We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING experience!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Inyati Game Lodge is not of the type for those that wants the extreme luxury of accommodation. It is for those whose priority is to see the maximum amount of wildlife watching. Their safari guides are the best in Sabi Sands and they are natural trackers who understand how wildlife works. They are wildlife whisperers and know the bush perfectly well. We spent four days there and every single one of them we were able to see something totally extraordinary even for Sabi Sands standards. The guides went above and beyond to make this happen.
The ambience in the lodge is fenomenal and the dynamic of the wild life watching made possible that by the end of your stay, you make new good friends and you want to repeat the experience very soon.
The rooms were a little bit dark for my like but when we were there we had very wet days which made the days darker than usual. I can imagine that in an ordinary hot summer day, you would appreciate not to be in a very hot room. Sabi Sands is very hot in the middle of summer.
The decor needs updating in the common areas with a bit more flair for today standards in Sabi Sands, but as the game experience is well above average due to the expertise of the guides, all weights up.

Room Tip: If you don't want the inconvenience of being escorted to your room in the night time, choose a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am pleased that you have enjoyed your first experience at Inyati and hopefully it won’t be the last one.
We are thrilled with the outcome of the renovations. The old cottage pane windows have been replaced by large sliding wooden doors to allow more natural light. Interiors have been refreshed with new beds, furniture and mosquito nets.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    50
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
149
179
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascavel, PR
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I just arrived from a trip to Inyati. The lodge has great accomodation facilities, the food over there is exceptional, but the highlight of the stay are the two daily game drives. Its a great experience to see the big 5 in their real environment. We had KIM, as our guide, and for the all time he angered to show as the best part of the animals life. At the normal day is an early wake up, a small breakfast and off you go for a 4 hour game drive. On arrival you have a brunch and then you can leisurly rest until 4pm when you have another small meal and another ride. On both rides there is a coffee break or a sunset drink. At the end you have a fantastic dinner and you can chose from the wine cellar a great SA wine. The rooms are very nice, clean and carefully arranged and you have, apart from daily complimentary water a complementary bottle of scherzo at your disposition. There is a Gym for those who want to work out and free internet in the common area.This was really a fantastic experience, that everyone should do. I will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are in the front of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMSA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, General Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your safari experience at Inyati. Our team are committed to keep you updated. Please follow our Facebook page for daily updates.

Regards

Francis Jenkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you have going on a safari on your bucket list like I did, then Inyati is definitely an incredible place to experience this trip of a lifetime! When I got to Inyati with my family, we were coming from two days at another game reserve which we absolutely loved, so naturally we were skeptical and comparing everything about Inyati to our other lodge. I will start my review with the things that were not necessarily flaws, but in comparison to our previous experience were a little bit inferior. Although I'm starting this way, keep in mind I can go on and on raving about Inyati, and I will! The food was good, they provided morning coffee, a beautiful breakfast after our morning game drive, high tee before our afternoon game drive, and dinner. The dinners provided a good range of the natural meet they have in South Africa such as Kudu and Impala, as well as chicken and beef that we are more used to. However, the food was a little underwhelming. You had to seek out lunch if you wanted it, and with a lot of downtime in between drives during the day, lunch is nice for something to do on the reserve aside from lying by the pool or in your room. It may be my personal taste, but I did not love the dinner, but it was good. High tee and breakfast were definitely their strong suites for food, in my opinion. I didn't find the staff as personal, but they did do a great job. Our room was always set up beautifully, and the rooms you stay in were extremely comfortable and safe! It was nice to relax in the air conditioning of the room during the hot summer days. Also, they are located off of the sand river, which was great, although I was expecting there to be more running water below the reserve than we saw. However, it was a hub for animals to come to, one morning while we were eating breakfast we were joined by an elephant down by the river, as well as a few wart hogs. Now onto the absolutely fabulous aspects of Inyati. The reason why you go to these reserves are the game drives, and Inyati's rangers definitely delivered with several highlight drives! My ranger, Matt, was extremely knowledgeable and informative. He took us to see incredible sites, even keeping us out a little later than usual to see a coalition of male lions. The bush is so beautiful and lush, and they aren't afraid to go into it to get the up close and personal big 5 encounter! They cross the river to see the other side of the reserve with ease, one time going through it when the water was as high up as our tires. Their jeeps even have canopies that can be covered with a tarp which is extremely beneficial, especially because we experienced a game drive in the rain. The Inyati property is also home to many monkeys which makes for some very cute entertainment throughout the day when you are just sitting by the pool or in the lounge. Additionally they have a gym on the reserve, which even though I personally did not experience, many of the guests when I was there made great use of it! Their "turn down" service was wonderful as they gave delicious treats before bed, and a cute bed time story about some of the local animals or insects. Overall I had an absolutely incredible experience at Inyati, and I would go back there in a heartbeat. If you are able and willing to, I would definitely suggest splitting your safari time at two different reserves so you can experience different aspects of the bush, but if you are going to all in at one game reserve, Inyati is definitely a place that will not let you down!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Owner at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our lodge. The team strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job.
We are so honored that you choose Inyati for your bucket list. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

Warm bushveld regards

Keith Jenkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

All chalets have electrics & A/C. Food is very good including "wild"(raised) game: impala, kudu, spring bok. Also made to order omelets at brunch and free sun-downer cocktails post drive. Plenty of food, even with "only" 2 real meals: massive brunch & dinner (good South African-centric wines for $25 USD) . Sunrise light breakfast (sweet breads & coffee) and afternoon pre-game drive "tea" of quiches & brownies. Good BBQs (loved the kudo & spring bok, yum!) at night with fires in the fenced "boma" area. Staff (lots of staff!) is very pleasant, professional and welcoming. Everyone's game viewing experience may be different, but we saw the "Big 5" on our first day! Enjoyed meeting guests from all over the world as well as speaking with the local guides/drivers at dinner. We plan to return - we will return in August 2014!

Room Tip: Executive chalets are luxurious and we really enjoyed the space, but the whole game viewing & fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your safari experience at Inyati Game Lodge.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from a stay at Inyati. The resort is very comfortable, but the best part of the experience is the outings, where you go off the roads (which you can't do at Kruger). At any given time we would go into a pride of lions on the grasses, or the bushes to find a rhino, or even into the hills to spot leopards - all of road. Khimbini was a knowledgeable guide and Norman, as our tracker, helped us find pretty much anything we wanted to see. It was also great to see that many reserves within Sabi Sands work together to get the best sightings for everyone.

As an added bonus, wildlife is all around back at the resort as well. One night during dinner an elephant snuck on property and another night a leopard crossed down by the banks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattzkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your safari experience at Inyati. Off-road driving ensures that you have the best possible view of any exceptional sighting.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have experienced life and wildlife above our expectations.
On command we saw every animal on our two days tours we hoped for.
Ranger Kim took a lot of time to explain the various species of animals and birds, the crossing over the River Sand was spectacular.
We much enjoyed the "tame" house-animals like Elephant, Nyala and Impala's around our cabin.
The gardenvieuw on the river was fantastic

Room Tip: To little experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margriet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Inyati Game lodge for your recent stay in the Sabi Sand Reserve!

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your safari experience with Khimbini and Roger.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne Dawkins
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The property is a simple one with limited rooms and hence very personal. The people at the lodge very extremely friendly and helpful with everything you wanted. When we visited the place was relatively low on occupancy and we got the best of it with specially cooked meals and service.

The rooms although not very fancy are large in size and very comfortable. We were in the deluxe suite category which is large enough for 4 people to stay and seems rather big for just the 2 of us. Although who is ever unhappy with more space. The rooms are well spread out and that gives you good privacy as well. The property as a whole is really nice and is not fenced to the wild and hence we had a mini safari in our lodge with impala, an elephant and many monkeys making their way in. We were told stories of lions, buffalo and leopards to being spotted on the property so be prepared for excitement even not on a game drive.

Our memories for the Inyati however were made by the efforts of the rangers who drove off road and so close to the animals which we would probably never experience anywhere. Our guide was MATT, who was speeding to get us good glimpses of the big 5 to the point that we were stuck in a small river while viewing lions. he got into the river to give us the best view possible. We also tried went up and down many places just to get a great view of a walking leopard. We went and chased a rhino for better viewing to the point the rhino ended up chasing our car for 5 Km at a speed of 30km on a safari drive which was quite unheard of with all rangers shocked at the length of the chase. We had elephants an arms lenght from the car. All these exprenience were made possible thanks to the efforts of both the ranger (MATT) and our tracker (Nelson).

Overall was really happy with the safari the stay and the people and would blindly recommend people to visit this place. you will have a great time.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms up front dont opt for the highest room category which is slightly at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samdalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InyatiGL, Marketing Manager at Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your safari experience with Matthew and Nelson.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm bushveld regards

Leighanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inyati Private Game Reserve
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
6.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
320 reviews
6.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve

Property: Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the lush banks of the Sand River, Inyati Game Lodge offers the ultimate safari experience combining diverse wildlife with authentic African hospitality. From the warm welcome you receive upon arrival, to our comfortable chalets, hearty home style cuisine and highly experienced guides, every guest departs with unforgettable memories and the imprint of Africa in their soul. #inyatisafari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing