We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cuauhtémoc, Chihuahua, Mexico
1 review
“Good location, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Too bad our first time in Ruidoso was spent in this hotel. Never could have not even a drop of decaf coffee, the container was allways empty as there were all the other containers on the breakfast counter. Very, very poor. The lady from the kitchen kept running back and forth with empty hands saying: we are cooking, we are cooking that's why everyting is empty. I guess they were baking the bread and milking the cows. The hot tub it was soooo hot, impossible to use. Very slow internet connection. Para mis amigos que hablan español les aconsejo si quieren tener algo para desayunar no se queden en este hotel, mucha pobreza en tres dias que nos quedamos lo unico que vi fueron dos panecillos y cuatro naranjas, lo demas nunca aparecio!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Our weekend crowd was actually higher than we anticipated, and our breakfast bar hostess was cooking as fast as she could to keep up, while our guest service agent also assisted her. We do apologize for the breakfast bar items becoming low so quickly. We did extend the breakfast bar hours an additional 30 minutes to allow all of our guest the opportunity to eat breakfast and we cooked as fast as possible. As far as the hot tub being too hot, I am a certified pool operator and we keep our hot tub at a constant 104 degrees. This is checked throughout the day, along with the chemicals, every day. The temperature of 104 is typically comfortable for everyone, and is compliant with all federal pool operation rules for public pools. I do apologize if this guest in particular wanted it cooler. We strive to satisfy all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    83
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
68
73
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Hotel Ruidoso, very conveniently located a half block from the main street, is a most pleasant place to stay. The rooms are large, divided into two areas, one for sleeping, the other a small living room, and both sections have a large flat screen television. The rooms and the public areas are spotless and well-maintained. A more-than-adequate complimentary breakfast is served. You'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very nice hotel. A little noisy. The staff was very nice. We had a great time in this little town. We will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Second time and possibly a third. Nice rooms ( ask for away from elevator ). Free WiFi.
But the pool and spa are awesome after a long day of skiing

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator unless your an early bird getting ready for the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EphraX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice on weekend trips. Both times we've been very satisfied with the hotel stay. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The beds are wonderful. We also really liked the location of the hotel. It is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The only downside was that their Internet was down during one of our stays. Other than that, we've had a great time during both of our stays. We enjoyed the indoor pool and the complimentary breakfast was good. We Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked a 2 night stay for october and on arrival loved the hotel. Its very clean and all fittings/furniture etc in good condition. Its cosy and the bed is extremely comfortable.

But....Our room was one of two that were joined together by connecting doors for families etc, but we were travelling as a couple. The first morning we could hear the people next door as loudly as if they were in our room. They were not being noisy, just talking normally etc but we could hear everything incredibly clearly. There is absolutley no privacy because of this. It woke us early and was quite freaky as I woke up thinking someone had come in to our room

A plus note is that when I asked to be moved to a different room there was none available so the manager arranged a room in another hotel just across the street for no extra charge etc.
Staff are very helpful and friendly which is another reason we are sad to have been moved.

All in all very dissapointing. if you do stay here ask for a room on its own and not one thats seperated by the connecting door and youll probably have a nice stay.

Room Tip: if you do stay here ask for a room on its own and not one thats seperated by the connecting door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyDIreland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Not realizing what "midtown" meant we had some trouble finding this hotel. But we ended up liking the location as it was near the cute downtown area and the 2 restaurants where we ate.
It's a newer property and I found it very nice. The rooms were nicer than average and the beds were very comfortable. It has nice bathrooms too. I did hear the "neighbors" a bit so the walls aren't sound proof.
I was disappointed with the skimpy complimentary breakfast. There are few choices for those who eat only healthy foods (I'm a vegetarian/vegan). The boxed cereals were so skimpy it took 3 of them to make a meal. There weren't even any bananas for the cereal. Other choices included bacon, eggs, bagels, toast and pastries. No waffles or pancakes.
The young man at the desk was unable to suggest any good restaurants but we managed to find 3 not too far from the hotel (one we found on tripadvisor.com). I feel all desk employees should be able to make such suggestions. This "kid" didn't go out of his way to make me feel welcome. I would still recommend this property for it's location and amenities. I have to agree with another reviewer about the carpets in the hallways needing a good cleaning.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the back of the property you may see deer in the yards in the morning. We saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baarnbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
1.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Property: Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Address: 110 Chase Street, Ruidoso, NM 88345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing