We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Years in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“5 Years in a row”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our 5th year to vacation in Ruidoso. Each time at the Hotel Ruidoso. The location is the best. Standard rooms are not huge but big enough for the 2 of us. Breakfast is fine & replenished as needed. Staff is great (esp. Justin & Ashley) & always have tips on restaurants etc. Carpets are new as well as TVs & lobby computer. We are booked there for next year & look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us all 5 years. Our location is perfect for families to walk to many local attractions along with restaurants, lounges and art galleries. We will share this review with the rest of our staff. Our goal is to exceed customer service expectations for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you next year on your 6th annual visit. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    84
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
72
77
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chaparral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I reserved a junior suite with the sofa bed. The size of the sofa bed is not mentioned because it is a twin size mattress. The mattress was one of the most uncomfortable mattresses that i have ever slept in. You can feel all the springs from the mattress. I was offer a cot. Well the cot made no difference it was the same as the sofa bed.The thermometer from the room did not work so i had to turn on and off the air conditioner all night just to keep it at the right temperature. The air conditioner was so close to the bed that my kids were complaining how cold the bed was. Also the room was not very clean, Their breakfast was just ok same thing everyday. The hot tub was so hot impossible for anyone to get in. Had to go to the front desk to get the door cards program everyday because the cards wouldn't open our door. Sent my son to ask housekeeping for trash bags and the lady was very rude to him. I would definitely not go back. I think i over payed to much for this room specially since i had no sleep at all.

Room Tip: don't pay more for a junior suite the sofa bed is terrible it will be useless go for the room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the feedback for our hotel. The mattresses on the pull out couch and the rollaway bed cannot be very thick because these beds are folded. We are using Leggett and Platt equipment which is supposed to be the best equipment possible for secondary beds. All of our rooms have digital wall mounted thermostats which is located in the center of the room. This allows the thermostats to gauge the main living area of the room for temperature and adjust accordingly. We apologize if there was a problem with the thermostat. Our rooms go thru a PM (preventive maintenance) check regularly and we check the thermostats regularly. All of our rooms are inspected daily before they are claimed ready to be rented. Our head housekeeper inspects every single room that was rented the previous night. We have a rotating menu for the breakfast foods. We change the meat variety regularly and change the type of eggs that are served on a regular basis. Our hot tub is set to a temperature as autorized and suggested by the pool inspector. Our pool is inspected twice per year by a local inspector. They give us guidelines on acceptable temperature. Our key cards are for electronic locks. They have a magnetic strip on the key cards which is programmed to open the door. Sometimes if the keys are placed near a electronic device such as a cell phone they might demagnetize. The keys are disposable so they are changed frequently. The goal at our hotel is to provide the best guest experience possible. We apologize for any problems you encountered and we vow to improve our service by reviewing and improving our procedures on a regular basis. Once again thank you for staying with us and giving us valuable feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel when it was fairly new and had a great experience. Unfortunately, it was not the same experience this visit. I felt that the hotel was not kept as clean as the last visit. Our room was not as clean, as well as the breakfast area. It may have been because it was the weekend of July 4, but was a disappointment. The pillows were hard and out of 8 pillows, not one of them was soft. Need a little of both kinds.

Room Tip: Ask for the pillow type you would like.
See more room tips
Green Features: Asked to save on sheets and towels, with less washing. Had plenty of towels available.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandyFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We apologize for the issues you encountered. We are still the newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Downs. The July 4th holiday is a busy weekend in entire Ruidoso. In anticipation we double staff our breakfast attendents to keep up with the higher pace. Our housekeeping supervisor does a room inspection on every single room that was cleaned on that day. They use a pass fail criteria and if a inspection is failed then the housekeeper must go back in the room and correct the issues. This is done on a daily basis and not just during busy times. We pride ourself in great customer service and we take cleaniness issues very seriously. We aplogize if mistakes were made in your room. You can rest assure we will investigate this problem and fix any issues. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ruidoso in September 2012 during a week long trip throughout New Mexico. We have stayed in Ruidoso before and this is our second stay at the Hotel Ruidoso. The rooms are nice with flat screen TVs, fridge and nice bedding. They have a nice indoor hot tub and pool. The hotel is in the mid-town area and near some great shopping. You can walk across the street to Starbucks and walk a few blocks down to the mid-town shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TejasQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for the compliments. Our location and service is our best assests according to our guests. We are located in the heart of downtown ruidoso entertainment district. Guests can walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruidoso
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

First time visit will book again maybe hot tub will work. Pool needed attention. Staff were very friendly location was great close to everything. Breakfast was very good there was a lot of choices gravy was tasty good job.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We thank you for the feedback. We apologize for the pool and spa were not in working order. We had problems with the filter on the pool and the motor on the spa. Ruidoso is a small community and we are not able to get specialized help as promptly sometimes. We had to call a company out of Albuquerque to come work on our pool and spa. The filter in the pool has been replaced and the motor in the spa has been replaced. Both the pool and spa are now in working order. Once again we apologize for the problem but it was delayed due to the company coming from out of town. Both issues have been adressed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hotel location was very good. We didn"t have a reservation, so we were lucky to get a room. There was some kind of motorcycle convention going on, so hotel filled up fast. Room was clean and comfortable, We got an excellent rate, had a special going on because of the bikers. In door pool was good. fitness room small but adequate. Breakfast was very good, staff friendly. Only problems we had, I reported when we checked out and I am sure it will be repaired.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custer847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We would like to thank you for the review. We value every guests feedback. Our staff works very hard to try to make every guest experience as best as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel was designed beautifully and a very comfortable sleep. It is just not ready.
We were put on the 3rd floor, last room before the carpet layers were installing carpet. There were other rooms, so why put us in a construction area. We had to move dollies and tools to get to our room. We decided we did not want to stay in construction, plus there was a large stain under the desk.
We were given a different room, on the first floor next to a smoker's exit. The doors had major gaps were the latch is and along the floor (1" gap). The gap on the latch side made us nervous, it would be easy to open it if you were so inclined. We used the dead bold latch. What will the rooms be like in winter with the large gaps on the floor?
The decor was beautiful but the construction was shoddy; clear caulk was used to fill gaps in the tile work in the bathroom.
For a relaxing night sleep it was great, but the details still have to be addressed.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the woods behind the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, General Manager at Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thankyou for the feedback. We apologize for the carpet work. We have laid fresh new carpets in all of our rooms. There is really no good time to do this kind of work in an operating hotel so we scheduled it during the time we were the least busiest. However, due to an unexpected spike in demand we had to put some people in areas we thought we would not need to utilize. We tried to do this work in sections so we would not impact customers. Our rooms are PM (preventive maintenance) on a regular basis. Our manager also does a walk thru of common areas to spot any problems that are addressed quickly. Our goal is provide the best hotel experience to all of our guests. The door in question must have had recent problems. It has been fixed. All of our exterior doors have electronic locks which can only be opened with a guest room key. That is for security of the guests. We maintain our hotel in the best condition possible at all times. We apologize your stay was impacted by our improvement work. It was an unexpected demand that cuased us to utilize some areas of the hotel that work was being performed in. The good news is all carpet work is done and the hotel is ready for the upcoming busy summer travel season. Thank you for giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
1.9 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
0.6 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
189 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown

Property: Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Address: 110 Chase Dr, Ruidoso, NM 88345-9352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Ruidoso and Ruidoso Down, NM. Stay in midtown. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, and lounges. 32 inch LCD TV with 4 HBO channels, referigerator, microwave in all rooms. Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, Free HOT Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Spa, Free High Speed wired and wireless internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing