We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as anticipated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as anticipated”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed three nights based on reviews on T/A. The hotel is in need of some updating and better cleaning. Hall carpeting is spotted and dirty. Room a bit better. Furtniture is old and worn. A/C in room worked well and was not unusually noisy, so that helped. Breakfast had no orange juice or bananas. Thermos marked hot water had water, but not even warm. Milk not labeled as to fat content. We got a good rate, so should not complain too much, but I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the problems you encountered. Our hotel is less then 5 years old therefore our furniture is less then 5 years old. We have a preventive maintanence plan in place where we PM each room every month. We also have cleaning guidelines and all of our rooms are inspected daily after the cleaning before any guests are checked in to that room. Our hallway carpet is spot cleaned every week. The label for milk in breakfast area is already on order. We take great pride in providing a clean, well maintained and comfortable room to all of our guests. We will share this review with our maintenance and housekeeping department and ensure all procedures are followed as outlined. Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    88
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
72
80
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Newer facility, nice appearance, and in a good location for exploring Ruidoso Up Town and Mid Town. Indoor pool area for the family looked well maintained, and even though my room was one door down, I didn't hear the commotion.

I wouldn't call this a destination hotel, but it provided more than adequate lodging for the one night I stayed on business.

Breakfast bar was a bit thin on variety, but there was enough to get me by.

If I were to return to Ruidoso for business or pleasure, I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are adjacent to the indoor pool. That can be a good thing or bad thing, depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Ruidoso in the past and then again in July of this year and it has proven to be a great place to spend some time when you are in Ruidoso for the races or just to get out of the heat of Arizona.

The hotel staff was pleasant although we didn't really need to communicate with them very often. The room was very clean, the breakfast was included in the room rate and more than adequate. They have a pool but we were too busy to go to it but did see others enjoying it in the evening.

If you want to get away for a few days and not break the bank doing it, the Hotel Ruidoso may be just the place for you.

Room Tip: They have a selection of rooms but we took a non-smoking and were most pleased. We were right acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitthemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hotel Ruidoso is fine, good location within walking distance of both up-town and down-town areas, clean, neat and tidy. I was going to give it 4 stars, but realised my benchmarks have become distorted since staying in the US. If this is the most modern of hotels in Ruidoso then the others must be really tired. Romes are reasonable size, still in good condition, but the breakfast area is like a cheap canteen. As this is town which gets both cold in the winter, it is close to the Ski Apache resort, and hot in the summer (this is New Mexico, even at 6,900ft) you would expect the insulation to be good, but the window build quality is cheap. This hotel could be so much more.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the building face away from the road so noise should be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I had booked this room so that my husband so we could have some privacy and wouldn't have to stay at our in-laws, too bad that didn't happen. We had booked a last-minute deal that saved us $20, but that money would have been much better spent at a hotel with insulated walls. When we first arrived in our room, we heard a toilet lid slam and then a flush, coming from another room; and things got worse from there. We heard stomping above us late into the night, and then ealy in the morning, as well as people getting lucky next door. I would have rather saved the money and stayed in my husband's little sister's room, with my in-laws, thirty minutes out of town! There are rinky-dink hotelxs that have been around for forty years that are more comfortable. The location is great, but will I ever stay at this hotel again? Heck no!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmshredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
We apologize for the sound issue that you experienced. Our hotel is the newest hotel in the city. The hotel was built with specs that meet or exceed all city and state codes. Perhaps during this time of the stay we might have had more children in the hotel then normal. Some rooms have connecting doors which would allow more sound to pass thru if not sealed properly. The walls are fine becuase they meet the building codes. Based on this comment we will look at all rooms with connecting doors and try to insulate the doors to the maximum possible. Once again we apologize for the issue and we thank you for bring this to our attention. Like always we look at each comment and address the issue when possible to try to make our hotel the best possible for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuauhtémoc, Chihuahua, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Too bad our first time in Ruidoso was spent in this hotel. Never could have not even a drop of decaf coffee, the container was allways empty as there were all the other containers on the breakfast counter. Very, very poor. The lady from the kitchen kept running back and forth with empty hands saying: we are cooking, we are cooking that's why everyting is empty. I guess they were baking the bread and milking the cows. The hot tub it was soooo hot, impossible to use. Very slow internet connection. Para mis amigos que hablan español les aconsejo si quieren tener algo para desayunar no se queden en este hotel, mucha pobreza en tres dias que nos quedamos lo unico que vi fueron dos panecillos y cuatro naranjas, lo demas nunca aparecio!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Our weekend crowd was actually higher than we anticipated, and our breakfast bar hostess was cooking as fast as she could to keep up, while our guest service agent also assisted her. We do apologize for the breakfast bar items becoming low so quickly. We did extend the breakfast bar hours an additional 30 minutes to allow all of our guest the opportunity to eat breakfast and we cooked as fast as possible. As far as the hot tub being too hot, I am a certified pool operator and we keep our hot tub at a constant 104 degrees. This is checked throughout the day, along with the chemicals, every day. The temperature of 104 is typically comfortable for everyone, and is compliant with all federal pool operation rules for public pools. I do apologize if this guest in particular wanted it cooler. We strive to satisfy all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Hotel Ruidoso, very conveniently located a half block from the main street, is a most pleasant place to stay. The rooms are large, divided into two areas, one for sleeping, the other a small living room, and both sections have a large flat screen television. The rooms and the public areas are spotless and well-maintained. A more-than-adequate complimentary breakfast is served. You'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.6 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
2.6 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Property: Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Address: 110 Chase Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-9352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing