We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start with a leopard everyday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Start with a leopard everyday”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just returned from a trip to Leopard Hills combined with the associated Desroches Island in the Seychelles. The facilities and staff are amazing in professionalism and attitude. Everything about our time at the "Camp" was perfect. The number of sightings and closeness of the encounters was more intense than we would have believed. The food, intimacy of the setting and getting to know the few other guests were all a wonderful addition to the drives. Within 10 minutes of checking in there was a baboon on our deck drinking from our plunge pool. We sighted a leopard everyday and saw all big 5 in the first 2 days. I get the feeling this is a pretty common experience for the guests. In addition, the organization in terms of setting up the trip itinerary with Seasons Africa, thanks Michelle, were handled without a hitch. I highly recommend Leopard Hills for anyone who wants an active and intimate Safari.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daly21014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing and recommending Leopard Hills, we very much appreciate you taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
163
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our experience at Leopard Hills was fantastic. We saw tons of animals- all of the big five sighted within the first day! Our guide and tracker were both very experienced and knowledgeable and made our game drives special. The staff was personal and welcoming. Every meal was delicious. Our room was immaculate and beyond our expectations. Couldn't have had a better, more luxurious safari.

Room Tip: Room 5 was great- we saw many animals right outside our windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for the review, and very pleased you liked Suite 5, it is one of the animals favorite drinking spots.

Hope to see you back with us not too long from now.

Regards

The Leopard Hills Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just had our fourth amazing stay at this wonderful place. All the rooms have been updated since our last stay and look even better then they did before. They are extremely comfortable and contain everything you could want on a safari holiday. The warmth and genuine hospitality of LH is unmatched in our experience anywhere and each and every staff member contributes to ensure that your stay is superb. The game drives elevate the stay to even greater heights and the total package provides the kind of experience that makes you want to return time and time again. There are other lodges in the vicinity but we don't know how LH could be bettered, we can't wait to return to the most rejuvenating place we know. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 4 of the 8 rooms, all are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you Ross for the kind words, always great having you with us. looking forward to the next visit.

Thank you for the delicious wine.

The Leopard Hills Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I don't know if our experience was affected by the inexperience of our guide or two of the other patrons on our game drives.I feel the game drives and the animal sightings not as good as the previous camp we stayed at. The hospitality seemed forced,and the attention to detail for a luxury accommodation was lacking. Over all it was ok,but I would try another camp next time.
Bill Damm

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Leopard Hills, we always appreciate input. I am a little surprised at your comment on "inexperience" of your Ranger, as he is highly qualified, and has always been highly thought of by our Guests.

Very sorry we will not be seeing you back with us at Leopard Hills as I would love to be able to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Leopard Hills. We stayed four nights and wish we could have stayed five or six. We were greeted on arrival with a welcome drink and friendly smiles. Since we arrived late in the afternoon, we went right up to lunch so we could make the afternoon drive. The restaurant has an amazing view out into the wild and a waterhole. While we were at lunch the bags were delivered to our room, and what a surprise it was to find a baseball cap, visor and reusable bag as a gift for you to take on your safaris. The rooms/cottages are very spacious, they come complete with private plunge pool, indoor and outdoor shower, full bathtub, sitting area, and a well-stocked minibar. There’s nothing like relaxing and reading a book between game drives watching the Nyala’s eating on the grass right next to you. There is no fence around the property so you never know what you may see walking from your room to the restaurant.

We had Hugo for our game drives and he was great. He really tried to make sure every guest saw what they wanted and enjoyed themselves, and was very knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately for us, we had to share a jeep (the first two nights) with some rude guests who seemed to think you should talk loudly throughout the entire game drive, every game drive. The head ranger was very sympathetic did offer for us to switch jeeps after our first game drive, but we liked Hugo so we toughed with out and stayed (just made sure we were not in the middle row). So glad we did, after they were gone, Hugo more than made up for our frustrations. We were there to see leopards and that is what we saw on the rest of our game drives (even staying out a little later on a couple so we could see them), one morning included a male leopard kill. In addition to the leopards, the lion cubs were adorable, and we saw the big five, wild dogs and then some. The nice thing is they work with the other lodges in the area and radio around when an animal is spotted. The other nice thing is that you can only have two or three vehicles around an animal at a time, which is nice.

For the early morning game drives they wake you up in time to meet for coffee, tea and snacks in the restaurant before heading out. In the afternoon, you can meet ahead of time for drinks. They do a coffee stop in the morning half way through the drive, and then sun-downers in the evening. The blankets and hot water-bottle were a wonderful touch on the chilly mornings. For dinner, you sit with your guide and the people who were with you in the jeep.

The staff is amazing at this place. Remembering your names, going out of their way to make sure you didn’t need anything and if you did they brought it right away, they did laundry for us in one night because we were leaving the next day and they wanted to make sure we had it in plenty of time to pack.

We already miss Leopard Hills and the people who make this place special. I do hope to get there again, and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Leopard Hills stole our hearts! From the very first moment after we were greeted at the airstrip by Hugo our Ranger through to when he dropped us off again at the end of our stay, the level of service was nothing short of superb!
Our private villa was amazing with a fantastic view. Beautiful bathroom and indoor/ outdoor shower and our own plunge pool which was perfect in the heat of the day.
Everyone of the staff greeted us by name and with big friendly smiles like we were old friends.
Hugo , our Ranger and Eric our Tracker were the best. Hugo was very passionate and enthusiastic about the animals with great knowledge on all of the ones we encountered. Eric had eyes like a hawk and spotted things that seemed totally impossible for anyone else to see and kept us entertained with his stories as well as his "special" coffee - which I have to try and replicate!
The massage at the spa was fantastic (thanks Bridget!) and the food absolutely delicious at every meal.
Not being a morning person, I never thought I would like the early morning starts but the animals we saw were breathtaking and made it worthwhile. We even saw all of the big five in one day! The lion cubs were particularly memorable. Hugo made a point of asking what we wanted to see that day and usually managed to come up trumps.
Absolutely wonderful experience, attention to detail and personalised service amazing. Loved the bedtime stories and weather report left in our room every evening. Leopard Hills really did steal our hearts and we felt like we had been a part if it for longer than the four days we did stay. We will be back, I know it. I cannot recommend this lodge highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was one of the closest to the main lodge, next to the gym. Had a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Arriving from Nelspruit on 1st August we were greeted with one of the biggest smiles I have seen - meet Steve with a glass of hot amarula,(he was to look after our eating and refreshment needs throughout our stay) it was quite chilly at the time so the hot Amarula was welcome, we were just too late for the evening game drive thanks to our tour company getting all the pickup times wrong but were immediately asked if we would like to catch it for the late afternoon drive, we declined because we had been travelling a long time and just wanted to relax for the evening. The bags were in our room before you could blink and we were shown up and advised that we would get a call at 05:30 next morning for the game drive. the room, I have to say was spectacular (room 8) but we checked out some of the other rooms while we were there and they are all of a superb quality (ask for an elevated room if you wish to overlook the nearby watering hole). Next morning, in the bar we were greeted by our Ranger Jehanne, he could not get our tea and coffee quick enough and we were to learn throughout our stay that his knowledge of all things wild and bushlike is extraordinary!!! Our tracker Ronnie has eyes like the radar on Air Force one, didn't miss a thing in 7 days. The game drives - well if you haven't done one before, you just have to be there, all the rangers from different lodges work together on the radio so you miss nothing and those jeeps get into some funny places believe me. WE WILL RETURN TO LEOPARD HILLS without a doubt, it is now like our bush home from home.

Room Tip: Room 8 is awesome but unless you dislike heights, any elevated room is good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbagginz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
18.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
15.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
7.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Property: Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Hills Hotel Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing