We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and outdated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dan Dee Cabins Resort
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed there this weekend and it's in a wonderful location but as soon as you walked in an odor of what smelled like urine filled the cabin. The carpet was dirty. The toilet seat was slanted. The bedrooms were extremely small. They had odor users everywhere which looked sloppy. Our heater didn't work the first night so my family froze. It was just very uncomfortable and dirty. Oh yeah and all of the cabins are double wide trailers. But the staff was nice and it was nice to see deer. Unfortunately not going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlmendez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Problems sometimes arise, and we do our best to respond as quickly as possible. We had a repairman here shortly after the guests informed us of the heater malfunction. There was no need for the family to freeze, however, as the cabin has a wood burning fireplace and we provide the firewood. These guests did not complain about an odor while they were here, and no one staying just before or after them mentioned it. Like most homes these days, we do have air fresheners in all of our cabins. Our carpets are cleaned at least twice a year, more often as needed. The carpet in this cabin had been cleaned less than two weeks prior to the arrival of these guests. If they had reported a problem with the toilet seat, we would have replaced it immediately. All of our cabins are built on site, and are not "double-wide wide trailers". We worked very closely with these folks through multiple changes in their reservation and their special needs. We are truly disappointed that they were not happy and sure do wish they would have discussed their concerns with us in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Place is very clean! They provide fire wood for free! Cabins are spaced out perfectly. Comfy and cozy!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairet1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We've actually stayed at the Dan Dee Cabins numerous times over the past few years and there is a reason we keep going back. If you are looking for a luxoury resort with a spa and room service and every day maid service, try one of the hotels in town. But if you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a cozy cabin in the woods and among nature, then I recommend the Dan Dee Cabins. We have staying in the Snapdragon, Rosebud, and Pair Tree Cabins. They are all comfortable and nice, but Pair Tree is our favorite. Snapdragon and Rosebud are right in front for easy access and you can see/hear the horse-drawn sleighs go by at night in the winter (my kids love watching them). Pair Tree is in the very back of the property and it is secluded and quiet, and the deer like to hang out right outside the door. The Dan Dee Cabins are clean and comfortable, everything you need is provided (towels, bedding, pots & pans, firewood). The owners are very nice and friendly and only want to make sure you have a good stay. The rates are reasonable, and they are pet friendly. Make your reservations far in advance arounf the holidays. I absolutely will be going back again and recommend anyone looking for a quiet getaway to check them out.

Room Tip: Each cabin has it's own charm, so it is up to you what you are looking for. For couples, I defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DynaLowRider03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Our cabin was in the heart of the property where we were able to experience beautiful wildlife right on our front porch. It was peaceful, clean, and refreshing. I wish I could have stayed longer. The beds were comfy and everything we needed was supplied; i.e. dishes, pots and pans, towels, and wood for the fireplace.

The owners hospitality extended over and above our expectations. I would recommend a stay with them for honeymooners, families, or even just a get away for anyone. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finchi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Do not be fooled by the photos and glowing testimonies found on the Dan Dee
Cabins sight! We booked for two nights over the Father's Day weekend. What a mistake. We expected a sweet little cabin in the woods. We experienced a nightmare of mildew, filth, ancient, burned carpet, broken furniture, a tiny, ugly little bathroom, cheap toilet tissue, awful towels, multiple fire hazards, and a fervent desire to get out as fast as we could. We had brought groceries to prepare meals, but the cabin was just so upsetting that we stayed away and ate out. After spending only one of our two nights, we demanded, and received, a full refund. Even the full refund could not compensate us for having wasted a night at Dan Dee Cabins. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank piecederesistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

This couple called for a one night reservation for Friday only. We explained our 2 night minimum policy on weekends and they accepted and paid the first night deposit. On arrival, they explained that they had friends staying elsewhere who had gotten just one night. After explaining our policy once again, they accepted and paid for the second night, and went to the cabin. We did not see them again until Saturday morning when the woman came into the office, said they were leaving, and threatened to post negative comments on the internet if we did not refund their payment for the second night. She appeared very angry and ultimately demanded a full refund. To resolve the situation, we refunded both nights. As she walked out the door to the waiting car, she was suddenly smiling. We inspected the cabin, found no support for her complaints, did a standard clean, and rebooked it the same day. The new guests had no complaints. We were fully booked that weekend and none of our other guests left early or complained of any issues. By the way, our toilet paper is the best quilted, double ply, individually wrapped rolls that Costco has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at the DanDee cabins for a Baseball tournament, and it turned out to be the worst time of our good baseball tournament. After every game we would gather outside our cabin (Rainbow), and liek around 11pm she would come out and say you are all just to loud you need to have inside voices. She claims that other renters in her cabins were complainting that we were to loud, but it happens to be that we were occuping more than have her cabins. And the secound night she went as far as calling me on my personal cell phone and tell me to take my loud noise inside, because her renters were leaving. Terry and Kemp sound like good peopleover the phone once your there, they are NOT.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Ruidoso's Noise Ordinance requires that residents and guests alike cease all noise that might be disturbing to others by 10PM. This large group of guests would not comply despite repeated warnings. They partied outside until at least 2AM three nights in a row with drinking, loud music, loud voices, and children running around. One party (not associated with them) left a day early because of this disturbance. Three other parties of paying guests complained strongly when they checked out. One party associated with the offending group apologized and claimed they were embarassed by the inappropriate behavior and did not participate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

ruidoso is a beautiful place it's too bad the dan dee cabins just rip people off they actually are proud of the fact that their cabins are 70 years old and they smell like they are 70 years old too! they claim to be pet friendly yet when we asked for some of money back they said no due to 'pet hair' the cabins stunk, the quilts on the beds stunk, we could not even sleep in the beds. when we complained they let us select another one and when we found one that did not smell upon entering we noticed that they were hiding air fresheners behind curtains. the toilets did not flush and the water in the kitchen sink would not drain. it was disgusting. they had the nerve to tell my husband his complaints were "all in his head" we did meet one lodgeowner who said "all of the upper canyon cabins had mold and odor problems" but apparently he was smart enough to do something about it and be honest about it. 70 year old cabins!!! how about building some new ones instead of just ripping off tourists. DO NOT STAY HERE MY HUSBAND IS STILL SICK FROM IT

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redfearnchaparral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

These are the only guests in almost 10 years that complained about odor or made unsupported allegations of a mold problem. They did mention that the sell whole-house air purifiers. Nuff said?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
0.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
0.1 mi away
Canyon Cabins
Canyon Cabins
#24 of 42 in Ruidoso
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#30 of 42 in Ruidoso
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Dee Cabins Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Dee Cabins Resort

Address: 310 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88355-0844
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Dan Dee Cabins Resort Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing