We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Ruidoso.”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Denver City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Ruidoso.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family and I (wife, 5 yr old son, 9 yr old daughter) stay at Story Book Cabins every time we go to Ruidoso, usually once or twice a year. The cabins are comfortable, clean and rustic. The ones we have stayed in have wifi and wood burning fireplaces. The cabins are all located in the upper canyon, which is a few minutes' drive from the downtown shopping area and restaurants. I highly recommend Story Book Cabins for a nice place to relax and rest.

Room Tip: I haven't found a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APwesttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolmountain, Owner at Story Book Cabins, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Good to hear from you. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levelland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

AWESOME! BEAUTIFUL! I really wish I could put into words how much we love this place! The porch is the best thing! Wildlife is amazing, had deer come up to us daily. Comfy beds, full kitchen, PERFECT!

Room Tip: This was perfect! The only downside is the water pressure, everything else is perfect! Will be going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdscott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolmountain, Owner at Story Book Cabins, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
You are absolutely correct. This is the best porch to sit out on & enjoy the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We made a family trip to Ruidoso and stayed at Story Book Cabins. We had # 3, # 5, #8, and # 10. Number 10 was for a couple and two children. The cabin was very spacious. Had a large table in the kitchen and then a smaller table for four in the large living area. The beds were very comfortable. Had a grassy yard area which was perfect for the kids to play. The other three cabins were just as nice, just not as large. Number 8 was the largest of the three, but there was plenty room in all three. Very quite at night. The owners do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. This is our second time to stay here and certainly looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: All cabins are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolmountain, Owner at Story Book Cabins, responded to this review, 19 January 2015
Thank you for your review of our Cabins. Please come back for another visit. (reserve early)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Deer, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The cabin was very nice, and everything was there. My wife and I really enjoyed the decor. The only downfall was that the wireless internet would not work at our cabin. I could walk closer to the main office and pick up a signal, but it would not stay connected inside the cabin. We were in the area looking at real estate, and it would have been very helpful to have access to the internet to do some comparison shopping. The only other issue was that the back porch to our cabin looked out over the main street through the area. Not a big deal, but not the most private spot nor the most scenic view.

Other than these minor things, our stay was quite nice. We will definitely consider these cabins again on our next trip to Ruidoso.

JBM

Room Tip: Select a cabin that is not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The cabin was excellent, the staff was professional and helpful and the surroundings were awesome. Very quiet, well maintained and furnished, it was a great get away. Story Book Cabins is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We atayed three nights. For the first two days, the shower didn't work. It took two trips to the office to get it fixed. The floor in this cabin was very uneven/unlevel, making it "interesting" to try and navigate across it at night. There are much better places to stay while in Ruidoso. Don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Shop around. There are much better places to stay while in Ruidoso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolmountain, Owner at Story Book Cabins, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for stopping by the office so that we could make that repair. We make every effort to have everything operating correctly before a guest visit and once in a while something catches us by surprise. Our intention is to correct the problem as soon as possible with the least inconvenience for our guest. We are not sure of the floor problem and we do provide lighting thru out the cabin for movement after dark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Story Book Cabins will definitely be our first choice when looking for places to stay in Ruidoso. The cabins are comfortable and the management is very hospitable. Loved the shelf of books in the cabin. I managed to read an entire book during our stay and loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.8 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#27 of 37 in Ruidoso
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Property: Story Book Cabins
Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Story Book Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing