We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and price right!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dan Dee Cabins Resort
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and price right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Lots of scenic pictures taken there, memories of a lifetime! Friendly management.
Gave us good advice on ice and snow. Firewood aplenty! Warm at night, lots of room
in bedroom. We had the 3 bedroom to the back of property!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldengirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have stayed at Dan Dee Cabins numerous times over the last 30 years and have never been disappointed. Always clean, neat, comfortable. The owners over the years have all been friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed there this weekend and it's in a wonderful location but as soon as you walked in an odor of what smelled like urine filled the cabin. The carpet was dirty. The toilet seat was slanted. The bedrooms were extremely small. They had odor users everywhere which looked sloppy. Our heater didn't work the first night so my family froze. It was just very uncomfortable and dirty. Oh yeah and all of the cabins are double wide trailers. But the staff was nice and it was nice to see deer. Unfortunately not going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlmendez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Problems sometimes arise, and we do our best to respond as quickly as possible. We had a repairman here shortly after the guests informed us of the heater malfunction. There was no need for the family to freeze, however, as the cabin has a wood burning fireplace and we provide the firewood. These guests did not complain about an odor while they were here, and no one staying just before or after them mentioned it. Like most homes these days, we do have air fresheners in all of our cabins. Our carpets are cleaned at least twice a year, more often as needed. The carpet in this cabin had been cleaned less than two weeks prior to the arrival of these guests. If they had reported a problem with the toilet seat, we would have replaced it immediately. All of our cabins are built on site, and are not "double-wide wide trailers". We worked very closely with these folks through multiple changes in their reservation and their special needs. We are truly disappointed that they were not happy and sure do wish they would have discussed their concerns with us in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Place is very clean! They provide fire wood for free! Cabins are spaced out perfectly. Comfy and cozy!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairet1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We've actually stayed at the Dan Dee Cabins numerous times over the past few years and there is a reason we keep going back. If you are looking for a luxoury resort with a spa and room service and every day maid service, try one of the hotels in town. But if you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a cozy cabin in the woods and among nature, then I recommend the Dan Dee Cabins. We have staying in the Snapdragon, Rosebud, and Pair Tree Cabins. They are all comfortable and nice, but Pair Tree is our favorite. Snapdragon and Rosebud are right in front for easy access and you can see/hear the horse-drawn sleighs go by at night in the winter (my kids love watching them). Pair Tree is in the very back of the property and it is secluded and quiet, and the deer like to hang out right outside the door. The Dan Dee Cabins are clean and comfortable, everything you need is provided (towels, bedding, pots & pans, firewood). The owners are very nice and friendly and only want to make sure you have a good stay. The rates are reasonable, and they are pet friendly. Make your reservations far in advance arounf the holidays. I absolutely will be going back again and recommend anyone looking for a quiet getaway to check them out.

Room Tip: Each cabin has it's own charm, so it is up to you what you are looking for. For couples, I defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynaLowRider03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Our cabin was in the heart of the property where we were able to experience beautiful wildlife right on our front porch. It was peaceful, clean, and refreshing. I wish I could have stayed longer. The beds were comfy and everything we needed was supplied; i.e. dishes, pots and pans, towels, and wood for the fireplace.

The owners hospitality extended over and above our expectations. I would recommend a stay with them for honeymooners, families, or even just a get away for anyone. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finchi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Do not be fooled by the photos and glowing testimonies found on the Dan Dee
Cabins sight! We booked for two nights over the Father's Day weekend. What a mistake. We expected a sweet little cabin in the woods. We experienced a nightmare of mildew, filth, ancient, burned carpet, broken furniture, a tiny, ugly little bathroom, cheap toilet tissue, awful towels, multiple fire hazards, and a fervent desire to get out as fast as we could. We had brought groceries to prepare meals, but the cabin was just so upsetting that we stayed away and ate out. After spending only one of our two nights, we demanded, and received, a full refund. Even the full refund could not compensate us for having wasted a night at Dan Dee Cabins. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piecederesistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGuys, Owner at Dan Dee Cabins Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
This couple called for a one night reservation for Friday only. We explained our 2 night minimum policy on weekends and they accepted and paid the first night deposit. On arrival, they explained that they had friends staying elsewhere who had gotten just one night. After explaining our policy once again, they accepted and paid for the second night, and went to the cabin. We did not see them again until Saturday morning when the woman came into the office, said they were leaving, and threatened to post negative comments on the internet if we did not refund their payment for the second night. She appeared very angry and ultimately demanded a full refund. To resolve the situation, we refunded both nights. As she walked out the door to the waiting car, she was suddenly smiling. We inspected the cabin, found no support for her complaints, did a standard clean, and rebooked it the same day. The new guests had no complaints. We were fully booked that weekend and none of our other guests left early or complained of any issues. By the way, our toilet paper is the best quilted, double ply, individually wrapped rolls that Costco has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
2.6 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Dee Cabins Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Dee Cabins Resort

Property: Dan Dee Cabins Resort
Address: 310 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88355-0844
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Dan Dee Cabins Resort Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing