We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Sabi Sands Without The Notorious Price Tag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best of Sabi Sands Without The Notorious Price Tag”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was probably one of our best holidays. We researched safaris in South Africa extensively and chose Inyati based on location (Sabi Sands) and price which was lower than most of the more famous reserves in Sabi Sands. We realized on the first day that guests at the more expensive resorts drove around in the same area or at least close enough, and probably saw as much or as little as we did, only they paid quite a lot more. The twice-daily drives were fabulous; we saw at least two or three of the big five each time, going up close and observing for as long as twenty minutes. We saw the smaller animals too, including mongoose and birds. The food was very good with generous portions. The staff were extremely helpful and very hospitable. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The walks were wonderful. Special mention MUST go to our ranger, Keith, who clearly loved his job and seemed to be a walking encyclopaedia with all his information about the animals, the plants and even some of the animals' private lives! If we had to do another safari, this is definitely the place we'll be going back to. Thank you Inyati for a most memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but as a scaredy-cat, I would get a room close to the dining area, which is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    50
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
145
175
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncannon, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We very much enjoyed our 5-night stay at Inyati the last week of August. On the very first drive we watched a female leopard eating an impala. By the time we left we had seen about 8 leopards, dozens of lions, buffalo, giraffes and elephants, many rhinoceros, hippos, wild dogs, zebra, warthogs, monkeys, baboons and a hyena. Also, for those who enjoy birds, I think the location could merit an entire bird trip. But of course the emphasis is always on the Big Five.

Though weather was variably cool in the mornings (bring many layers), the hot water bottles provided enough comfort on the drives for even someone like me who hates cold. The evening drives were much warmer and the temps in the afternoon were in the 80s. For this reason I would say we came at an excellent time. The lack of insects during this month almost made malaria prevention overkill. If I ever return in August I personally would skip the Malarone and use only insect repellent.

Two things make Inyati the special place that it is. First, because it is unfenced, the wildlife is free to roam at will, and you very much feel like you are living in their world. To me a bordered lodge would not be a genuine safari experience; it would feel too much like a zoo.

Secondly, the quality of the guides and trackers (hurrah for Khimbini and Richard!) was top notch and also the friendliness of the entire staff was genuine. Each one of our game drives was an exciting adventure with fresh perspectives and breathtaking close-up encounters with animal families. We did not merely spot animals, we stayed long enough that we felt like a guest in their world. We even saw leopards mating!

If you want great photos that will make your friends gasp, come to Inyati. They share drive territories with several other lodges so you get a wide range for tracking. We were affected by Hurricane Irene when returning to New York City and spent many hours in the airport swapping stories with visitors from other lodges. Many confessed our wildlife sightings far overshadowed theirs.

My advice to visitors is to bring LOTS of extra memory and backup batteries for your cameras. Many guests at the lodge were upset that they needed more memory and the lodge does not sell memory or batteries. I deleted unwanted photos after each drive due to the large volume I was taking.

The really huge luxury rooms were much nicer than expected. An oversize tub was great for relaxing after dinner. We stayed in room #10 so we got to share our outdoor shower with a resident pair of friendly nyala. (No, they were not really in the shower.) For those of you who are less adventurous, the rooms also have indoor showers, but you're missing half the fun!

If you have concerns about bar costs, one free drink of your choice (wine, soft drink) was included free at sundown. The additional glass of wine that was purchased at the lodge looked like it was around $3, which was quite good.

Our only complaint about the food (heard from others) was lack of vegetarian options, mostly during tea, but also some of the meals. Of course it's a *game* lodge, so I can see where the local culture is not thinking in terms of vegetarian cuisine. However, since most meal courses are served buffet style, I personally was satisfied with the variety even though I eat very little meat. Still, with international guests it's something that needs to be considered. Soups and desserts were outstanding.

Many nationalities were found among the guests at the lodge. Two separate parties were visiting for their 9th and 10th times, so Inyati has a very loyal following! We hope to be returning here also.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LLLofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Lodge, grounds, hospitality and friendliness of staff, and game drives made a wonderful experience. The vista in front of the lodge and rooms is one thing we'll truly miss- it is an open grassy area overlooking a river and bush area. Elephants,a leopard, a giraffe, warthogs, kudu, impala, a hyena, etc. passed through or near the lodge property during our four day stay- we saw those animals from the veranda and our room. Naturally the highlight is the game drives- the Ranger and Tracker got us very up close to animals. We were fortunate to have followed a pack of wild dogs, which we understand are quite rare. I would definitely recommend Inyati to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacMac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livorno, Tuscany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My father and I were there in june 2007. It was beautiful: we saw a lot of wildlife, more and more as we expected. We saw many leopards, the animals that we were more interested in. Really wonderful; we also stayed at mala mala; the hotel was more luxurious, but we spent the double and we saw half of the animale comparing to Inyati!
Giacomo from Livorno, Italy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Enthusiastic rangers and trackers at the lodge made our stay exceptionally memorable with all the animals sightings and impressive descriptions of their behavior. We bumped into guests from other resorts during the ride on rainy days and realised yhat Inyati is the only lodge that provides a detachable roof on the jeep, allowing us to be sheltered from the cold rain.
Room comes with full glass panels where we are often greeted with roaming animals. Dining area overlooks a waterhole where we saw hippopotamus, hyena, nyala, impala etc.. A gym is also available which is useful in passing time between the game drives. Meals are communal where guests get to socialise.
One thing to note is the limited privacy for the showering area in the room - they are not separated by curtains or doors from the main area.
Highly recommended for everyone to witness the Big 5 in action! We saw impala hanging from a tree by a leopard, a pride of lions feeding on a buffalo, wild dogs, hyena attempting to steal meat from a leopard, baby rhino drinking milk from it's mom.. A truly unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighanneD, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for choosing Inyati Game Lodge for your recent stay in South Africa. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our lodge.

Is was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

I have passed on your wonderful comments to the lodge staff.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
INYATI Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Wild Wings Safari booked us 2 nights in the main area of the park and 2 nights at Inyati. Do it that way round and you will better appreciate the 2 very different experiences. At Inyati the tracking team(20-30 years experience) works with other similar establishments: you get very close to lion, leopard and rare African wild dogs as a result. A world renowned animal photographer chose it, which says it all. Beautiful accommodation (you sometimes get the Big Five on the lawn !). There was always something innovative in the evening meal, which is served . An attraction is that Inyati has a family run feel: the trackers eat with you. Don't expect a grand hotel-restaurant type of meal. We gather that some rivals have smarter restaurants and are more exclusive but it seemed to us you were paying an awful lot more for fripperies you don't want in the African Bush: we were delighted with Wild Wings' choice. .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeclarke98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We visited Inyati with our children and in-laws and had wonderful experience. The staff was suberb, knowledgeable and very good with children. The food was great. I would rate this an 11 out of 10. Our guide Pete was one of the best and the lodge fosters a spirit of community and we left there with a great group of new friends. We saw all but one of the Magnificent 7 by day two of our adventure. Great for families and couples. Wine cellar is very respectable and the living is good.

Room Tip: You can ask for extra beds for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dabolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inyati Private Game Reserve
0.8 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
6.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve

Property: Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the lush banks of the Sand River, Inyati Game Lodge offers the ultimate safari experience combining diverse wildlife with authentic African hospitality. From the warm welcome you receive upon arrival, to our comfortable chalets, hearty home style cuisine and highly experienced guides, every guest departs with unforgettable memories and the imprint of Africa in their soul. #inyatisafari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, South African Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing