We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dulini Leadwood Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
128
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolour honeymoongame viewingthe riverexclusive feelsabi sandsthree roomsafrican dancehis passionoutdoor showertree houseother guestsfood preferencesmonkeys and baboonsfourth safariiced coffeetwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here in November. The service is amazing. From the moment of arrival.
We had people that were both gluten free and vegetarian. The chef went out of his
way for us.
The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. The outdoor shower and deck are
great for an outdoor massage. All four of us received different treatments. All very
pleased.
Our guide Andrew was my favorite on this trip. One morning he took us walking. Great information and care in what we were interested in seeing.

Room Tip: There are only 4 suites. Very private.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelanytimeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

On a scale of 1- 10 , this lodge is a PERFECT 10, the facilities are unbelievable with a massive living room, great bedroom and private bathroom. The staff is eager to please , anticipate every wish and very friendly. The cook presents the menu personally with the biggest smile and delivers the product. Unlike other lodges , the security that walks you to your room is constantly waving the flashlight in all directions looking for animals as opposed to simply lighting the path. Your safety is their highest concern,. Our ranger and tracker were great at finding the animals and their personalities made it a fantastic experience. They were constantly checking the radio for animal sighting. Every day and night were different adventures. The manager and staff welcomed us back after each drive with such enthusiasm. I never expected or anticipated such luxury , friendliness or service in such an isolated location. Would make this the number 1 lodge in all of Africa. Best kept secret ! Would go back in a heartbeat! Worth the 17 hour flight from USA. Surprises galore!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Every year in June for the past many years we have spent a week at a luxury camp in the bush to celebrate my wife's and my joint biryhdays. Previous trips have include lodges in Botswana, Zambia , Kenya, Tanzania and South Africa. This year was a 'big' one for my wife and she wanted to have our children and 9 month old grandson with us for our celebration. This meant looking for an option that didn't require too much travel and certainly excluded any charter flights in small aircraft. After much research we discovered Leadwood which is a 2h30 flight from Cape Town to Nelspruit followed by a 2h30 car drive to the lodge. The fact that we could have the lodge entirely to ourselves for the six days was a super bonus.

The previous reviews have pretty much said it all by let me add a few thoughts.
Our stay at Leadwood exceeded our highest expectations and this was the best safari we have ever had!! The suites are magnificent in design, size and furnishing - and they are so well spaced apart that even if we had been there just as a couple we'd have enjoyed the same privacy. The staff are wondeful - without exception; as is the food which is delicious in variety and presentation. Very soon after arriving we felt as though we were part of the family and baby Joshua was loved and cuddled by all.

We have travelled on safari often and the actual game sighting is less important to us than the experience of just being in the bush. However ----- after we'd seen the big 5 within hours of arriving we suspected that this trip was going to be extra special and were not disappointed. We had Andrew as our ranger and Chris as our guide and between them we tracked and found both on foot and in the vehicle ...... lion and buffalo galore, lion cubs (alone in hiding while their mom's hunted) ,rhino with baby (and aggravted male trying to get her attention) , leopard mom with cub (and watched the father steal her kill), wild dogs on the trot hunting, hyena .....and a leopard sitting outside room 4 where our son was staying. My wife, son and son-in-law are keen (professionally trained) photographers and have a treasure of beautiful pics from this trip. Every day was a true adventure made all the more exciting by the knowledge, skill and enthusiasm of Andrew and Chris.

In short: perfect!

Room Tip: If you want to be relatively close to the communal dining/relaxing area ask for room 2. The furtherest away are rooms 1 and 4.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesRuhrmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just returned from our trip in Africa, and without any doubt, Leadwood was the super icing of the trip. Four nights with two safaris per day, animals just outside the lodge, and little surprises that made each one more special than the other. The rooms with doors that opened to the wild, with a private pool, a staff that treats you like you were the most important guest. Superb food. There are no words to express how wonderful Leadwood is and how at home the staff makes you feel. Mac the ranger, and Colbert the tracker are very special, and do deliver all the animals you'l'l want to see. I really dont know how they did it !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

There are many very good lodges in the Sabi Sand area, but Leadwood Lodge 'raises the bar' in terms of personal service and exclusivity, partly because it consists of only four individual lodges, and partly because of the attentive but unobtrusive service offered by every member of staff. The lodge overlooks the confluence of two rivers, but water levels will obviously vary in the dry season. Each lodge is identical, although Number 1 is designated the Honeymoon Suite because it is slightly further away from the other lodges. The lodges are large and very well appointed, with both inside and outside showers, a Victorian standing bath, a day bed area, king sized beds, large private decks and a very nicely sized private pool. On the drive in to Leadwood we were privileged to see a leopard within 200 metres of the Lodge lying at the side of the road, but every game drive after that was an exciting experience filled not only with the 'big five' of lions, leopards, elephants, rhino and buffalo, but also a variety of other game and birds. We were very fortunate to see Wild Dog hunting on two separate days. The chefs are happy to accommodate different tastes and tailor dishes accordingly. Breakfast up on a tree-level deck overlooking the river is particularly special, and the staff singing to us after an evening meal at the boma will always be remembered with joy. Exclusivity comes at a price, and my wife and I were guests of family, but the value of the total experience exceeds the cost. Leadwood well deserves every accolade it has been given by its guests. Particular thanks must go to Manager Nicki, and Game Ranger, William.

Room Tip: Room 1 is situated a little further away from the other three, and so is designated the 'honeymoon suite' but all lodges are private.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews