We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Cabins(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Pine Cabins(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sitzmark Chalet Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Winds Lodge(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
284
62
9
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
62
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoaster ovenfront porchhot tubcovered porchsmall kitchengas fireplacetall pineswithin walking distanceplace to stayquiet locationromantic getawayget awaystayed longerflat screen tvnice sizebed was very comfortablecoffee pot
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is our 4th stay here over the last few years. We stayed in rm 106 in the lodge for 5 days. The room is very clean and the rooms are well appointed. King sized beds with custom bedspreads, nice sitting area and a kitchen with all supplies. The maids were very friendly and will provide full service or just replace towels, etc. landscaping is beautiful. The shower and sink drained extremely slow and the toilet stopped up twice (plungers are located in the laundry room). Otherwise, it was a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EnglishTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our lodge, our staff works very hard to insure that every stay is memorable. We, of course, apologize for any issues with the plumbing. Please know that we are on call 24/7 for any problems with our rooms and would have quickly responded to your issues. We make plungers available as some guests prefer to deal with these things themselves, but by no means do we expect guests to handle these issues otherwise. As a side note, we checked the toilet after your departure and could not find anything wrong, so whatever it was must have cleared on its own. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Shadow Mountain Lodge is a delightful place for a quick getaway. We recently spent three nights in one of the lodge rooms and were very pleased with the facility. Rooms were nicely sized with comfortable beds and linens. The room has both a fireplace and a small kitchenette, that was nicely stocked with everything you would need. Bathrooms are small, but serviceable, and there was no shortage of hot water. A veranda runs the entire length of the lodge with chairs outside each room, making it an ideal place for an early morning of coffee or to read a book in the afternoon.

We come to Ruidoso about once a year to escape Texas summer heat and have stayed at a variety of different places, which I always have a difficult time deciding how to rate. Choices in Ruidoso are mostly either chain budget/mid priced hotels or cabins. (Plus the Mountain Inn of the Gods which is part of the casino. We have never stayed there although the area around the lake there is a delightful place to hike, relax, and enjoy a beer ). Shadow Mountain is in the Upper Canyon area, which is entirely cabin type accomodations and is one of the few where they have lodge rooms in addition to cabins. I gave this a rating of Very Good due to the cleanliness of the property, amenities available in the room, helpfulness of the staff, and pricing, which was comparable or better to others in the Upper Canyon. They also provided daily housekeeping if requested, which not all of the properties do. Internet (free - I plus in my book) worked sufficiently, although cell service was iffy - as it is throughout the Upper Canyon. I don't want to mislead anyone. This is probably what Expedia or other sites would rate as a 2 star property. But in comparison to what is available in Ruidoso, I rank it as very good and a definite consideration.

We were here over a holiday weekend, which required a minimum stay of 4 nights. That seemed like a bit much for a lodge room, 3 nights would have been better. But again, this is comparable to their competitors. Cabins in the area often require a full week stay during high season.

We had an enjoyable stay and would certainly consider it again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pilot123Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us, We are always pleased when folks FINALLY find the Upper Canyon as it really is Ruidoso! ;-) Shadow Mountain Lodge is the number one rated lodge in Ruidoso and is among the top 20 for most romantic in the entire USA as rated by Trip Advisor.. Our decks, gardens, custom built hot tub, green conscious cleaning regimen, friendly staff, entertainment systems, dvd rentals, fire table seating area and wildlife viewing all accentuate our attention to detail and our prime location. All of which have served to deliver us top reviews consistently and we certainly appreciate yours! .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. We had a wonderful view outside of our room and sitting on the porch with a glass of wine in the evening was delightful. We could not imagine staying in Ruidoso in a regular hotel chain and miss the feel of the rustic flavor the area is known for. No wonder Shadow Mountain is No. 1. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review! Come again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in cabin 301. It was great! The cabin is very clean. I love the 180 degree turn of the tv from the living area to the bedroom. They even provide sheets to cover the bed and couch so your dog can set where he wants. The grounds are beautiful. Such ambiance. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAdamOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

So glad that we met your expectations. Thanks for the kind review. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My name is Brandon. Me and my wife Laura stayed here for our honeymoon and we both agree that we couldn't have found a better place. Our experience was wonderful. We stayed in Cabin 304 and it was very clean and comfortable! The cabin was everything we expected and more! It had a nice fireplace, hot tub, flat screen that rotated (very cool), good air conditioning, nice little kitchen with amenities and a porch outside where we enjoyed a nice view and had coffee together! The customer service was the best. We arrived a little late for check in and they had everything ready to go. They were very courteous and even gave us a little card and chocolates congratulating us for our marriage! If we ever go back to Ruidoso, we hope to stay there again! Thank you Shadow Mountain! What a lovely experience! - One Very Happy Couple :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCabins, Owner at Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

First of all, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for the great review. We work very hard at making every stay memorable and we are excited by the fact that we succeeded, especially on such an important occasion. Come again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews