We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Safari Lodge in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is not just a lodge - it is a 5 star experience - service, rooms, food and quality of guides are best ever. I was there july 2012 with my 18 year old daughter - Mac is the guide you want and kudus tp Malibu, Martha and the chef - Synnyboy.

Room Tip: Ask for Big Mac as your guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary07739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed 7 game drives on our stay at Leadwood Lodge for our Honeymoon. The Lodge itself is very intimate and we felt as though we were staying at someone's house, rather than a hotel. While we stayed at :Leadwood, we enjoyed eating in the Boma for 3 of the 4 nights to eat dinner with the Ranger and the rest of the guests. At most, only 3 of the 4 rooms were occupied and on our last night, it was us and one other guest at the Lodge, which made it feel like our own house.

The view from the porch is simply amazing, and found myself content to just sit on the couches or a chair in between game drive during the day and just absorb the scenery.

The staff was very helpful and made sure any request we had, was timely completed. On one evening while at dinner with our Ranger, we had discussed the possibility of visiting one of the local schools to see the children. On this occasion, the Ranger spoke with the Lodge Manager, and the next day they had already arranged a visit if it was something we still wanted to do--which we did very much. Another example of their perfect attention to detail.

The game drives were the absolute highlight. Our Rangers Mac and Patrick, were true professionals and made this the trip of a lifetime. And Beyond will definitely get our business in the future as they put together a high quality product.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, which was newly built as a result of the Jan 2012 flood, and we enjoyed the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atotrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

our 4 night stay was wonderful. Everyone was attentive, food excellent and plentiful. One's privacy is highly respected and individual requests requested and provided for by staff. The cottage is beautifully designed to ensure privacy while one is able to always keep,windows open to enjoymviewsod elephants, monkeys, baboons,etc. roam right by. There are just four cottages so it certainly felt intimate. The staff plans both group and private meals and everything is always at one's preference. laundry is done daily t no charge. Gide and ranger were well informed and personable. Could,HIGHLY recommend.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank ali4gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is perhaps one of the jewels in the crown of &beyond lodges. We had planned to visit another recommended lodge in the Sabi Sand but were not able to get the dates requested. What a win! A friend who runs an amazing travel advisory service for internet travellers like ourselves,( Hospitality Afrika) saved the day and recommended Leadwood -and we were blown away with the service, the food, the game viewing experiences and the dedication of the staff. Each suite has a private pool and the interiors are uber swish. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kim824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at Leadwood Lodge for one night recently on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary. What an unbelievably fantastic experience. Definately a must do if you are looking for a very exclusive, quiet escape in the bush. There are only four suits, so one feels as tho you have the lodge to yourself along with the facilities. Each suit has its own rim flow pool. The rooms are spacious and more than ample.

Being a South African, and doing the bush getaway often, we knew we would have an amazing experience, but never did we expect what we got. The sightings from the first game drive to the last were unbelievable. Within the first 30 minutes of our game drive, we were tracking wild dog. We found them, and within seconds of finding them they hunted down and killed an impala. From there we went to a sighting of a leopard, and yes...... believe it or not, she had just killed an impala !!!! Yup... That is exactly how it went. If ever in doubt about whether to commit to leadwood or not... GO AHEAD> you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy2bJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had the privilege of spending two unbelievable nights and days at this very small, intimate and luxurious camp. The accomodation was spectacular - almost the size of a house with a full size private swimming pool . What made it alll the more special was the friendly staff and the entertaining and talented game ranger " Mac" - he is a closet artist that does the most amazing pencil drawings of lions and leopards ( yes we got one of his leopard drawings to commemorate the fact we saw 7 different leopards during out time there).
Little things such as discovering champagne in a bucket hanging with paraffin lamps in the woods outside the camp on way back from our night drive, the staff singing and dancing for us at the boma all added to the special ambience.I would recommned this camp if you want samll groups and the best the camp has to offer.

Room Tip: There are 4 chalets all same size and each with own private full sized pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FedBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in July. The villa is huge, open plan but with 3 areas, living, bedroom and bathroom. Gorgeous modern african decor and loads of glass. There is an outdoor (and indoor) shower, eating area and unheated lap pool. My daughter and I were too scared of the monkeys and baboons to use the outdoor area but we did enjoy watching them through the sliding glass doors.

The food is wonderful, particularly the breakfasts.

The service is excellent.

As others have said, there are only 4 villas and 1 vehicle. I was a bit worried about the potential problems of 8 people in the vehicle. We never found it to be a problem, there always seemed to be someone who was skipping a drive, so there wasn't one drive where there were more than 2 people in each row. (There is always a spare spot beside the driver/guide)

In terms of animals, it's pretty much "what do you want to see on this drive?". Lots of close viewings of leopard, lion cubs, baby elephants, hyena cubs. Infact every animal (except cheetah).

It was so easy to get fantastic photos with the wonderful african light, the open truck and how unbelievably close we got to the animals.

We loved Leadwood!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydneygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
1.3 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
432 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
297 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#11 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
359 reviews
6.7 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Leadwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Leadwood Lodge

Address: | Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: £282 - £1,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Leadwood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fork of the Sand and Mabrak Rivers, andBeyond Leadwood Lodge offers a cosy and serene getaway completely at peace with the bush that surrounds it. With suites carefully distanced from each other, andBeyond Leadwood is ideal for families or parties of friends who want to share their safari experience without intruding on each other's privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Dulini Leadwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
&Beyond Leadwood Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
And Beyond Leadwood Lodge
Dulini Leadwood Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing