We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a weekend trip and had an amazing time. Shelia was extremely helpful when we were checking in. She helped us get a great deal on ski rental and lift tickets. Saved us about $65 total. The room was great. The bed was amazing. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but the beds had a memory foam mattress and it was great!!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend the lodge for everyone!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nspringer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are so please that we were able to make your stay memorable. Drop back next time your in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

My hubby and I stayed two nights in a beautiful little cabin with hot tub, kitchen, fireplace, lazy-boy loveseat, very comfy bed, swiveling TV, lovely woodwork, all updated...a perfect place for us to recover after a day of skiing. They have a new Jacuzzi in the courtyard gazebo, but we were too beat to leave the cozy room. Our price $175/night. arranged for the lift tickets and ski rentals thru the office making it easy and convenient and at good prices. ski rentals thru Wild West ski shop excellent...see Chris. Skied only one day, totally wore us out, but it was fantastic. A beginners mountain perfect for my hubby with enough blues to keep me busy, too. We definitely want a repeat of this great little vacation, except for my altitude sickness (drove from San Antonio).

Room Tip: The cabin is worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmorehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

So glad we fulfilled your expectations and that you were able to ski. Come again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cabin 301 for 3 nights in June and had the most wonderful time! The cabin was absolutely clean and well appointed. The grounds were gorgeous, full of flowers that time of year and of course the hummingbirds, deer, and other wildlife kept us on the lookout for the natural entertainment that awaited us! We caught trout at Grindstone Reservoir and made dinner using the outdoor grill for the fish and all the other dishes in our cabin's kitchen. We also used the kitchen for breakfast and to pack picnic lunches when we went hiking. We ate dinner at some great restaurants downtown. The cabin was cozy and perfect for a romantic getaway for us and we will plan a return visit in 2014, in fact I am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Nice! Isn't it great when you can take in the entire offering that Ruidoso presents. Hiking, fishing, dining, wildlife. We look forward to having you back. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The cabin with a fireplace was perfect for a cold December night. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean and roomy. Sheila at the front desk was very helpful. She knew a lot about the history of the area. She helped direct us to restaurants and gave us a suggestion for a wonderful back road trip to Santa Fe. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Come again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great location, walking distance to the shops & restaurants, and the staff was very friendly & attentive. We stayed in Cabin 301 due to comments previously & were absolutely pleased, it was equipped with everything you could need. The bed was very comfortable & the reclining loveseat was nice to watch TV & enjoy the fire below. There was a little restaurant across the street called Pena's and the breakfast food was great! I'm sure all of it is good. Throughout the day, the deer would graze on the Lodge grounds & the owners even gave us food so we could feed them out of our hands. It was an amazing site to see. Also, across the street from the Lodge is a nice mountain stream, great for picture taking. I also peaked in the Lodge rooms & they were really nice so I would probably stay in one of them if I ever went back. The grounds were very nice & decorated for Christmas & we were there in mid November so it was nice. I would highly recommend this place to stay & any of the rooms would be great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Reviews like this are warming and we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice quiet place, in a handy location. Close to Inn of the Mountain Gods Casino, downtown, and ski slopes. The owner and staff are friendly, and goes out of the way to help with reservations. The location has large trees , pleasant surroundings. The rooms are large, with a fireplace ,kitchen, and covered porch with chairs...hot tub....outdoor firestand and easy parking. All and all a good deal, with either a private cabin or lodge room.. Also very clean and organized...we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Cabin or lodgeroom, all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. We try very hard to make SML as comfortable as possible and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel was great. Beautiful location that is close to the town amenities. Room very clean and very comfortable bed. Hotel amenties are great. Brand new in ground outdoor hot tub was great way to relax after a full day of hiking the wonderful trails. Pet friendly hotel so we were able to bring out dog. Friendly staff and very helpful. Enjoyed the fire-starter log provided for the fireplace in the room. Definetely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay! Nice when folks use the hot tub too. Come again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
3.4 mi away
Pinecliff Village
Pinecliff Village
#16 of 23 in Ruidoso
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Village Lodge
Village Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ruidoso
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
209 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins

Address: 107 Main Rd, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6336
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins are located in the Historic "Upper Canyon" of Ruidoso - only a short stroll to Mid-Town's Shops, Galleries, Dining and Night Life. We are within 5 - 10 minutes of all 3 Casinos, Horse Racing and Ski Apache turnoff. We are New Owners as of April, 2012. Our Lodge rooms have all been updated with a Mountain Decor to include Bear Mountain Quilts & Inspiring Artwork. Relax on our Large Covered Veranda & enjoy our Beautiful Gardens, Hot Tub and BBQ area. Our Lodge Rooms have a King Bed, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Full Bath and Full Kitchenette. Our Romantic Cabins have open vaulted ceilings, Knotty Pine Interiors, Doubled Sided Gas Fireplace, 180 degree swivel TV/DVD, 2 Person Whirlpools and Private Decks. Shadow Mountain has been a long time favorite for those who visit Ruidoso and has consistently been voted "Best Place To Stay" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Hotel Ruidoso
Shadow Mountain Lodge And Cabins Ruidoso, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing