We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cabins!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here based on reviews and location and were very pleased with the cabins and the inn keepers. The cabin was exceptionally clean, comfortable and quiet. Marilyn was very helpful and friendly and had good information on the local area. Although the cabin has a good kitchen, we were not there to cook so can highly recommend breakfast at Pena's which is a short walk from the cabin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thanks for the kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed you experience. Come gain anytime! p.s. We love Pena's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We planned a last minute trip to Ruidoso and stayed here based on others reviews. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect- just away from the main road enough so it's quiet at night but still close to all the attractions. Although this is "a place for couples", they gladly welcomed my four year old daughter. They just asked for no running or yelling which is understandable and reasonable. The room just the right size for the three of us and was very comfortable. The property is gorgeous and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommended staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnjnjA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks for the kind review. Shadow Mountain was once for couples only, but it seemed unreasonable to us to turn away responsible folks who have a small child with them. It has been a successful experiment. Thanks for proving us right. Come again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and it was just as described. Clean and comfortable with room to relax. Well equipped kitchen. Nice place to stay. Location is convenient but most restaurants are not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erma92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thanks for the review. If restaurants were you concern we could have helped with that. There are several within a one to ten minute stroll from the lodge and our in room lodge books list all of them for your convenience. Come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We got to Riodoso and stayed at the Shadow Mt Cabins where we had stayed before. It has changed hands a couple of times, and we were hoping it would still be the same quality as before. Since it was autumn we got a deal with the 4th night “free”.

We like these cabins because there is a kitchenette where you can really cook, and a fireplace. A celling fan, good TV and VCR and a couple of chairs on the front porch where you can enjoy the wildlife if it’s the right time of year. The bed is quite comfortable. There are plates and bowls for 2 people (the cabins are for two adults) and 3 each of the utensils. There was a frying pan and two sauce pans. I made bacon and eggs for breakfast and a pan of chile one night. Will grilled sausage outside on the community grill, so we enjoyed not having to eat every meal out - unless we chose to.

We especially enjoy it here because it is quiet - no kids yelling - and only saw one dog around. We will continue to stay here as long as it is a peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brahmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Glad you returned and you can count on continued improvements and a relaxed atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in cabin 301 and absolutely fell in love with it. It was so cozy and relaxing. We enjoyed the fire while watching a movie that we were able to rent from the office there. The jacoozi tub was amazing too. We enjoyed it very much...the bed was extra comfy and as a whole the cabin was very clean and smelt excellent! =) We didn't want to go home. =( lol love love loved it! =) <3

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

It warms our hearts when our property and hard work is appreciated by good folks like you. Come again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here in the lodge in August 2013. This was our first visit to Shadow Mountain Lodge. Most of our experience was excellent, but there were a few exceptions.
First the good things. Anywhere you stay in Ruidoso will get you out of the miserable heat of the surrounding hundreds of miles. It was great to drive from hot bleak desert, through the Hondo Valley, and into mountains with pine trees and temperatures 20 degrees below the surrounding territory. The lodge itself has some huge, beautiful pine trees, some over 2 feet in diameter. The first thing we noticed were the hummingbirds. I saw about a dozen hummingbirds in the first 20 minutes. The lodge has about 5 hummingbird feeders and the hummingbirds are constantly flying down from the pine trees to get a drink. This was very beautiful and I had never seen anything like it. Also, the landscaping is extra beautiful. There are beautiful flowers and bushes, and as I said before, huge pine trees. The lodge itself is very beautiful from the outside. The photos from the Shadow Mountain Lodge website show the beautiful landscaping and the beauty of the lodge itself. OK, why didn't I give 5 stars?
There is a very hot hot tub, but no pool. There is no restaurant or breakfast. The room was fine, and easily worth 69 dollars. Unfortunately, at least in the summer, you are charged twice that per night. For that price, you expect clean and comfortable, but also classy. We got the clean and comfortable. The website photos make the lodge appear secluded. It is not secluded. There is a mildly busy street about 60 or 70 feet in front of the room doors. There are more buildings 100 feet behind the lodge. There is a lovely fire pit with seats around, which you would expect to be the perfect place for romantic talks with your sweetie. Unfortunately, there was a large bright red Coke machine ten feet away. When we were asked about our stay, we mentioned the big red coke machine right next to the fire pit. We were told that this could not be changed. We think it probably could be changed, by maybe putting the machine somewhere else, for example. On our first day, there was a very large dog barking constantly. It was inside the owner's cabin. Someone else said they complained. Someone in a white pickup truck came and took the dog away. We never heard any barking after that. All in all, this is a very nice lodge. The landscaping is exceptionally nice, and the hummingbirds are wonderful. But there were a few problems. If these problems could be changed, this lodge could get 5 stars from me, and earn the "Best place to stay in Ruidoso" award. Also, if you come to Ruidoso, make sure to visit White Sands National Monument and drive through Cloudcroft and the beautiful scenery to get there. Enjoy your trip to the mountains.

Room Tip: We didn't try the cabins, only the lodge room. Also, I'd try a visit here at non-peak times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickTX28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful lodge. Shadow Mountain is the number one lodge in Ruidoso for many reasons and you hit on just a few. However, we do not advertise a swimming pool or breakfast, but the best breakfast in town is on the corner across from the lodge. There were over twenty feeders up in August and it is a full time job keeping them full, so not too sure about that issue. Thanks for the complements on the grounds, also a full time job and it's nice to have them appreciated. Wish there was a better place for the coke machine, but sadly we have yet to arrive at a solution, but agree with you and one day we will figure something out. Come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in cabin 301. This was one of the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel in a long time! The bed was very comfortable, and the night was cool so we slept with the window open. We loved the double-sided fireplace, and the tv that swiveled so you could watch from the living room or the bedroom. The kitchenette was great for having breakfast and beverages in the room. It was too small for cooking a real meal in my opinion, but we didn't particularly want to do that. You must pay attention when showering; not only is the shower in view of the living room sofa, but the windows behind it as well! I'm not sure I will come back to Ruidosa, but if I do I'll definitely stay here again. I would probably request cabin 303 or 304 though, as 301 and 302 back up to the highway with the bedroom window.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hope you make it back again someday. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.0 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
1.5 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#16 of 23 in Ruidoso
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: £111 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso
Shadow Mountain Lodge And Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing