We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed here on our Honeymoon, everyone was very courteous and helpful, loved it here!”
Review of West Winds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Winds Lodge
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We stayed here on our Honeymoon, everyone was very courteous and helpful, loved it here!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great service, comfortable rooms and beautiful views. We plan to return. We stayed in the two bed with a kitchen cabin. Pet friendly is a plus! The owners were very accommodating and the cleaning service lady was very nice. Love love loved it here!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    16
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
43
29
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at West Winds many times. The owners, Tony and Vicky, do everything they can to provide excellent service and a friendly atmosphere. We've rented condos when family and friends join us and lodge rooms when we are by ourselves. We've been very pleased with all of our accommodations. The rooms are clean, the price is reasonable, and it is in easy walking distance to downtown stores. We highly recommend West Winds Lodge and Condos!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marklisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We get down to Ruidoso each year to go to the races at Ruidoso Downs. West Winds is a very nice place on a quiet street with lush landscaping along the borders to give you the feeling that you are almost in the woods. The motel is well maintained and clean. We often stay in the room with two queens and a small kitchenette. The later comes in handy for that late evening beer out on the small patio. The beds are a bit soft so stay in the room with the two queens. The owners are always pleasant and helpful.. You always get a kind welcome. We will definitely stay here again. A big bonus are the reasonable prices and easy to use website.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 12 and 14 which are roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here the weekend of my nieces wedding. It was a really great stay. This place is not perfect. It is old, but the owners have kept it looming good and clean. Tbe paint jobs aren't perfect, some of tbe cosmetic things are not perfect, but the owner and the location and all the necessities that are provided, are almost perfect. My family and I will be back. Aside from the over the top friendly service, it is clean, and well loved. If you are looking at reviews and aren't sure, you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherrief333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We all loved this place and will definetly come back again. There was eleven of us and we stayed in the three story condo. It was fantastic. room for all of us and very clean and comfortable. Theresa was great with us all and was there for any and all our needs. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: There are condos for different situations and family or group sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nestled in the tall pines we have stayed here several times over the past few years.....Every trip made to Ruidodo we stay here. The staff is so friendly and love the rooms also. Just a short walk into Midtown and the lodge has a porch swing outside the rooms to relax. After a day of gambling or shopping they have a wonderful pool and hot tub! Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisamR6558LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

West Wind Lodge is the best place to stay in Ruidoso. Quiet, clean and yet walking distance to everything. Great indoor pool and the owners treat everyone like family. I've been staying here every summer for the last 10 years and I hope I can stay here 10 more. You will love it !!!!! Thanks, Joel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
1.6 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Winds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Winds Lodge

Property: West Winds Lodge
Address: 208 N Eagle Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Winds Lodge in Ruidoso... we're nestled on a quiet ridge in Ruidoso's cool pines, The West Winds Lodge and Condos offers the perfect overnight, weekend or Ruidoso vacation get-a-way. We offer accommodations for every budget from standard lodge rooms to three story condominiums and everything in between. And all are situated in the same quiet, central location, a short walk to Midtown, the center of Ruidoso's tourist district with its restaurants, shops, galleries and nightlife.Come stay in Ruidoso with us... and enjoy a true Ruidoso experience. And with our indoor heated pool and "Star-view" hot tub, we offer comfort and amenities not available at your typical chain hotel. Our Ruidoso Cabin rooms are a guest favorite. We provide a great starting point from which to venture out and enjoy all that our four-season paradise offers the traveler.We are proud to be family owned... and look forward to hosting your family! Our property is a Ruidoso Lodge Classic... a throwback to Ruidoso of yesterday while completely modernized for your comfort and convenience. Ready for your next Ruidoso Vacation Get-a-way?... try us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Winds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Winds Hotel Ruidoso
West Winds Lodge Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing