friendliness of the owners (on-site) and all the staff. And I shouldn't forget the gorgeous accommodation and great food.
Long may it stay just as it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews