We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot in Ruidoso!!!”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My dear hubby and I decided to stop here on our way back to Texas. We stayed two nights in cabin 3. What a joy!!! From check in...to check out, this spot was next to heaven! The room was super clean and cozy. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. The kitchen was stocked with utensils which made it wonderful to be able to enjoy cooking in our cabin. The porch and porch swing were cozy in the am.. for drinking coffee and in the evening for sharing a glass of wine and a good book. We hope to return next year. We give this spot an A PLUS! The owners have thought of everything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed in the Trout cabin on a long weekend get-a-way last November. I have been missing it since. It was clean, romantic and cozy. I will definatly be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannonNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed in cabin 16 and we absolutely loved it. Very roomy, cormfortable cabin. The hosts were helpful with any questions or requests we had. The only downfall the this cabin was the driveway is on a pretty good slope. Bad for me due to the heavy snowfall they received before we got there. Had to used snow chains to get up the driveway. They had plenty of dry firewood to burn in the fireplace which was very nice. When we come back, it will be HERE! Lots of deer around... Also no internet in this cabin.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rm328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. Will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forgetcattlebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Stayed in cabin #8. Was concerned with being right on the road at first when we pulled up but after we opened the door of this exceptionally clean and cozy cabin we fell in love with it. The noise from the road was not a big deal after all. The only time you might hear it is if you are a late and light sleeper. Great king size bed with comfy linens and great bath/shower. We loved the porch and sitting in the mornings with our coffee and at night with our wine. Mule deer everywhere, being from Texas deer are not usually a treat to see but we did enjoy the Mule deer. Would stay there again and hated to leave! Short drive to everything downtown but too far to walk unless you are athletic (at least a couple of miles) and enjoy walking on a busy road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We just got back from a 7 night stay in the Elk # 6, and wish we would have stayed even longer. I researched cabins on the internet all over Ruidoso before picking stroybook, and was really glad we decided on them. The office staff was always helpfull with information and very friendly , even had a chance to talk to one of the maintance guys and was also friendly. The cabins were very clean, and the location was awesome , in the upper canyon with all the hugh trees, the parking was right in front of the cabin which was very nice, and its just up from the roadway but their was never any noise from the road that we were bothered by, the only time you heard the cars is if you were out on the porch,which was very nice with the hammock , which I used very much, we also used the jacuzzi every other night which was great and relazing, we loved the way the cabin was decorated and laid out, the bed was really cool the way it was done. After staying that long it was hard to leave, it was like leaving a home you love. The cabins are really close to everything, the casinos and shopping .It was nice to set out on the porch and watch the deer come right by you.Every time we go back we will be staying at the storybook cabins. Other folks that we talked to their that were staying a few days also really liked them and hated to leave. Thanks for a great stay and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LakePatrol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

After 70 days of 100 degree plus weather, my husband and I had to get a break from the heat. The cabin was just great. The only downside to visiting with these folks is that at check in, they can be a little off- putting with their rules... all of which are essential, but they could work a little harder on the presentation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speaks_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
238 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.8 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#29 of 42 in Ruidoso
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range: £92 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Story Book Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing