We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indube Game Reserve Sabi Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion Sands Ivory Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indube Game Reserve Sabi Sands”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We saw all the big five on day and night safari, even a Leapard with a kill in the camp. Also an Elephant having just given birth, The Ranger was amazing giving us a real insight into these wild animals. The experience was a real privilege and something I will never forget. The only sad thing I will say is to be very careful and lock away all your valuables when you leave your Lodge.

Room Tip: Near the reception for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    13
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
150
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Well, it was our first safari experience and we were at Sabi Sands in South Africa to try two different lodges. Ivory lodge was our final destination and I can not find words to describe this place. You can get some insight from the photos but believe me the real thing is much different than that. You can find lots of nice and chic hotels and lodges all over the world but as long as the service level does not meet certain standards, even the most beautiful holiday place can become hell for you. In Lion Sands Ivory Lodge you can rest assured that you will find the best of everything. First of all, you are not staying in a room, you are staying in a villa in the middle of wildlife facing a beautiful river. I will add photos to show you around in detail, please check them out as words are not enough. Food is just great, you can not believe to have such food standards in the middle of the wildlife and I do not think it can get any better than that. Our game drives were really good, our ranger Mike and tracker Sam were really nice guys who know a lot about the wildlife and gave us a good amount of information. We have seen the big 5 and more. Bush walk was amazing if you like to have more adventure in the middle of the jungle. The weather was unfortunately not so great while we were there so we could not do the tree house night stay which we wanted a lot. We have seen this tree house and it would have been amazing to stay there one night. Consider this for sure if the weather is good while you are there. On top of everything, as I have mentionned above the staff makes a difference here. Dessere and Jopie at the front desk, Reineck in the restaurant, Mike and Sam in the game drives, thanks a lot guys to make this holiday memorable for us. I could write three pages about the experience at Ivory Lodge but I just keep it here and recommend strongly to everyone to stay here if you intend to go to Sabi Sands area. It was worth for sure and I hope to come back in the future to this lodge and I will most likely try the other ones they have.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

There's nothing negative to say, from the moment we were picked up to when we left we felt we were in paradise, cared for and met some amazing people as a bonus. We were in Sandpiper Lodge, overlooking a low part of the river: Day 1, large male elephant came for a drink, Day 2 rhinos x 2 ambled along, Day 3, 8 incredible Water Buffalo settled down to cool off and Day 4 around 12 elephants on our side of the river crossed to the other side....and all from the comfort of our lodge. Our drives were superb, from lions eating a water buffalo, to elephants taking a mud bath and stunning female leopard searching for food.
Mike and Sam looked after us and taught us so much about everything we inquired about. We had great company on our rides which made the evenings so much more fun. Loved the bush walk and visit to the local Community and Pre- school - the children were a joy and Thembi an inspiration.
The lodges have everything you need (and more), and as the days got hotter I made it all the way in the plunge pool (brrr but so refreshing!).
This is such a magical place, sheer luxury mixed with pure passion for the animals and the environment and I sincerely hope we can return one day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights (Aug 12-17) and all I can say is TOP-NOTCH! From the time we arrived until we drove away on our last day we were treated like royalty. They really put you first.
STAFF- The staff is wonderful. They go out of their way to make anything you want happen (within reason of course). They walk you to your room at night to make sure you are safe since there are wild animals running around. Our butler was awesome. One night we asked to have dinner in our room and he set everything up picture perfect. Candles, lanterns, Wine food. Just fantastic! Everyone we came across was over the top friendly.

FOOD- All the food was fantastic. The chef even went out of the way to make my wife gluten free bread and cookies which she just loved. They did a dinner out in the bush that was insane. It literally looked like a wedding reception. Just amazing!!!

ROOMS- Rooms are large and VERY nice. Always very clean, bar kept stocked and stocked with fresh linens. We stayed in #6 (last one to the right) and the view was great! The outdoor shower with a view of the river was insane!! The pool was way to cold to go in but hey it was winter there. Our friends room (#5) had a heated pool and a little better view. Non the less it was great!!

THE SAFARI- was MUCH more than I ever expected it would be and part of that is the fact that we had Ferdie as our guide. He has a vast knowledge on every aspect of the Safari. From the wildlife, to the plants, to the soil, he passed along his knowledge and experience to us with a smile. It was fantastic learning so much as well as seeing all the animals. All in all he is not only a great guide but a great person with a passion for what he does. We were able to see AMAZING things that were beyond description. The big 5 and then some!

I will be making sure that when I return to South Africa it will be to the Ivory Lodge I just need to make sure Ferdie is available to be our guide again. Unbelievable time!!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has what I believe to be the best view but all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The secluded lodge villas were overlooking the river with the Kruger National Park on the other side where we could see lions waiting for buffaloes coming to drink water. We spend 4 most memorable days and nights at this place. Food, service, quality of staff, and off course the two safari trips each lasting about 3 hours provided amazing and close up (almost in touching distance) to lion prides, buffaloes, elephants, wildebeest, hyenas, African rock pythons, leopard, Kudu, impala (various different kinds), zebras, giraffes, etc. Safari staff and out butler were amazing.

Room Tip: All the lodges had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This has been a long time coming. But we can never forget the lovely time we had at Sabi Sands Ivory lodge at Kruger National Park almost a year ago September 13, 2012. The accomodation is terrific, our room was like a mini-villa that comes with a butler who takes care of you from breakfast to dinner and more. The room has a separate living room with fireplace, a small veranda where you can just lounge and relax after the drives and watch animals go by with drinks on hand that are provided in the room . Our bedroom was big and luxuriious with exceptionally large bathrooms, tub and shower and an outside shower where curious monkeys appear at the sound of trickling water. It also has its personal negative edge/infinity pool where you can enjoy a nice relaxing dip .

All the staff are wonderful, friendly, very accommodating and provided us with superb service and really made you feel at home so much so you just want to stay longer. Robyn, thank you and extend our thanks to the many outstanding staff of Ivory Lodge.

The food is great and the dining area is a lovely place to eat and visit with new found friends.

The safari drives were amazing, Thanks to our Guide and Tracker we did get the chance to see the big 5 specially the elusive leopard and many other beautiful animals which was very rewarding. We wish we could stay more and we're sad to leave but we made a promise to come back again someday hopefully soon.

All of these comes with a price but it is all worth it.

Stuart & Nanette Duzan
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

Room Tip: I think the 6 rooms are equally great but I love where our room (called the Peregrine) is located at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

An experience to never forget! Ivory lodge staff, location, accommodation and food was top notch from start to finish. The welcome from Robyn and Johannes through to our first game drive with Landon and Eddie everything was already thought of or indeed organised and with such a friendly relaxed feel. We had a superb time and absolutely loved the game drives and sights we saw with Landon- wildlife was amazing! Our butler, Reineck was a gem and looked after us like family. I cannot thank the team enough - it was a dream. Special things included a night in the Kingston tree house, dinner in our room, watching elephants and buffalo from our deck and the outside shower! Trip of a life time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
16.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands Ivory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands Ivory Lodge

Property: Lion Sands Ivory Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | (Shaw's Gate Entrance), Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands Ivory Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1933, this international award winning private game reserve spans across the world famous Sabi Sand Game Reserve and Kruger National Park. Lion Sands has four lodges; Lion Sands Ivory Lodge & Lion Sands River Lodge (Sabi Sand) and Lion Sands Tinga Lodge & Lion Sands Narina Lodge (Kruger Park). Each has a unique style, but is a reflection of Lion Sands' five-star signature of sophisticated interiors, unique experiences and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and Cancelon so you can book your Lion Sands Ivory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Sands Ivory Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Lion Sands Ivory Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing