We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Djuma Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Centurion, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Joined another family for a weekend in April 2012. Game viewing was unbelievable - saw no Zebra though - priceless sigtings of big 5 in first 24 hours.
Facilities was top class. Even though it was selfcatering we were treated by an amazing chef Luzile and all meals were 5 star. Will go back anytime and can recommend to anybody who loves the bush in luxury!
Johann

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our extended family had 3 wonderful days at Vuyatela. I have been 3 times before when it was a fully catered lodge and I have to say I enjoyed the self catered concept more. It was as if our family owned a private game lodge in the Sabi Sands and we felt so much more at home to use the Main Lodge deck and new swimming pool.

The accomodation is still spacious and beautiful and the best part is that the game viewing is as good as it gets at a price that you cannot beat. The chef means that you don't have to work on your holiday as she prepared great braais for us after our game drives.

We saw Leopard on 5 out of 6 game drives as well as a rare encounter with wild dogs with their kill which was memorable not to mention Elephants,Rhino, Buffalo, Giraffe, Hyena. Eprahim and Amos were excellent and we have no idea how they are able to track and spot the animals.

This concept will appeal to locals who care about the essence of the bush experience which is the wildlife and who are not prapared to overpay for fancy food and a hovering butler!

Room Tip: Chalet 1 is the best overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Czerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Took two families to Vuyatela and the experience was perfect. The new self catering arrangement worked well for us and a superb chef Luzile looked after us and cooked our food to 5star standards. Could not have had a better game experience. We saw the Big five in the first two hours and plenty more leopard sightings during the week. You can go for a drive when you want to and Texan was just right. The venue itself is ideal, a nice mixture if five star luxury but the African theme prevents you feeling you are in a hotel. We will definitely be back, ideal formula for bush relaxation. Peter.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The guide we had was very unprofessional and rude, and the staff wasn't very attentive or helpful. The rooms were tacky as well as the lodge/museum/computer room -- more Mexican than African. The food was not very good and the game sighting was average. A pretty good lodge but there are definitely better ones out there where you'd get a nicer lodge for your money -- safaris are expensive, but it's best to pay for the best.

Room Tip: We had Cabin #5... Best to try for 1 or 2 since it's quite a walk to the lodge otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JurieDjuma, Owner at Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Please note that this lodge no longer exists as you knew it, it is now a self-catered lodge exclusive to groups of ten.
As to the game, all I can say is that our record speaks for itself and is extensively recorded on Youtube, Facebook, etc. There are no fences or caged animals here. There will be days when you see less and others when you see more; that being the wonder and joy of the safari experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a fun time at the lodge, though we didn't see much. The food was pretty good, and the rooms were good, but a little small.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JurieDjuma, Owner at Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Please note that this lodge no longer exists as you knew it, it is now a self-catered lodge exclusive to groups of ten. As to the game, all I can say is that our record speaks for itself and is extensively recorded on Youtube, Facebook, etc. We have operated live cameras on our property for more than a decade now and so people can not only see for themselves what we offer, but all of this is recorded and can be accessed via the internet.
Djuma Game Reserve is part of the Sabi Sand which in turn is part of the massive Kruger National Park; more than 2 million hectares. There are no fences or caged animals here. There will be days when you see less and others when you see more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just spent the most amazing two nights at Vuyatela Lodge in the Djuma in the Sabi Sands Game Reserve.
Here is the deal! You take all your food and drinks and all the staff is there to cook your food for you as and when you require.
The game viewing was out of this world, big 5 on the first day, first 10 minutes of game drive we encountered two leapards with fresh kill.
The lodge is extremely child friendly - if you take out the lodge for yourself and your family.
The lodge sleeps 10 people and the rates are amazing.
This was my first self-catering experience and will strongly recommend - as you will not lift a finger during your stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a beautifull plunge pool with views overlooking the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed for two nights with a group of friends and can't fault the place. With only 8 double rooms, it is set up to give the most personal and excellent service available.

I believe all rooms were set out the same, with each having a private outdoor spa pool, seperate reading/relaxing room, large bathroom with bath/shower plus seperate outdoor shower. Rooms were nicely decorated and had fitted into the enviroment very well. Great personal touch with hand written notes on our pillows etc.

All the staff were brilliant. The "Rubbing Post" spa provided a fantastic massage and facial service etc. The Chef was excellent and provided great food with a nice personal touch to come out and explain the menu to us. Even baked a special birthday cake for one of us.

The four game drives we went on were brilliant and we got to see the big five. Our rangers who drove and tracked were brilliant. I recommend going with a group of firends. There we of 10 of us (five couples) and we filled one vehicle and all got to share the experience together.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Djuma Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#17 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

Property: Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Address: Djuma Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Djuma Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Djuma Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Vuyatela Hotel Djuma Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing