We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this place”
other travellers have booked this property
Papa Bears Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Papa Bears Cabin
Driveway is steep and in Winter Weather can be icy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Papa Bears Cabin
Driveway is steep and in Winter Weather can be icy!
Gas fireplace in the living area with TV and WiFi!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ruidoso, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
missjules...
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We went to happy Bears cabin for Christmas and absolutely adored this place. We wanted a cabin feel and snow and we definitely got what we wanted. It was very clean and had everything you need, just like a home. We also met a deer who came up to the cabin. We named her "Daisy". We highly recommend this place and we WILL return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texasgirl...
ft worth texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soooo many deer!!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Holy smokes!!! Soooo many sweet deer!!! They eat right out of your hand!!! The cabin is adorable and sipping coffee or an adult beverage under the trees just melts your stress away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“papabear really enjoyed relaxing vaca”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was a very relaxing environment with terrific scenery. the only reason it didn't get a 5 star review was the challenge with parking. glad the weather was nice but in bad weather I could see it being a big issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for the comments. Should weather become an issue Cozy Cabins can arrange for clearing the drive. We recommend that during snow season all renters at all rentals have 4 wheel drive or tire chains as it is the mountains and a tougher terrain is to be expected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrDoppler
Lubbock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip and beautiful cabin”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I took a vacation to Ruidoso in January 2017. The cabin was well kept and very comfortable. Snow fell during our stay adding to the majestic mountain beauty that surrounds this location. Deer made an appearance regularly. This cabin is amazing and my wife and I had a fantastic time. We plan to visit again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yazmin H
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome cozy place”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Great cozy place, awesome fireplace, enough pillows for the family. kitchen fully stocked. Awesome deck. Driveway okay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbyswin
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great time with the kids!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We visited the cabin for a week with two teens and an 8 yr old. There were plenty of room for sleeping arrangements. Each bedroom has a full bath which was very convenient. Fully stock kitchen. But deer feed hi pro alphas 6 at the feed store and deer will eat from your hands. Casinos a blast. Kids went zip lining of ski Apache and the youngest went horseback riding at grindstone. We cooked out on ski Apache one day. And visited Lincoln New Mexico. We were lucky to be here for full moon and did visit the white sands national monument for moonlight madness and sledding. Kids had a blast!! It was warm but the have a window unit in open concept kitchen dining, so we placed both ceiling fans facing n each room to bring in the cool rooms. The room with the doubles we just opened Windows and we were comfy with 60 degree nights. Horse races were fun! Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you for staying with us! I'm so glad your family had a week of fond mountain memories to look back and remember! White Sands is such a blast during full moon events! Please come back and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Abilene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was hands down the most relaxing vacation ever! The cabin is beautifully decorated and very clean! I'm kind of a nut on the clean thing, so this was a great start to our stay! Every morning I would wake up to deer coming to visit. They love carrots, apples, and high protein alfalfa based food. The cabin is just a couple minutes from the downtown shopping and dining so it was easy to get to shopping for souvenirs for poor family members that were at home slaving away. On our last day, there was a very spectacular thunderstorm. So I took advantage of the washer and dryer and did all of our laundry so when we got home I just had to put our clothes away! I can't wait to go back next summer! I think the deer miss me. Please feed them for me when you go. And you should definitely go!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing