We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Will visit again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We usually stay in a cabin when visiting Ruidoso, but since we were only going to be in town a few days we wanted to give the Sitzmark a try. We were not disappointed. It's right in the middle of the "excitement" of Ruidoso rather than off the beaten path. This can be a plus or a minus depending on what you are looking for. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The bed was more than adequate. The motel layout and decor reminded me of the motels I stayed at when I was a child. We continually would point and say "oh, look at that" while walking about the property. Staff was very friendly. Plenty of television channels to choose from if you want to watch some television before getting some sleep. I'm usually not a fan of continental breakfasts, but the muffins they had out were moist and delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you found your stay pleasant and restful....and above all, we love that you feel you will visit us again! We strive to be that Inn that gives the touches that make you remember us....be it the wooden cigar store Indian that greets you at the door, the quaint lending library in the office, or the fresh homemade muffins in the morning. We want your stay with us to be unique and memorable :) We are glad you received that feeling during your stay with us. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others and we look forward to hosting you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    59
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
93
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a very large room with 2 queen beds, a daybed with a bunk bed overhead.
Loved the fireplace and used the dining table to play games in the evening. The muffins for breakfast were great and we were close to so many activities.

Room Tip: Request a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamelita7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Family Suite. All of our upstairs rooms have fireplaces and are available for use during the fall and winter months :) We make our muffins each morning, and we are glad you enjoyed them! We strive to provide a comfortable, family friendly environment and we appreciate the time you took to share your positive experience with others. We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you are in the Ruidoso area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our visit was fairly comfortable and quiet. We didn't know the property sat on the main road, so glad we came after summer.

The pluses: place seemed newly-renovated, non-smoking property, room was a good size, the A/C and TV worked well, fridge was helpful, charming and well-cared-for sitting area outside (although there were a lot of smokers out there during our stay)
The minuses: mattress was too soft, one side of the bed lacked a nightstand so we had to place things on the floor, the room was a bit dark - needs option for brighter lighting
Recommend: bring your own bath soap if you don't like the foamy stuff in the dispenser (they have only liquid soap). I would also bring shower shoes next time - the shower felt a bit slick/slimy.

They advertise free gourmet coffee and muffins - coffee was terrible and muffins were so-so. All in all, decent place to stay, nice people in office, well maintained property. I think it worked out well for us because it wasn't the height of summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of property to be away from road noise and also away from the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agiToki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is small and older, but quite comfortable. The mountain lodge ambiance was delightful. It is priced very well for the village and it is conveniently located. I agree with other reviews about the homemade muffins...incredible! My only complaint was that the cream lumped in the coffee...looked bad, but tasted fine. Maybe a water softener would help?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sitzmark :) Yes, we are a small, kitschy, comfy Inn that has graced the main street of Ruidoso for many, many years....and undergone a complete makeover during the last few years! We aim to provide our guests with a unique and memorable lodging experience at an affordable price...we figure if you wanted a cookie cutter experience, you would have stayed elsewhere. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our muffins!! We wake up very early each morning and bake a couple of different options to start your day. We are sorry to hear you had the same experience with the creamer that we have been having....whether its powder or liquid, it has been clumping the last several months...this is happening all over town. After research, we found it because of increased mineral levels in the water due to drought conditions. You are right....a water softener might help, but we struggle with the thought of adding sodium to the water (health nuts) ;) Maybe all this rain will solve the problem naturally!!! Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again the next time you are in the Ruidoso area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a wonderful budget alternative for Ruidoso. The rooms are nothing fancy, but nice size and clean. Our king bed room was around $80 a night, with no minimum number of nights. Many of the cabins want a 3 night stay, which makes this a great alternative is you only need one or two nights.

Bathroom amenities are limited to a hairdyer and dispenser style soap. So if you really want shampoo, bring your own. The beds were comfortable, nice linens, and plenty of pillows. There is a nice area in front to sit and enjoy Ruidoso weather. Several families were taking advantage of the grills and picnic tables. A nice alternative to other hotels in the area that only have sterile parking lots.

The property is locally owned and the owners clearly take pride in the property. This isn't a fancy place, but for a quick weekend escaping August in Texas heat, this is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilot123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased to see that you appreciated a nice room at an affordable rate. We are a family owned property, and when we travel, that's what we look for as well :) We aim to provide a fair price, a pleasing & comfortable atmosphere, and a "earth friendly" business. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you are back in the Ruidoso area, we hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I loved staying at Sitzmark. The a/c is great, the tub is great, and the bed linens are great. The room was large and roomy with a microwave and refrigerator. It's too far from the main stores to walk and it's a little tricky to get out of if you're going toward 'town', because it's at the bottom of a hill and it's hard to see the cars coming. The doors are separated from outside by a corridor that has a security camera, so it feels safer than just having outside doors. The muffins are great in the morning, but no substitute for a real breakfast. The room was extremely clean and I loved that there was no smoking and no pets. I'll certainly stay there again if I go back to Ruidoso because the price was less than most hotels that aren't nearly as nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired51Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at our Inn :) We are always pleased to know that our guests had an enjoyable time during their vacation! It is also nice to hear that you found your room clean, comfortable, and value priced! We look forward to having you back as our guest the next time you are in the Ruidoso area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the Sitzmark for the State Disc Golf Championships. I'm 55 and the heavy rain made for a VERY long weekend. The Sitz was my base area, my oasis- you name it.
Ruidoso is a tourist town and they were only about 70-80 a night in high season.

Most of the 2 star family motel basics went well. Maybe the bed was a bit roly-poly and the room could have used an easy chair. But compared to other Ruidoso motels, The Sitzmark was solid and affordable. There was always some lemon water out. There was good coffee and muffins in the morning. The whole place has a funky, kitschy charm. And all the basic systems like the air, water and lights worked well. I'll be back for next year's tournament.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SitzmarkRuidoso, Owner at Sitzmark Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide a nice, comfortable room at a fair price. Not sure about the bed? We had brand new mattresses installed in the entire hotel 3 weeks ago. Top of the line sleep systems that so far have received rave reviews from previous guests :) We are also happy that you enjoyed the funky feel of our Inn....we aim to break out of the "cookie cutter" mold of our competitors! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.4 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Chalet Inn

Property: Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Address: 627 Sudderth Drive, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sitzmark Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sitzmark Chalet is nestled under the tall pines of Ruidoso, NM. Our charming 17 unit inn offers the distinct personal attention that every traveler desires for a relaxing mountain get-a-way. Our classic regard to detail and customer service is something that you just can't acquire in today's cookie-cutter chain lodging atmosphere. We are located in the heart of Ruidoso close to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. With a wonderful central location, you are close to all of the vacation activities you have been looking for. Relax on the front lawn during a summer evening on a porch swing while watching the hummingbirds, or unwind after a day on the slopes in our steam sauna. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sitzmark Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitzmark Chalet Hotel
Sitzmark Chalet Inn Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing