We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and cozy”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic and cozy”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I hate to give a great review because I know it's going to get harder and harder to get a reservation....but I have to tell the truth and the truth is, Story Book Cabins is absolutely awesome! We felt secluded from the world even though other cabins are close by. Love the fireplace and it came in handy with the beautiful snowfall we had. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen complete with everything we needed (but heck, I was on vacation so I didn't cook!), and the only negative was that there was no heater in the bathroom and it got pretty cold. We fed the deer and chatted with the caretaker who was so helpful and friendly....all the locals we met in Ruidoso were friendly people! We plan on coming back next Summer because we're told there are no mosquitoes in Ruidoso in the Summer and average temps are in the 80s!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I rented a cabin as a late Valentines gift to my country side New Yorker wife. Needless to say she was so happy about it when I reserved it she ran into the bathroom door trying to thank me.

I'm pretty "city" when it comes to it, so starting a fire in the fireplace was......fun. the snow was lite on ground and the air had a slight cool chill. We have fresh stacked firewood on the side, propane tanks outside, a cozy front porch, and our cabin always seem to be warm even though the heaters in the rooms are off.

The area is nice if you are the type to value the scenery. Deer walk all around the cabins and will even eat from your hand. There is a warning on the wall about not feeding the bears.......haven't seen any yet. Town is a nice normal compared to where we live.....further down 160 miles away at the edge of Texas. I did inform the office we had no grill (we "aquired" one later) and that there was a small hole in a wall in one of the bedrooms. Rooms were pretty tight, beds were stiff, and shower had very little pressure. That being said, they provide all kitchen ware you need, blankets and towels, hair dryer, iron, even grilling tools. They just ask you to clean the dishes you use. Fair enough.

We were running late to get keys so I called and the office understood. They left a envelope with my name on the screen door which was sealed with our cabin keys, map, and a letter of "sorry we missed you".

We leave in the morning (check out @11) and I am cooking steak, eggs, and cinna rolls before we head out. Good place, wish it was closer. Would like the cabins spaced out more but still awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armyjay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is one of our favorite places to stay in Ruidoso. Cabin 3 in particular. It is located toward the back of the cabins so we get to see a lot of the wildlife. It is quiet and restful, but not too far from shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed in cabin 10 Jan. 19-21. There were 2 families, 4 adults and 3 kids. Plenty enough room for all of us. Each family had their own bathroom. We had breakfast there each morning, and the guys grilled for us one evening after skiing which worked out for them since they were able to watch a playoff game. Close to the little gift shop street in town. Perfect location! Had a problem with the lock, and while we were gone skiing someone came and installed a new one. Watch out for the HUGE Elk that lives in empty lot next to cabin. He must weigh 500-600 lbs. Beautiful creature. Lots of deer, and wild turkeys also. Took a walk down the trail in the snow ... so quiet and peaceful! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We love to travel to Ruidoso. We have gone several times this year to offer support to the businesses recovering from this summers forest fires. Glad to report they are recovering and have had much needed rain.

For the past 5+ years we have stayed at the Sherwood Forest cabins but did not have a good time earlier this year there so we were excited to try somewhere new. They are on the same road just a few blocks apart.

We stayed in the Papa Bear cabin because we brought grandma and grandpa and so we needed room for 8. It's a fantastic cabin that has 6 braderoms and two full baths. Each room has a full size bed. Full size kitchen with basic necessities. The best part is a huge 20x20 covered porch! We loved it and enjoyed watching dear, birds, and even a bear one morning while soaking up the cool mountain air.

It's not a luxury cabin. No hot tub, looks like a swamp cooler only for hot weather, and close spacing to other units. That being said we came back rested and completely enjoyed the stay. Staff was super! Nice, personable, kid friendly, and helpful. Email receipt came instantly and late check in was a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6inaSuburban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed in a Story Book Cabin for our 25th anniversary and it certainly lived up to its high reputation. The cabin was well built, sweetly decorated, and filled with convenient amenities. I am more of a "get away from it all" type person, and all the cabins in Ruidoso are pretty closely spaced, filling every available nook and cranny of the area. That is a drawback to the area, not of Story Book itself. If that kind of setting is what you are looking for, then these cabins would be the best of the bunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We recently stayed in cabin #4 at the Storybook cabins. The cabins provided the perfect quiet sanctuary for our family. It was located in the upper canyon in a nestle of pine trees. The cabin was very clean and all the essentials of a hotel (including extra towels for the hot tub). It is behind the office and next to a service area but really made it very convenient to get unlimited wood from the wood shed (other places may charge, Storybook did not). The proprietors were very welcoming and accommodating.

This cabin included a private hot tub which was perfect for 2 people unwinding after a long day of skiing. The beds were the very best that I have ever experienced in a rental/hotel. Kudos on that attention to detail!! We will definitely choose Storybook Cabins to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tractx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.8 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#27 of 37 in Ruidoso
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Property: Story Book Cabins
Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Story Book Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing