We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was not sure what to expect as this was a last minute trip and I was basing myself on the website. The website was accurate in EVERYTHING that was stated and more. Price was great and all the amenities that were stated were available.

The location was easy to locate and the grounds were neat and clean. We also appreciated the quiet and restful atmosphere of the lodge.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, they are everything they say they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thanks for the review. Our web site was designed and built by us because we wanted it to reflect the property accurately and to be as easy to use as possible. Clearly we succeeded...yes! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    59
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
245
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Shadow Mountain for one night on an overnight anniversary trip and LOVED it! We were actually a little sad to leave. The cabin we stayed in was clean, quiet, and cozy. The bed was SO comfortable. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and polite. We have absolutely no complaints and are recommending these cabins to everyone. One small word of caution that is not at all the lodge's fault- your GPS may have no idea where the lodge is, so make sure you know where you are going, or you may end up at Walmart, like we did. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thanks for the great review. It is for folks like you that we work as hard as we do! Also, thanks for the GPS comment. We have been working on this for 8 years with absolutely no success. Shame on Google!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our week's stay at Shadow Mountain. There's something about sitting on a front porch at 7,000 feet elevation listening to the wind in the pine trees, watching the deer devour the owner's roses and laughing at the hummingbirds protecting their sugar water. Waking to 50 degree temp and smelling the neighborhood log fires just makes you want to curl up in bed and let the world wait on you for a change....
Dave & Jackie Austin
Georgetown, TX

Room Tip: The room numbers start on the right of the lodges. Pick a low number that will give you a gentle bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
"Let the world wait on you for a change" What a great line and it sums up the Shadow Mountain Lodge experience perfectly! Great having you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a concert. We stayed in one of the 4 cabins on the property. Cabin was great for a couple. Comfy bed and linens. Small, efficiency type kitchen was adequate for the little bit of meal prep we were going to do. One reviewer stated the bathroom had no door and I thought hmmm. The cabin does have indeed have an open floor plan; but the commode itself is shut off by a door from the rest of the space. So, if you are one bit squeemish about your partner watching you bathe or brush your teeth this is not the place for you. The grounds were immaculate as well as the cabin. Very quiet location, you would not know you were just off the main drag. Overall great value and a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for such an accurate review. The toilet is indeed private, but the bath is open. Probably not suited for anyone other than couples. But, with only one bed that pretty much narrows the possibilities anyway. Great having you here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aUSTIN, tEXAS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at Shadow Mountain Lodge for several years and really like the owners, so we were a little taken back when it changed hands. GOOD NEWS, the new owners are as good or better tan the last owners. We were there during the recent fire and decided to leave early because my allergies were effected by the smoke. We had pre paid and were soomewhat concerned that we would not get a refund if the owners disagreed with our decision to leave early. There was no problem, the were quite nice and refunded the unused days!

By the way they are like new, having been recently renovated. Definitely the best in Ruidoso!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are closer to parking, just ask for one when making a reservation. Great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OPBAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
It was a pleasure having these folks stay with us. The Little Bear Fire was a sad occurrence and we hated to see anyone have to cut their vacation short because of it. Fortunately, the fire never ended up doing any harm to Ruidoso. We look forward to hosting all the folks who were affected by the smoke at another time. We take all refunds on a case by case basis, but always put ourselves in the guests shoes when we decide on these matters. This one was no challenge at all and we look forward to hosting these folks again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on a recent two week trip through New Mexico. We really liked the extra space compared to the hotel/motel rooms we had been staying in. The king bed was comfortable and we had breakfast every morning in the kitchenette area. In the afternoons, we sipped wine on the porch and watched the hummingbirds at the lodge's feeders before heading out to dinner. The lodge also has laundry facilities, which we took advantage of. Overall, it was a great value and we would stay here again when in southern New Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexofOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
So glad you folks found us! That there are nice hotels in the area is a given. However, the lodge experience is something special and we intend to keep it that way. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statham, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Owners, Chuck and Marilyn, made our stay exceptional with their suggestions for dining and shopping. Very clean facility with a relaxed atmosphere and the rooms were very comfortable including a fireplace and kitchen. This is definitely on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We love that guests tune into the atmosphere that is Shadow Mountain Lodge and all that is Ruidoso. It warms our hearts to hear this kind of feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
Sitzmark Chalet Inn
#2 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Property: Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso
Shadow Mountain Lodge And Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing