We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic game watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic game watching”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Our stay at Inyati was great. The staff was very friendly and our tracker and guide were amazing at finding the Big Five and beyond. Afternoons of relaxing by the pool were very pleasant. Even in the quiet afternoon, staff mobilized quickly to organize an impromptu outing when a cheetah was spotted across the river. Food was excellent and variety was very good. Our room was very comfortable. Our stay at Inyati greatly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmannrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    50
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
145
175
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minty001
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Stayed for 2 night, wish I had been there for 2 weeks! Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast and high tea are great, dinner not quite so good. Rooms lovely and comfortable, only complaint was the septic tank for the loo sounds like a hippo in the middle of the night! Main reason for going is the safari and they really know what they are doing! We had Piet as our ranger and he is amazing - really knows his stuff and gets you with 2 feet of every animal - nothing gets in his way! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minty001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at the Inyati for 3 days and 2 nights. All game rides were perfectly organized, and our ranger and spotter both excelled in their jobs.
The food was good and the rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel staff also thoughtfully provided insect repellent in our room for our personal use.
We would have loved to have stayed at least one more night, but even with such a short stay, we managed to see all of the "Big Five" and more.
The next time we go back, we will try for September, when the bush is not so high.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 18 day trip to South AFrica, having already spent 2 nights at Kapama we had high expectations, but we werent dissapointed. It is an opne unfenced lodge with rangers carrying guns at night to take you to your bedroom. But benifieted from seeing 4 of the big five from our room and the lodge. ALthough the self drive of 24km on sand roads was tough when we arrived we were greeted by the staff, all native to the area. Our room was lovely situated down at the river bank next to the tree top terrace, 4 poster and mosie net, bathroom was sufficient but nothing like the luxury we had seen elsewhere. Our game drives were superb- out of this world, we had our 4x4 to ourselves for twow of our game drives and we saw everything - lions, lionesses, rhino, antelope, elephants, buffalo,giraffes, warhogs, monkeys, nile crocodiles, elephants, rock monitors, eagles, and some amazing leopards and hyenas. The highlight for us were sitting at the treetop balcony watching a 300 strong herd walking through eating from teh luch river bank 2 m from us- incredible. We also were lukcy on one two of our night game drives to see a leopard kill and hyenas eating it, whilst the leopard slunk right next to our truck. we also saw from offroad a pair of ears - after off roading to get to teh mound we foudn a female leopard sitting observinga pack of nyala, after some time she lept off the mound and killed a monegoose in front of us. we saw teh female pride, up close and personal, and tracking the same ground as Branson's lodge we felt privaledge to no being paying those extortionate prices when we were seeing the same game. an amazing place for a real authentic safari experience, with only 10 rooms its feels very intimate, a lovely swimming pool which you get to enjoy the warthogs playing from, and a great bouma for eating and great rangers and guides. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madagascan_butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We visited in September as part of a 3 week trip to Southern Africa and our 4 days here were far and away the highlight of what was a memorable experience.
From all the reviews on here and the recommendations from our travel agent, we expected it to be good - it was far more than that! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and within an hour or so were out on the first of 8 game drives with Keith and Norman our tracker. Keith who manages the Lodge with his his wife was so knowledgeable and informative. His enthusiasm and passion for all that he does was incomparable. His contribution to the enjoyment of our stay was immense. The walking safari's gave a totally different insight into the bush and were as authentic as it gets! During evening game drives we stopped for 'Sundowners' and to look at the night sky. Keith's knowledge and was humbling.
If you are still thinking about which Game Lodge to go to, stop just thinking and book Inyati now - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The lodge is ideally situated in the Sabi Sands game reserve. We went of a 3 day package. The game watching is magnificent but we were very disappointed with the quality of the food. You only really get 2 meals a day a high tee and dinner. Difficult to get drinks at the pool. However the game watching and rangers make up for the low quality of the food. If you want a quality game safari experience at a reasonable price then this lodge is for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We love this place. The situation is perfect, you could look out at a wonderful backdrop and watch all the game from the breakfast patio and not leave on a gamedrive at all......almost. The rangers and drivers are great knowledgable guides in the wild. We're going back again in March and saving it till the end of our holiday because it's saving the best to last.
The food is excellent and the staff go that extra yard for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inyati Private Game Reserve
0.8 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
13.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
826 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
6.4 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve

Property: Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Inyati Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Inyati Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the lush banks of the Sand River, Inyati Game Lodge offers the ultimate safari experience combining diverse wildlife with authentic African hospitality. From the warm welcome you receive upon arrival, to our comfortable chalets, hearty home style cuisine and highly experienced guides, every guest departs with unforgettable memories and the imprint of Africa in their soul. #inyatisafari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inyati Game Hotel Inyati Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing