We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Leopard Hills exceeded all of our expectations from check in until departure. The location is quite stunning and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Game drives with Jehanne and Ronnie were not only educational but great fun too, their ability to find all the big game was quite remarkable and we felt privileged to have witnessed wonderful wildlife at very close quarters. Sam and the team in the bar/restaurant were great fun whilst Stewart created mouth watering treats at every meal time. In short a welcoming home from home which we look forward to visiting again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT_CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
159
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went to Leopard Hills for 4 days 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in SA. It was by far the highlight of our trip. The attention to detail was amazing, as was every single member of staff - from the people that met us, to the restaurant and bar staff, nothing was too much. Small details like leaving notes on the bed and giving cocktails/hand towels when we got back from our morning game drive, all went to making the service outstanding. We have been on a few safaris before (Kenya, Botswana, Zimbabwe), but never seen so many big cats up so close in such a short space of time. The knowledge of Heinrich our ranger was superb. We cannot recommend Leopard Hills highly enough and intend to go back there for as many wedding anniversaries as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this fabulous lodge and we had a fantastic stay there.
Everybody has been so nice with us and we did really enjoy the game drives as well as the walk we had in the bush with our ranger Jehanne. I had a safari in Kenya (Masai Mara) several years ago and preferred, by far, the way the game drives were organized at Leopard Hills. There is no comparison, that has been a real adventure every day as we were searching for the animals in the bush and never knew what will happen next... All game drives have been different and much more pleasant than the drives we experienced in Masai Mara. Our ranger Jehanne has been really great, he showed us plenty of animals and taught us so many things including photography tips - He is definitely an expert in that domain too...! We of course saw the big 5 but he managed to find lots of unexpected animals including a scorpion, which he brought us in his hand to explain us everything about scorpions... We did like it a lot because he kept the scorpion in his hands... ;-) (I have attached some pictures). Jehanne loves his job so much, he is so enthusiast and likes to share with people. You can only have great time with him and Ronny (our tracker), who has been able to spot animals at night that nobody could see...
Otherwise the room was great and the service has been outstanding. Duncan, the lodge manager has been extremely nice and, last but not least, congratulation to Stewart (the Chef) for his fantastic food and kindness. I am having a life threatening allergy and Stewart went the extra mile every day to take care of me. He did check everything, all the time, and I felt extremely safe in his hands. We had fantastic meals every day and the braai has been so good!! We did appreciate every moment at Leopard Hills and we thank you all again so much!! We are definitely looking forward to spending more time with you all again soon, most probably next year or the year after and I will make sure I don't sprain my ankle next time...!! ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe-Bauvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this article, we very much appreciate it. We sincerely look forward to having you back with us at Leopard Hills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

stayed for five nights as part of our honey moon. We had the luxury of bring driven around by two different rangers - Raymond and Henric, both had a wealth of knowledge. The overall service was simply superb, we felt very spoilt. All the staff from the service staff to the managers were very welcoming. Would recommend trying a bottle of wine from the cellar and a treatment from the spa.

We went on two drives each day, the morning is an early 5am wake up call,but it all pays off - plus you have the delicious homemade muffins to look forward to,and hot chocolate!

We were very lucky to see the big 7, each drive delivered its own excitement and adventure. For me my most memorable moment would be seeing the elephants from our balcony. Overall an wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuildfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experiences at Leopard Hills, we hope to see you back with us in the bush in the not too distant future.

Regards

The Leopard Hills Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

What an amazing place to stay! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our ranger, Jehanne was very knowledgeable and I learnt so much from him including photography tips. I cant explain the emotions I felt when I first saw the lions, it has been a childhood dream to see Lions in the wild and Leopard Hills made it possible!

There were many highlights (apart from the lions) but the two that stood out were seeing a 2 week old Leopard cub and a one month old Rhino. So cute.

We also had an extra special visit from some Ellies who came to drink from our plunge pool - it was amazing. We were so happy we had witnessed this that we told everyone at Leopards hill and on our last day Jehanne our ranger asked if the lodge could use the photos! What an honour to be asked. They have since published the photos on their facebook page.
I feel like I made so many friends as you get to know everyone so well considering the short time you are there.
My husband and I now have a strong attachment to Africa. There were only 2 downsides - 1 The poem they leave you on your last night makes you cry and 2. you have to leave!
We hope to be back really soon. Thank you Leopard Hills for making it such a special experience.x

PS - I still never saw a Pangolin so I have to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which is the room the Ellies visited. Warthogs and Nyalas also popped round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for the posting, and thank you for the amazing photo you took of the Bull Elephant drinking out of your pool, what a great shot.

Take Care until the next time.

The Leopard Hills Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just returned from a trip to Leopard Hills combined with the associated Desroches Island in the Seychelles. The facilities and staff are amazing in professionalism and attitude. Everything about our time at the "Camp" was perfect. The number of sightings and closeness of the encounters was more intense than we would have believed. The food, intimacy of the setting and getting to know the few other guests were all a wonderful addition to the drives. Within 10 minutes of checking in there was a baboon on our deck drinking from our plunge pool. We sighted a leopard everyday and saw all big 5 in the first 2 days. I get the feeling this is a pretty common experience for the guests. In addition, the organization in terms of setting up the trip itinerary with Seasons Africa, thanks Michelle, were handled without a hitch. I highly recommend Leopard Hills for anyone who wants an active and intimate Safari.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daly21014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing and recommending Leopard Hills, we very much appreciate you taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our experience at Leopard Hills was fantastic. We saw tons of animals- all of the big five sighted within the first day! Our guide and tracker were both very experienced and knowledgeable and made our game drives special. The staff was personal and welcoming. Every meal was delicious. Our room was immaculate and beyond our expectations. Couldn't have had a better, more luxurious safari.

Room Tip: Room 5 was great- we saw many animals right outside our windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for the review, and very pleased you liked Suite 5, it is one of the animals favorite drinking spots.

Hope to see you back with us not too long from now.

Regards

The Leopard Hills Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
8.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
12.5 mi away
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reser...
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Property: Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopard Hills Hotel Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing