We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was worth the trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pine Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruidoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pine Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“It was worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in the Coyote cabin which Is decent for us and cozy. This was my second time staying with Whispering Pine Cabins and it never fails to be great. The only advice I would give to anyone is to take your own covers for the bed if you are planning on going during the winter months! Overall, great experience and we are planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowersAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for the review. Did you not find extra blankets in the closets? Always feel free to call the office for anything you need and we will rush right up. So glad you like Coyote. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    62
    15
    8
    21
See reviews for
117
70
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This review is purely about the Salmon Run cabin as our friends stayed in other cabins such as Hughes and had a great experience. My review is only intended to help future renters select the right cabin for their stay. The Whispering Pine staff was very friendly and the room was clean, no problem there. But here is what we had an issue with (that same email was sent to the Whispering Pine staff so they are aware of the issues):

- There is absolutely no storage for food. There is only one cabinet above the sink and it is only for plates/glasses. We had to stack everything around the sink which was not convenient at all and looked messy all week.
- There are three small drawers to store clothe and that is the only storage place for the entire cabin (no closets) so the suitcase will have to lay around somewhere in the cabin.
- The prongs in some of the receptacles were so loose that the electric cords would easily fall out. This creates a major risk of arcing and fire !! I did not test all of them but the ones by the refrigerator and were particularly bad (the cord would just fall off)
- The receptacle by the bed (bathroom side) was missing it's bottom receptacle. I did not want to mess with it to see if it was live or not (safety issue).
- Now I am thinking about it, I am not even sure that the receptacle by the bathroom sink had a GFI. (I would strongly recommend having all the receptacles checked).
- The heater is a major problem as it makes a lot of noise running and shutting down (the metal contracts and makes a very loud clicking noise which woke us up often during the night)
- The plumbing, shower head and controls in the shower were very loose (not held up in place on the wall) and were moving out of the wall by 1-2 inches when trying to adjust the showerhead or temperature.
- The fridge, although it worked OK, has got to be 20 years old with a lot of broken parts. We could not store anything on the door as all the plastic rails were missing and the fridge light socket was dangling down inside the fridge with no light bulb attached (a safety issue as it is powered when the door is opened). The back of the fridge had not be cleaned in a long time and the freezer was in serious need of defrosting (which we could not do as we had frozen food to put in right away).
- The lighting inside the cabin is so faint that we had to buy an additional lamp to put in the middle of the room so we had more than just "ambiance lighting". The lighting in the bathroom is even worth (you are almost showering in the dark).
- If you do not flush the toilet the right way, it will keep running and you will have to get into the tank to push the flapper with your finger so it closes fully (apparently the trick is to depress the lever fully and keep is down for a few seconds)
- The antenna cable is held on the TV with a piece of tape, not with the proper fittings and kept falling every time we moved the TV stand.
- The entrance door can only be tab-locked on the handle when leaving the cabin as the dead bolt can only be operated form the inside (the key on the outside is different from the tab-lock key). The staff informed us that it was for our safety since they do not change the key between renters (so if somebody made a copy of the key, they could not get in if you are inside the cabin and remembered to use the dead bolt, but that means they can still get in when you are away ...).

In summary, if you do not have kids, do not want to cook during your stay (which means you won't have groceries to store), do not mind the loose plumbing, potential electrical issues and are a really sound sleeper (gas heater noises), you will probably find the Salmon Run cabin a good deal. We had all of the above so we did regret our choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperXav39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the cabin. We know that your friends stayed in our premium cabins, while you elected to rent one of our smaller cozier rooms. You cannot fairly compare this cabin to the premium offerings, nor can you complain about the difference in price, which is significant. We just put thousands of dollars into renovating this very cabin. New flooring, all new kitchen, larger living room window, new wall furnace, new entertainment system, new bedding, new leather couch, custom built head board, etc.etc.etc. The "loose" plumbing is because PEX was used rather than copper, but it is perfectly safe. Their was in fact one broken receptacle and we would have replaced it immediately if you had just let us know about it immediately. The bathroom has a GFI and we find it unfair that you would suggest otherwise. The refrigerator is a special size and was on order. It has since arrived and is in place, completing the renovations. We try very hard to make every stay pleasant, but we need to know about concerns before a guest leaves if we are to have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Boyfriend and I stayed here over spring break. We wanted a 'cozy' cabin feel and we definitely got it! Great service and super cute cabins. Really close to everything in town and the mountain which was a plus. Also big thanks to the ladies at the front desk who were very helpful in aiding us to find hiking trails, and other activities as well. We also took our four legged best friend along and she enjoyed her stay as well. Great place for people with and without pets.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgnic94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are always pleased when folks appreciate what we do here. So glad you enjoyed yourselves. come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We drove up intended on staying two nights, checked in... Did some local activities then later went our cabin (the office was closed at this point) BEAR COUNTRY CABIN's restroom was in very poor condition. The floor is soft and feel as if it could fall thru at any moment. My husband and I felt as if it wasn't unsafe to use the restroom. The following morning I went to talk to the lady on the office who states it's been inspected and it's safe. I DO NOT believe that for a moment. I'm sure there's mold under there. I asked about checking out early and getting a refund for the following night. The lady said no. She was full and could have rented out our cabin already and had to turn people away yesterday. Refused a refund for that night. I asked for to contact information to speak with someone higher than her about my concerns. She said she is the only one. She was rude about the whole situation. My husband an I choose to drop the keys off and leave. That cabin IS unsafe. It should have never been rented out!!! BEWARE OF COUNTRY BEAR CABIN when choosing to rent thru whispering pines cabins.
-Hicks'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hicks2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are sorry that you felt it necessary to post this review. You were allowed to view this cabin before you rented it. This cabin has been beautifully renovated and is considered one of our mountain jewels. You were told that there was a two night minimum as it was a major weekend. After viewing the cabin you came right back and happily rented it. The next day your plans changed and you felt that you could intimidate our staff into giving you a "FULL' refund by fabricating this story. Until now we have always stayed to the high road in our responses and given the benefit of the doubt to the guest, but you have no legitimacy when you make false claims about mold that you have absolutely no way of verifying and the readers of this review need to know the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Pinecone. It was very cozy and such a cute cabin. They really pay attention to detail which is very impressive to us. The cabin was clean when we arrived which was nice. There were no real issues. It's a very nice place to stay and we will stay again. Our only complaint is that we really clean things before we leave. We were sweeping and we moved on of the couches to sweep and there was so much stuff under it that we know did not come from us. It looked as though someone before us just swept everything under the couch. That was a bit shocking, but nothing we couldn't handle. Again, very nice cabin and really cute. Will definitely come again!!! Thank you!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaylinn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our cabin. We take great pride in the condition and cleanliness of our cabins. We are very sorry that you found anything under a couch. This is NOT our standard and we have addressed this issue with our staff. Come again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The cabins are very clean, in excellent location and very quiet!
During our stay we were in walking distance to near by restaurants and shops.
We stayed in Aspen Cabin very romantic for a couple, we loved having our fireplace and they provided firewood we needed to start fire every night.
It's very small cabin but cozy for two adults, you have small fridge and coffee maker. In Aspen cabin it comes with basic things you need for your stay.
We will be returning to stay in whispering pines cabin
We love love this place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yung_Rob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for the kind review. You are welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just back from Ruidoso and we stayed at casa de Cory and were very comfortable. The managers very nice. We also experienced a once in a life time encounter. 2 mule deer bucks locked horns right outside our door it was awesome they fought for a good while then victory for the king of the hill. Wake would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bindyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
So glad that you had an experience like this. Since Ruidoso is a mountain resort area surprises like this happen occasionaly. Good for you! Hope your camera was running. ;-) Come again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.3 mi away
Upper Canyon Inn and Cabins
2.7 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pine Cabins

Property: Whispering Pine Cabins
Address: 422 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruidoso New Mexico's Favorite Cabin Rentals Located in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso in the tall Ponderosa Pine trees. Pet Friendly - King Beds - Hot Tubs - Whirlpools - Fireplaces - Ski Packages - Best Rates in Ruidoso. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pine Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Whispering Pine Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing