We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Pine Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Florissant, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Whispering Pines Cabins over the Memorial Day weekend.
We arrived around 6:30 in the evening after a long 9 hour drive but it was well worth the trip. Ruidoso is such a pretty little town in a mountain environment, lots of neat restaurants and shops to browse, outdoor adventures, and a couple of casinos very close by for those interested in that scene. We were greeted warmly at the office even though we arrived late in the day and all our questions were answered by a very nice young woman. The cabin we choose was Deer Run and we absolutely loved the cabin! I highly recommend this cabin if you are looking for a one or two bedroom cabin. The photos do not do it justice as it has new furnishings since the photos were taken for the website. The owners have decorated in good taste and have made it very comfy and homey feeling. The master bedroom is lovely with a mantled gas fireplace and huge bathroom with a large jetted tub. The 2nd bedroom though small is sufficient for children or another couple. The 2nd bathroom was a good size and has an oversized shower with a skylight (very nice). The dining area and living room have been decorated with a southwest flair. Dining table quite large and 2 sofas in the living room look new and are extremely comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots & pans, bowls, nice set of dishes, wine glasses etc.. We loved the large deck and spent quite a bit of time out there. I filled the hummingbird feeder when we arrived and we had little hummers visit us the entire time there. Also there is a family of deer that came to graze and it was a pleasure to look forward to seeing them each day sometimes throughout the day. The cabin is set off the road on a small side street and although other cabins are on this dead end road the other cabins are set off to the side at a distance not tight together. There is ample privacy when sitting on the deck. The cabin was very clean, had plenty of towels, soap, dish towels, very well equipped. We would stay at Whispering Pines again without a doubt and choose Deer Run for sure. We thank Whispering Pines and the owners of Deer Run for such a lovely stay. I only wish it wasn't such a long distance away but I am certain we will return again.

Room Tip: Deer Run Cabin cabin we highly recommend as per our review. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Talula0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cabin. We work very hard to make each stay memorable and enjoyable and so are pleased that we met that standard. Come again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    62
    15
    8
    22
See reviews for
119
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful cabin and super spacious!! Owners were wonderful in assisting us in what we needed...very highly recommended!! Can't wait to go back!! You guys just gained new customers!! Thank you for everything and how to see you very soon!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
So glad that you stayed with us and found what we have to offer to your liking. Cabin stays are always so much more fulfilling than crowding everyone into a couple of motel rooms, so it is always nice to hear that we have made new friends! Come again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This property is a series of cabins in the woods, and we stayed there 3 nights in early May. This review covers the Roadrunner cabin which is a one-bedroom unit with bathroom, kitchen, living area, porches front & back.
POSITIVES
Clean
Sufficient hot water
Kitchen well equipped, but no dishwasher
A/C though we did not use it.
Wood burning stove; wood furnished
Parking for at least one vehicle.
Surprisingly quiet despite being located right on a well-traveled road.
Friendly, cooperative, helpful staff


NEGATIVES
1. Bathroom. Installation of a whirlpool tub obviously was not done by a craftsman. Shower diverter and faucet haphazard. Tub’s water temperature control unpredictable. No heat in bathroom because heat source is a wall heater in living room area. Hole in wall next to electrical outlet in bathroom is probably a safety issue.
2. Handicap compliant. Not completely, primarily because of tub access, door widths, step/porch heights.
3. Town facilities not within easy walking distance

Room Tip: The least crowded times to visit this area would seem to be (1) between the end of winter-sports sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate all constructive feedback and we are happy that you appreciated the positives of this comfortable cabin. In response to your concerns: The hole next to the electrical for the washing machine and dryer is actually the faucet case and is supposed to be there. If you look inside you will see that it is designed to feed water safely into the cabin and divert it away in the event of a mishap. The cabin is not considered handicap accessible, although we have made efforts to make it handicap friendly and will keep your suggestion in mind for future renovations. We do not advertise this cabin as being 'walking distance close' to mid town, but it is only a three minute drive to mid town and most amenities and only 12 minutes to the major attractions such as the race track and casinos, so pretty close all in all. The trade off is that it is in the beautiful and historic Upper Canyon nestled among the 100 foot tall Ponderosa Pines and very close to the river. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to offer your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in the Coyote cabin which Is decent for us and cozy. This was my second time staying with Whispering Pine Cabins and it never fails to be great. The only advice I would give to anyone is to take your own covers for the bed if you are planning on going during the winter months! Overall, great experience and we are planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowersAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for the review. Did you not find extra blankets in the closets? Always feel free to call the office for anything you need and we will rush right up. So glad you like Coyote. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This review is purely about the Salmon Run cabin as our friends stayed in other cabins such as Hughes and had a great experience. My review is only intended to help future renters select the right cabin for their stay. The Whispering Pine staff was very friendly and the room was clean, no problem there. But here is what we had an issue with (that same email was sent to the Whispering Pine staff so they are aware of the issues):

- There is absolutely no storage for food. There is only one cabinet above the sink and it is only for plates/glasses. We had to stack everything around the sink which was not convenient at all and looked messy all week.
- There are three small drawers to store clothe and that is the only storage place for the entire cabin (no closets) so the suitcase will have to lay around somewhere in the cabin.
- The prongs in some of the receptacles were so loose that the electric cords would easily fall out. This creates a major risk of arcing and fire !! I did not test all of them but the ones by the refrigerator and were particularly bad (the cord would just fall off)
- The receptacle by the bed (bathroom side) was missing it's bottom receptacle. I did not want to mess with it to see if it was live or not (safety issue).
- Now I am thinking about it, I am not even sure that the receptacle by the bathroom sink had a GFI. (I would strongly recommend having all the receptacles checked).
- The heater is a major problem as it makes a lot of noise running and shutting down (the metal contracts and makes a very loud clicking noise which woke us up often during the night)
- The plumbing, shower head and controls in the shower were very loose (not held up in place on the wall) and were moving out of the wall by 1-2 inches when trying to adjust the showerhead or temperature.
- The fridge, although it worked OK, has got to be 20 years old with a lot of broken parts. We could not store anything on the door as all the plastic rails were missing and the fridge light socket was dangling down inside the fridge with no light bulb attached (a safety issue as it is powered when the door is opened). The back of the fridge had not be cleaned in a long time and the freezer was in serious need of defrosting (which we could not do as we had frozen food to put in right away).
- The lighting inside the cabin is so faint that we had to buy an additional lamp to put in the middle of the room so we had more than just "ambiance lighting". The lighting in the bathroom is even worth (you are almost showering in the dark).
- If you do not flush the toilet the right way, it will keep running and you will have to get into the tank to push the flapper with your finger so it closes fully (apparently the trick is to depress the lever fully and keep is down for a few seconds)
- The antenna cable is held on the TV with a piece of tape, not with the proper fittings and kept falling every time we moved the TV stand.
- The entrance door can only be tab-locked on the handle when leaving the cabin as the dead bolt can only be operated form the inside (the key on the outside is different from the tab-lock key). The staff informed us that it was for our safety since they do not change the key between renters (so if somebody made a copy of the key, they could not get in if you are inside the cabin and remembered to use the dead bolt, but that means they can still get in when you are away ...).

In summary, if you do not have kids, do not want to cook during your stay (which means you won't have groceries to store), do not mind the loose plumbing, potential electrical issues and are a really sound sleeper (gas heater noises), you will probably find the Salmon Run cabin a good deal. We had all of the above so we did regret our choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperXav39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the cabin. We know that your friends stayed in our premium cabins, while you elected to rent one of our smaller cozier rooms. You cannot fairly compare this cabin to the premium offerings, nor can you complain about the difference in price, which is significant. We just put thousands of dollars into renovating this very cabin. New flooring, all new kitchen, larger living room window, new wall furnace, new entertainment system, new bedding, new leather couch, custom built head board, etc.etc.etc. The "loose" plumbing is because PEX was used rather than copper, but it is perfectly safe. Their was in fact one broken receptacle and we would have replaced it immediately if you had just let us know about it immediately. The bathroom has a GFI and we find it unfair that you would suggest otherwise. The refrigerator is a special size and was on order. It has since arrived and is in place, completing the renovations. We try very hard to make every stay pleasant, but we need to know about concerns before a guest leaves if we are to have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Boyfriend and I stayed here over spring break. We wanted a 'cozy' cabin feel and we definitely got it! Great service and super cute cabins. Really close to everything in town and the mountain which was a plus. Also big thanks to the ladies at the front desk who were very helpful in aiding us to find hiking trails, and other activities as well. We also took our four legged best friend along and she enjoyed her stay as well. Great place for people with and without pets.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgnic94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are always pleased when folks appreciate what we do here. So glad you enjoyed yourselves. come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We drove up intended on staying two nights, checked in... Did some local activities then later went our cabin (the office was closed at this point) BEAR COUNTRY CABIN's restroom was in very poor condition. The floor is soft and feel as if it could fall thru at any moment. My husband and I felt as if it wasn't unsafe to use the restroom. The following morning I went to talk to the lady on the office who states it's been inspected and it's safe. I DO NOT believe that for a moment. I'm sure there's mold under there. I asked about checking out early and getting a refund for the following night. The lady said no. She was full and could have rented out our cabin already and had to turn people away yesterday. Refused a refund for that night. I asked for to contact information to speak with someone higher than her about my concerns. She said she is the only one. She was rude about the whole situation. My husband an I choose to drop the keys off and leave. That cabin IS unsafe. It should have never been rented out!!! BEWARE OF COUNTRY BEAR CABIN when choosing to rent thru whispering pines cabins.
-Hicks'

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hicks2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Whispering Pine Cabins, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are sorry that you felt it necessary to post this review. You were allowed to view this cabin before you rented it. This cabin has been beautifully renovated and is considered one of our mountain jewels. You were told that there was a two night minimum as it was a major weekend. After viewing the cabin you came right back and happily rented it. The next day your plans changed and you felt that you could intimidate our staff into giving you a "FULL' refund by fabricating this story. Until now we have always stayed to the high road in our responses and given the benefit of the doubt to the guest, but you have no legitimacy when you make false claims about mold that you have absolutely no way of verifying and the readers of this review need to know the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
0.4 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
197 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#17 of 23 in Ruidoso
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apache Village Cabins
Apache Village Cabins
#25 of 41 in Ruidoso
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pine Cabins

Property: Whispering Pine Cabins
Address: 422 Main Road, Ruidoso, NM 88345-7604
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pine Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruidoso New Mexico's Favorite Cabin Rentals Located in the Upper Canyon of Ruidoso in the tall Ponderosa Pine trees. Pet Friendly - King Beds - Hot Tubs - Whirlpools - Fireplaces - Ski Packages - Best Rates in Ruidoso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Pine Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pine Cabins Hotel Ruidoso
Whispering Pine Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing