We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Rude Staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The woman at front desk needs lessons in customer service. She acted like she was mad because we booked our rooms on line. There was a mix up one of our rooms should have been canceled but it ended up being two canceled. Then she jacked the rate up on the room we needed. The ice machine on our floor did not work,the fridge in the room did not work. Toilet would only flush if held handle down for complete flush. One Needed to change one room from single to double beds she just said that's what you booked that's what you get. Never will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    29
    21
    10
See reviews for
48
39
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Overall, the customer service at this hotel was very poor. The manager on duty was not friendly or helpful at all, she was sarcastic, condescending, unprofessional and rude. Not the kind of person you'd like to meet and deal with after traveling for so many hours by car/plane. Hotel staff, especially the management, should try their best to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Granted, all hotels are different, depending on many factors, eg location, brand name, prestige, history, ammenties, etc. However, all guests have general basic expectations for any hotel stay. You want a safe, comfortable, and clean room. You want all the room's amenities/applicances to be properly working. If you don't know the answer to a question, don't just stop at "I don't know", try to find the answer out and get back to the guest. When a guest brings something to your attention, eg lack of hot water in the shower/bath, apologize for the inconvenience, and do something about it. "Well, what do you want me to do about it?" and "There's nothing I can do." are not the ways to run a successful business. The staff would greatly benefit from additional training. A discounted rate was eventually provided.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruidoso hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this reservation for a weekend stay for $69 a night. Other then the carpet stains this hotel was clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and knowledgable. The only real complaint I had were my neighbors on the same floor as I. My boyfriend and I were trying to sleep in and the walls were so thin you can hear their conversations in the hall way. That kept us awake.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just stayed here. Had reservations for a few months. They reserved the rooms for $159.. Pull up to hotel and peoe in front of us check in for $69. We had 3 rooms and they would not budge on price.. Is hotel worth $69? Yes!!! $159.00 NO!!!!!!! Felt like I got ripped off!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlestrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We went down to Ruidoso this weekend for my husbands birthday. I made the reservation online before we left the house. Upon checking in, a staff member named Melinda was at the counter to help me. She was VERY rude. She told me that she could not find my reservation under my last name so I pulled up the confirmation email on my phone. At the top of the email it CLEARLY stated RUIDOSO MOUNTAIN INN with my confirmation number. She told me that it wasn't one of their confirmation numbers and that I must be at the wrong hotel. So I pointed at it and very slowly and clearly read it to her (trying to make a point). Then she grabs my phone and starts scrolling through the email and typing numbers into the computer. She never could find my reservation (although by this time I'm not even sure she was really looking). She was about to send me away when I finally asked her if I could just have another room. I cancelled my first reservation from my phone so that I wouldn't get charged twice. The hotel lobby is nice but the rooms are outdated and desperately need a face lift. Not impressed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank true2myself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had stayed here when it was a Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed our stay. After I booked the room, the name changed and the reviews made me wonder if I had made a mistake. We did, however, have an enjoyable stay and are fears were unfounded. The service was good, the room was nice and the breakfast was good. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We are platinum Holiday Inn Members. We have stayed there several times over the years and each time it got a little more run down!! I said the last time we stayed there NEVER AGAIN!! The rooms are okay but the staff is TERRIBLE !! Rude not helpful at all !! In fact they don't even look up when you come in the door!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruidoso hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
223 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
3.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruidoso Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruidoso Mountain Inn

Property: Ruidoso Mountain Inn
Address: 400 Highway 70, Ruidoso, NM 88345-6171
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ruidoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruidoso Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ruidoso, New Mexico. While visiting the Playground of the Southwest, whether skiing at Ski Apache, trying your luck at three nearby Casinos, or playing the odds at Ruidoso Downs Racetrack & Billy the Kid Casino, home of the worlds richest Quarterhorse Race, The All American Futurity. Enjoy the nearby Spencer Theater. Come discover New Mexico's best kept secret, with a year round moderate climate. Ruidoso offers an abundance of real estate, great restaurants, cabins, shopping and beautiful mountain scenery in southern New Mexico. Our hotel features 104 guestrooms with 6 suites. We have an outdoor seasonal pool as well as an outdoor hot tub that stays open year around. We have 3 floors with an interior corridor and an elevator. Join us every morning for a Smart Start Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We can also host meetings with a maximum of 30 occupants. Let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel be your home away from home with the quality and comfort you expect, and deserve. Allow us to accommodate your needs while visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ruidoso Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ruidoso Hotel Ruidoso
Holiday Inn Ruidoso
Ruidoso Mountain Inn New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing