We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Central Cabins
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The website was very misleading. The cabins looked cute and clean from the pictures presented on the website, but when we arrived it was not very clean on the inside at all. The bathroom wasn't very clean with long hair and ants everywhere. Walls were dirty throughout the cabin, ceiling fan in the bedroom looked like it had never been dusted. There is no housekeeping during your stay, no toilet paper or clean towels. Property has the potential of being really nice but needs to be more than surface cleaned. For $135.00 a night plus tax we expected more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

The cabin looked cute from the outside, but had a lot of problems. The outdoor lights didn't work, nor did the outlets in the bathroom. It was not very clean, just surface cleaned. Very loud due to being next to 2 major highways. Refrigerator ran almost constantly, and the A/C wasn't very effective. The only good thing was the office personnel. She was quite helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rsocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We recently stayed one night in a one-bedroom unit.

The property manager who checked us in was superb. She offered several recommendations to the area and brought us up to speed on shops that had closed (i.e. the old Misty Mountain Gourmet Shoppe). We took her advice and ate at Catching Smoke BBQ which, while it may be the "best" BBQ in Ruidoso, proved lacking compared to other BBQ we've had.

We were impressed with the small bag of goodies hanging on our door that included some candy, crackers, popcorn and bottles of water. That was a nice touch.

The facility itself was okay. This is definitely not luxury cabin rentals. If one is prepared for more of an economy cabin rental then the rates compared to what one gets is acceptable. We noticed that there was no soap in the bathroom. We remedied this by taking the dish soap from the kitchen to the bathroom.

If staying here, bring earplugs as the noise of the heater cutting on/off throughout the night is very loud.

Parking was not an issue for us as sizable space is provided with each of the units close to the main building.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTripsAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We love to stay in cabins and experience the privacy and natural setting in the outdoors that a cabin provides. This is a very nice place and the bed was very comfortable. I also appreciated the fact that my little dog was allowed to stay for free. She is small and kennels and is very clean and they were very accommodating in letting her stay. However, we had problems since the get-go. We arrived late from Albuquerque and although they were very accommodating with late check-in, it was very dark in the back where our one room cabin was situated. The outside light on our cabin was off so we were making our way in the dark up the stairs to the front door. The stairs were icy but we did not know this. I tumbled down the four stairs almost immediately. That was just the beginning. Next morning, I tried to take a shower and the shower would not work. I called the office and there was no answer so I left a message on the answering maching informing them the shower was not working and we needed some help with it. After waiting for about an hour and being unable to locate anyone, my boyfriend who is very handy, decided to check the shower head to make sure that it was not the problem. Well, we discovered the shower head was clogged with lime and scale so he did his best to clean it out. He put it back on and PRESTO, it worked! So I called the office again since I hadn't heard from anyone to let them know we fixed it and they weren't even aware I had left a message in the first place. During this conversation, I asked if someone could salt the stairs since I had a bad spill the night before. We headed out to enjoy our day. When we returned to get ready for a show at the Spencer, we found the stairs had been cleaned so that was a plus! Prior to heading to the Spencer, we both did our business in the bathroom. When we returned about 4 hours later, we discovered the toilet was not filling with water. We had to fill the toilet tank from then on. At check-out I let the young lady know our situation and she said she would have someone check it. No offer for a future discount or any kind of request for our return. I did rather enjoy the size of these cabins, the location and the reasonable price. However, the plumbing issues had a lot to be desired. Hopefully it was just a run of bad luck.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supershopper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The young lady that checked us in was wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The cabin (#27) was warm and cozy. The only thing missing was a fireplace. It is close to town but not walknig distance in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

located on the right about a 1/2 mile from Rt 70 going into downtown. This is a good compromise as you are situated between the bustle of the touristy downtown and the more local commercial section at the highway. Be ready for traffic though as this place is on the main drag into town, but this shouldn't be a concern as things quiet down by 9:00pm. We have stayed here two separate times and have enjoyed both style of cabins. The larger ones are near the front office while the smaller ones are behind on a separate entrance. Parking is a challenge if you have a big vehicle at the small cabins because it is a dead end and turning around is a concern if you are at the very end as we were. The small cabin we stayed at was tight for two but had everything a person would need - coffee machine, two burner gas top and TV with cable; plus small kitchenette that serves as the makeup table for the wife in the morn. It was quiet at night and had a very comfortable queen sized bed with overhead fan. The ownership had changed since our last visit and has only got better. A very friendly proprietor who has the customers interest at heart. This place may not have the charm that some would want in the mountain setting but if you just need a base of operations this place fits the bill in location and price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-birdRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#29 of 42 in Ruidoso
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whispering Pine Cabins
Whispering Pine Cabins
#4 of 42 in Ruidoso
249 reviews
2.4 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Central Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Central Cabins

Address: 616 Sudderth Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6203
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Central Cabins is the perfect mountain retreat in our Alpine village. Located in 'the heart of Ruidoso,' we offer wonderful lodging in well-appointed one bedroom cottages and studio cabins conveniently located just blocks from Midtown, the downtown shopping district. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway or are bringing friends, and family, we have the perfect accommodations. After fun-filled days (and nights!) of hiking, horseback riding, golfing or boutique, casino and gallery hopping . . . you will leave Ruidoso with plenty of memories of the great time you had! Welcome to Cottage Central Cabins - make your reservation today where town is close by, yet far from the crowds and hustle and bustle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Central Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing