We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grill Caliente

Grill Caliente
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food is Southwestern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Dog friendly service on the patio - brought our dog a doggie water bowl. Friendly quick service. Good food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    103
    37
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Food was good the fried pepper rings where awesome or it was the dipping sauce that was awesome. We had tacos I had mahi and Wes had pork loin tacos. Only complaint is we wished Tue portions were bigger it was more like a snack we wanted a dinner. Wished the tacos come in a meal of some sort.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice dinner spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just had salads and a taco each but we both thought the deep-fried avocado was well done and tasty. The waitress was friendly and attentive and took good care of us. The tacos were also well-done and were a nice side to the generous salads. Overall, an enjoyable experience and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We dined on a Tuesday evening so there was no issue with waiting — were seated right away on the front patio. The service was prompt and we had some wine while waiting for our food, which came out much quicker than expected! We both ordered the Chicken Poblano. It was some of the best southwest food we've had. Sooooo good!! And the portion size was just right for us — not too much to where you over-eat and feel miserable later. The atmosphere on the patio could have been a little better, but it was nice sitting outside in the pleasant evening air. Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just get the fried pepper rings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The food was good but the fried pepper rings were so good that was all I wanted. inch wide slices of poblano, green chili, and jalapeno fried in a crispy light batter and chilpotle ranch to dip in. I don't normally eat fried food, but these were so good I didn't care and chowed down. Not too hot...my friend is not a "hot" person and still loved them. I may make them my whole meal next time and not share. Small was big enough for two to share lots of peppers. Just the best I've had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAbeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grill Caliente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing