We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay in these Awesome cabins”
Review of Story Book Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Story Book Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You have to stay in these Awesome cabins”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We just got back from a 7 night stay in the Elk # 6, and wish we would have stayed even longer. I researched cabins on the internet all over Ruidoso before picking stroybook, and was really glad we decided on them. The office staff was always helpfull with information and very friendly , even had a chance to talk to one of the maintance guys and was also friendly. The cabins were very clean, and the location was awesome , in the upper canyon with all the hugh trees, the parking was right in front of the cabin which was very nice, and its just up from the roadway but their was never any noise from the road that we were bothered by, the only time you heard the cars is if you were out on the porch,which was very nice with the hammock , which I used very much, we also used the jacuzzi every other night which was great and relazing, we loved the way the cabin was decorated and laid out, the bed was really cool the way it was done. After staying that long it was hard to leave, it was like leaving a home you love. The cabins are really close to everything, the casinos and shopping .It was nice to set out on the porch and watch the deer come right by you.Every time we go back we will be staying at the storybook cabins. Other folks that we talked to their that were staying a few days also really liked them and hated to leave. Thanks for a great stay and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakePatrol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    14
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

After 70 days of 100 degree plus weather, my husband and I had to get a break from the heat. The cabin was just great. The only downside to visiting with these folks is that at check in, they can be a little off- putting with their rules... all of which are essential, but they could work a little harder on the presentation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speaks_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

This is a terrific place to spend a couple of nights or a couple of weeks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was clean and neat and well laid out. You can't ask for a more relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABQ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We loved this cabin so much, we want to go back really soon. We rented Cabin 28 (Sierra Vista) it is a 3 bedroom with 2 bath with full kitchen, out door grille and satelite TV. This paticular cabin also has an amazing view of the canyon. The cabin was extremely clean and had everything we needed. The staff were VERY understanding of our schedule and accomodated our needs. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay & next time we plan to stay much longer. 10 minute drive to the Inn of the Mountain Gods Casino & golfing. Plenty of restaurants near by especially "Can't Stop Smoking BBQ"

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LADYgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed in Cabin # 11, Creekside this past week for our anniversary. It was absolutely beautiful & romantic. The back deck overlooks the Ruidoso river & the Jacuzzi tub was awesome. Located in the Upper Canyon. We spent a lot of time researching cabins & were so pleased with our selection! Definately a perfect location for a honeymoon, anniversary or just a nice relaxing escape! Storybook cabins had thought of all amentities, provided privacy & we definately will be back!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Four friends booked a 3 bedroom cabin at Story Book Cabins for a tennis weekend in Ruidoso. We had one of the private cabins that they manage. It was called Aspen House. It had 3 bedrooms, 2 with King sized bed and 1 bedroom with 2 beds. There were 2 bathrooms, a lovely living room, dining room that would seat 10, and a nice, roomy deck. The cabin was immaculate! It had everything we needed for the weekend. It even had a washer and dryer in the upstairs bath. The beds were comfortable with nice linens. The kitchen had all the basics, with new appliances. The cabin was in Upper Canyon, on Perk Dr. It was very quiet and peaceful. We had deer just outside our deck every morning. I found management to be very helpful and professional from start to finish. We did not go in any of the other cabins that were on their property; however, while driving through to the office, we saw many of them from the outside and they looked like they were very well maintained. Some of them were on the main road so there might be some road noise. Many had swings or hammock chairs on their porches. Just FYI- The parking for our cabin was on a steep incline and there were stairs to get to the cabin. The only thing that could have improved our stay was a nice swing or more comfortable lounge chairs on the deck. Really, everything was wonderful. I would definitely book here again.

  • Liked — the location of the cabin, the cleanliness and the deck
  • Disliked — the parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

THIS cabin is not as advertised on their website.
Cabin # 8 as well as others are not secluded;....located next to a busy road with loud road noise.The parking is very crowded and not next to the cabin as advertised.There is no jacuzzi as advertised and the bathroom is very small with no space for personal items.
The shower-head is very difficult to adust, especially for short guests.
Also there is a sewer odor outside; have to keep windows closed. But the traffic noise makes one keep the windows closed anyway.
The no pet policy s not enforced as the guests in the cabin next door have a large dog. Makes one wonder if fleas are in this cabin.
The only wildlife we have seen in five days are birds.
On the positive side: clean towels are brought every 2 days; however, we have been here 5 days and the sheets have not been changed. The movie selections for the DVD are okay and the room is very clean. The internet connection works but there is no table for my laptop other than the dining table, which is inconvient.
We rented the cabin for 7 days , paid in advance. Have been here 5 days and must stay 2 more as they required payment in advance....
The problems are not worth the $150 per night.Stay else where.
Storybook cabns are not as advertised, especially with the road noise, car/truck fumes throughout the day. Very disappointed.

t

  • Liked — cabin cleanliness
  • Disliked — traffic noise & location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank marquisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#25 of 41 in Ruidoso
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whispering Pine Cabins
Whispering Pine Cabins
#3 of 41 in Ruidoso
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Book Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Book Cabins

Property: Story Book Cabins
Address: 410 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ruidoso, New Mexico, Story Book Cabins offers upscale rustic knotty pine rental cabins and vacation rental homes nestled amid the tall trees. A great setting for family fun, romantic getaway or honeymoon. Just minutes from the restaurants, shops and art galleries of Ruidoso's midtown area, yet away from it all in Historic Upper Canyon. It's easy to relax among the cool mountain pines. Whether for a weekend or a week, you'll want to return time and again to the magic of Story Book Cabins. Each Ruidoso rental cabin is unique in both design and details. Choice amenities such as a full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, hot tub, cable TV with DVD, and Wi-Fi are available. Combined with tasteful artwork and creative log furnishings, a comfortable and memorable living space is yours to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Story Book Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Story Book Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing