We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanner Tradition

Tanner Tradition
Ranked #2 of 15 Shopping in Ruidoso
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1872, the Tanner Family has worked directly with the Native American People to bring their Art and Jewelry to the market place. That tradition continues today with Lynn Tanner, a Fifth Generation Indian Trader, and his wife Kathy Dawn at their store "Tanner Tradition" - in Ruidoso, New Mexico.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

In an area full of friendly people there has to be another quality to call a place friendly.

Today I bought a neat bear carving to put beside my door. Did this cause I had learned that the Bear is the guardian of this area, the Sacramento Mts. We should honor Brother Bear.

I had been looking all over town for the right carving & found it at Tanner.

Ruidoso has numerous art galleries & I plan to review some of the others. But if your time is limited around here I would say that Tanner should be on your short list for its large supply of local New Mexican art.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Art Loop & Artist's Show - June 28, 2014 - Drumming, Great Food-ART”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a combined annual artist's show and Ruidoso Art Loop open house. The welcome was a Mescalero Apache Drum Group, Monty Claw a Navajo Silversmith, pueblo pottery and other wonderful Native American art, plus local artist Kathy Morrow. Refreshments included homemade ice cream with a variety of toppings as well as a table full of nibbles. Billy's spicy hot crackers and creamy dip are always a high point.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wildwoodsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Giant Dream Buffalo and Beautiful Estate Jewelry - Cecil Miles Carvings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Cecil Miles Jr. is an incredible Navajo carver, and he has just sent some fantastic new carvings to Tanner Tradition. These are Navajo spirit figures rather than the kachinas of the Hopi. There are also new Navajo pots and some beautiful new jewelry. My favorite Native American Gallery in Ruidoso.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wildwoodsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic and Historical Native American Arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Lynn Tanner is a 4th generation trader with Native Americans, and their selection is unique. They have antique and vintage baskets and rugs and jewelry, as well as estate items. Their new rug room is wonderful, and the teepee out back is a certain draw. During the spring and summer the front is covered with hummingbirds drinking from the feeders hanging from old harness wood.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wildwoodsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanner Tradition also viewed

 

Been to Tanner Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing