We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place in the whole world!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Djuma Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place in the whole world!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This has been my 5th or 6th visit to Djuma and it truly is one of my favorite places in the world. We have stayed at Galago many times, and this time at Vuyatela. The rooms are spectacular with outside showers and private decks overlooking the bush. What makes this place truly special is the staff! Wether you get Aubrey and William at Galago, or Texan and Amos at Vuyatela (Ranger and Tracker) their knowledge of the bush is without doubt unbeatable and they are pleasant and helpful in every way. Nothing is too much for these guys!! Every question is answered, but they also have the common sense not to talk endlessly and unnecessarily (which we have experienced many a time at fully catered lodges!)

Djuma is a SELF CATERED lodge, which we LOVE!! Too many times we have experienced 5 star bush lodges trying to get cute and fancy with their food, which just doesn't work. Nothing beats a good South African Braai in the bush and what better way than to bring what ever your heart desires and then the cooks at the lodge prepare it all for you. The ladies in the kitchen are more than capable of preparing anything and everything. All we did was tell them what we wanted and it was brought to us beautifully presented and absolutely perfect.

The game and the bush in this area are magnificent!! No matter which time of the year you chose, it will never let you down. We had loads of rain on our latest trip, but we still saw so much game and the bird life is abundant!! The trees and dam's are beautiful and the sunset stop at Khaya Manzi is simply magical!! I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haenertsburg, Limpopo, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It is a week since we returned from Vuyatela Lodge at Djuma, but I am still reading up and contextualising the experience. Nothing prepared me for how good it was going to be! The bushveld scenery is magnificent, with beautiful trees, the lodge is luxurious without being pretentious and the staff were friendly, helpful and very, very capable: special mention of Luzile, the chef, Ephraim the ranger/driver and Amos the tracker! I now have the Djuma webcam running in the background on my computer, and have read up about Karuma the leopard and the intimate relationships people around the world have built up with the Djuma animals, most without ever having set foot in Africa. The love of the bush and the commitment to the guests of all involved at the Lodge leaves a lasting impression. I have had many experiences in the bush and this must rate as one of the greatest. I have posted pics and stories on my blog - see
http://sequoiagardens.wordpress.com/?s=djuma

Room Tip: Make up a party of 8 or 10 - you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haenertsburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I never thought I would be able to recharge my batteries by spending a weekend away in the bush. But that is exactly what happened at Vuyatela. The lodge itself is beautiful, decorated with local South Africa art. The staff friendly and attentive without being intrusive. It was wonderful to come back from a superb game drive, to a delicious meal prepared by the amazing Luzile. Ephraim and Amos managed to find the Big 5 within 24 hours, but more importantly was the interesting facts about the tree's, insects, birds and smaller animals. It is a place I could see myself visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanbean_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magoebaskloof
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A group of friends joined me for a spectacular break away at Vuyatela Lodge in the Sabi Sands. We were thoroughly spoilt by Luzile who made magic with our supplies and produced mouth-watering meals. The lodge itself is luxurious but also quirky and fun with really funky artwork and details. Of course, Pippa's mosaics are stunning and make a really personalised impact on guests. We had really fabulous sightings of leopard as well as 9 lions heading off on a hunt together, elephant as well as 7 (plus 3) rhino completely relaxed and having a bush brunch as well as a herd of hundreds of buffalo. Seeing the Big 5 was great but we thoroughly enjoyed just being in the bush with mongoose, waterbuck, zebra, nyala, impala, wildebeest and kudu. There were fabulous sunrises and sunset scenes, great trees and some great sightings of Gymnogene, African Fish Eagle, Bateleur as well as Long-tailed Shrikes and the other bushveld birds. Jurie and Pippa have created a fabulous lodge which is affordable for South Africans. What a treat to feel like you have your own game lodge in this stunning bushveld environment.

Room Tip: Room Number 1 has the best views of the waterhole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was honoured to take my whole family to Vuyatela Private game Lodge, - as a Self catering lodge, a person has a preconceived idea,but W O W!!!! you have no idea,...as you get there, you are greeted by friendly staff, who unpack your car, - drop off your groceries, in the kitchen, and "voila" - your private chef does the rest!!! -Luzile is Master Chef of the Sabi Sands, I'm sure!!!, as her food is absolutely DELICIOUS!. -
Your bedroom is set to the backdrop of a watering hole, where the animals, walk down periodically to drink, even the outdoor shower enables you to feel the "Soul of Nature", and not to miss out, on the animal action!!!
- the main deck, closer to the dining area is also a superb way to enjoy a gin and tonic, while watching the game, sporadically amble down to the water hole.
We were exceptionally privileged to see the BIG 5, but not the exception,... when I read all the other reviews, about Vuyatela, - it seems everyone else also saw the BIG 5, Thanks to Eprahim , and Amos,(our driver and tracker) who enabled us to see Leopard stalking Impala, a Lion with a kill, a herd of Buffalo, a herd of 25 Elephants, and Rhino.
This exclusive lodge, is more appreciated, because of it unpretentiousness, and the essence of Africa is truly felt, by the words that mean "Come and visit again" ... VUYATELA!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are closer to the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandAmbassador737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Joined another family for a weekend in April 2012. Game viewing was unbelievable - saw no Zebra though - priceless sigtings of big 5 in first 24 hours.
Facilities was top class. Even though it was selfcatering we were treated by an amazing chef Luzile and all meals were 5 star. Will go back anytime and can recommend to anybody who loves the bush in luxury!
Johann

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our extended family had 3 wonderful days at Vuyatela. I have been 3 times before when it was a fully catered lodge and I have to say I enjoyed the self catered concept more. It was as if our family owned a private game lodge in the Sabi Sands and we felt so much more at home to use the Main Lodge deck and new swimming pool.

The accomodation is still spacious and beautiful and the best part is that the game viewing is as good as it gets at a price that you cannot beat. The chef means that you don't have to work on your holiday as she prepared great braais for us after our game drives.

We saw Leopard on 5 out of 6 game drives as well as a rare encounter with wild dogs with their kill which was memorable not to mention Elephants,Rhino, Buffalo, Giraffe, Hyena. Eprahim and Amos were excellent and we have no idea how they are able to track and spot the animals.

This concept will appeal to locals who care about the essence of the bush experience which is the wildlife and who are not prapared to overpay for fancy food and a hovering butler!

Room Tip: Chalet 1 is the best overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Czerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Djuma Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp

Property: Vuyatela Lodge & Galago Camp
Address: Djuma Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Djuma Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Djuma Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Vuyatela Hotel Djuma Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing