We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Changing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Life Changing Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My Mum & I travelled to South Africa for 15 days. We spent our last 4 days at Leadwood Lodge. In summary - WOW! The whole trip was wonderful but Leadwood was the icing on the cake. It was a soul filling, mind blowing, exhilirating, amazing experience!

The highlight of course are the animals. We saw so many! Tracking lions & leopards, sitting with the leopard & her cub, the zebra, the giraffe, the elephants ...... it never ended. The day Colbert picked us up from the airstrip, sitting at the lodge entrance to welcome us was a lion with 4 lioness. What a start! Could it get any better? you bet! Mac & Colbert are the most sensational team. we can't begin to thank them enough for showing us their beautiful bush & their wildlife. Mac's passion is infectious. Mac has a beautiful, warm, gentle nature & Colbert just quietly goes about finding & seeing things that we don't know how the heck he did it! Thank you both for the privilege of sharing your truck & giving us a life changing experience.

Now the lodge itself. Sensational! Aarone our butler - love you babe! Aarone is so funny, so attentive & so unobtrusive. He never invaded our space but was always there when needed (even to remove the green tree snake from our deck!) Malebo - you are beautiful! your gentleness & serenity made us just melt. Sunny Boy & Gift - thanks for the great food. And Sunny Boy - your quiet sense of humour is wonderful. To all the unseen staff who kept everything ticking over - you are magic people who made our stay feel like we were at home.

Overall it has been the most wonderful holiday we have ever had. And whoever the CEO is of &Beyond we hope you read these reviews & see just how wonderful your staff are.

Thank you to everyone at Leadwood for allowing us to visit your home.

PS Mac - good luck with the speedy drive you'll be making in March! Hope all goes well.

Room Tip: Choose room 4 - a little more private as removed from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelofBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about Leadwood or @Beyond in general. The food is fresh and healthy, the staff is lovely, and the game drives life changing. If you have the pleasure of driving with Andrew the ranger you'll have the most amazing time. His knowledge and excitement on seeing the wildlife is infectious. Overall if you have the chance to visit DO IT! I want to go back ASAP

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at Leadwood lodge for 3 nights and it was amazing. The staff are so friendly, our butler Aaron was brilliant, Robert the wonderful chef gave me great recipes and Mac our ranger was fantastic and so was his tracker Corbert, we had hours of fun tracking some amazing animals, we saw leopard 5 out of 6 drives which is pretty impressive. Our room was awesome, really big and spacious and very comfortable with our own plunge pool. There are max of 6 guests in camp which is great as there is no noise and what's brilliant is no children under 12. Food and lodge and general game viewing and the brilliant staff push this lodge to number one of my favourites in South Africa, amazing experience, we will be back.

Room Tip: All awesome, we had room 2 which was great
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We just got back from a safari in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve.
We stayed at River Lodge for the first 2 nights (see separate review) and then at Leadwood Lodge for the last 2
We had an amazing experience in both lodges !

Rooms / Resort : The views are breathtaking. The resort is overlooking the river. A lot of animals are roaming around. While having lunch, we spotted hippos, impalas and a warthog.

The villas are amazing. So spacious. Each villa has a private pool (big enough to do laps if you want to) The decoration is fantastic. Beds are very comfortable.

Food: This is the same food as River Lodge and it was absolutely delicious. On our first night, they organized a typical south African barbecue outside. It was lovely
Congrats to the team in the kitchen!

Service: The whole team took excellent care of us.

Game Drive: We loved it ! We saw everything we wanted to see and even more ! Mac and Phickson did a fantastic job. They are both so knowledgeable. What an experience. Leopards, lions, rhinos, wild dogs, giraffes .... birds ! Woowwww. We were only 4 guests in the vehicle which made the whole experience even better.

Atmosphere: Leadwood lodge is a very private lodge. With usually only 3 rooms in use most of the time, you really feel at home. Nicla is doing an excellent job at making sure that guests are having a great time.
We just didn't want to leave.

We highly recommend Leadwood. It is a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have just finished a 4 night stay at this fantastic lodge and wanted to share our thoughts while still fresh. If you are looking for a spectacular location, fabulous food, unparalled viewing of wild game and a staff that makes you feel as though their home is yours then this is the spot. The room was perfect with a wide view of the river valley from either the deck beside the plunge pool or from the lounge or bedroom area & the main lodge with it's multi levels is a can't miss spot. The game drives twice a day provided an incredible up close view of all of the "big 5" with an added bonus of multiple viewings of Leopards and an evening visit with African wild dogs!

Nicola and the staff were constantly surprising us with things such as a lunch set up beside the river in the bush to a candle light dinner in our room! We had an afternoon visit from an Elephant to our pool plus more highlites than there are room to list.

The food is 5 star and the service is better! Did I mention the animals? The ability of the Rangers and trackers to get within almost touching distance is astonishing and provides an experience that should not be missed!

We will be back soon and often!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 and be prepared to be spoiled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Leadwood was by far the biggest and most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. My husband and I went there 2 weeks ago for our honeymoon. There are only 4 rooms, which are really villas. Each room has its own deck and plunge pool. They're completely private, with beautiful views of the river that surrounds leadwood. Each day we took part in 2 game drives, one in the morning (5am) and one in the evening (4pm). Before each game drive tea, coffee and snacks are served. You will never leave the table hungry, Leadwood serves 3 meals a day, each meal is enough for 6 people. Everything about this place is amazing! We hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great layout and I think is the most unused
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent two nights here in early October for our honeymoon, after having previously stayed at Dulini for two nights. Leadwood is phenomenal - top of the line. The lodge and accomodations are a little more contemporary feeling. The main lodge area and the rooms have much better views than Dulini. The food and staff expertise level is similar - both amazing. We were in suite 4, which was on the end and I recommend. One day from the glass shower, I saw a lion roaming around about 100 yards from the room. It was surreal. See the dulini review for details on game drives and general tidbits, as the lodges are both run by AndBeyond and thus are pretty similar in that regard. Now for the differences - Leadwood has a little more of an exclusive feel to it. Probably because there are only 4 rooms and when we were there, it was not filled at capacity for some of the time. As mentioned, the views at Leadwood are better. One downfall of Leadwood is that they only have one truck, so if the place is filled to capacity and all 8 guests are going on a drive, then that means that one person sits up front (which is great), but then there has to be 3 people in one row. The Leadwood property is larger and the game viewing seemed to be better, even though it was on the same reserve and just down the road from Dulini. Basically, all the lodges have core areas around their property that they traverse for the first portion of the game drive and then if there are any spectacular sightings, you will drive to them throughout the entire reserve. We did catch a cheetah while we were there, which apparently was only the 2nd time in a year. Overall, amazing experience and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDKLmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
18.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.0 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
13.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Leadwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Leadwood Lodge

Property: Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Address: | Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Leadwood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fork of the Sand and Mabrak Rivers, andBeyond Leadwood Lodge offers a cosy and serene getaway completely at peace with the bush that surrounds it. With suites carefully distanced from each other, andBeyond Leadwood is ideal for families or parties of friends who want to share their safari experience without intruding on each other's privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Dulini Leadwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Beyond Leadwood Lodge
&Beyond Leadwood Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Dulini Leadwood Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing