We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Londolozi Founders Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent several days at Londolozi and AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp. We loved both, and found subtle differences that enhanced our overall experience.

We especially liked Londolozi's emphasis on helping and developing a workforce from the local community. Our fantastic ranger and tracker were both from a local village and their cultural insights, in addition to being terrific tracking animals, was extremely enriching. We really appreciated that Londolozi included our tracker, as well as our ranger, in two evening meals.

The accommodations could not have been nicer, though in winter, the plunge pool, which isn't heated, wasn't especially significant to us. The main lodge had beautiful views over the river, and we watched elephants at lunch one day.

The one consideration that we actually preferred at Ngala, is that Londolozi is considerably bigger, and there are more lodges overall in Sabi Sands -- so this meant that there were times when we needed to "stand by" to wait to see a particular animal sighting so there would not be too many vehicles disturbing the animals. Ngala felt just a bit wilder perhaps, because we never had to wait until there was a spot free to see a leopard, etc.

Room Tip: We didn't need it, but we saw a family suite with a connecting glass corridor -- had the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Hi Barbeque,

Thank you for taking the time to review Londolozi Founders camp. We are terribly sorry that you had to wait for sightings as we usually pride ourselves on having enough land to not have to do this. We will be sure to look into the situation and hopefully rectify it for your future visits to Londolozi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall Londolozi experience.

Kindest regards,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited this property as the first of three safari camps and our first time to any. Our expectations were high but the reality was better by far. The dedication to preservation of wild Africa was apparent in many ways. Yet the accomodations rival a top level hotel, going beyond basic comfort. Imagine a deck-level hot tub with a view of the banks of the Sand River! We were cared for as honored guests and the small number of other guests heightened this impression. Good opportunities were available to interact with other guests but we were free to choose our desired level of engagement. We were greatly impressed with the skill displayed by all the staff, along with their genuine desire to make our visit a memorable one. Special events were blended into our stay, even the opportunity to visit the nearbby camp village where we were serenaded by the children and welcomed by older students engaged in learning computer skills.

By the time we had finished our three days of safaries we felt part of wild Africa, superbly guided by the team driving and tracking as well as coordinating with other vehicles to share animal encounters. Although we are long-time and experienced travelers, we became so enthusiastic that we have with the slightest encouragement continued to share our experiences and recommended stays at Londolozi Founders Camp.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear plktraveler,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp. It is always so fantastic to know that our guests have an enjoyable time.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Londolozi. My husband did not want to go on this trip and we are now planning to return to Africa with the rest of the family at his insistence, and will surely stop at Founder's. The camp is lovely- very comfortable but not over the top. One gets the sense that the staff is well treated and it shows in the warmth and care they show the guests.

We also had a terrific experience with Dean Smithyman and Elmon Mhlongo- a great ranger and guide team.

We visited briefly the other camps that make up the Londolozi property- and I don't think you could go wrong with any of them - although we really liked the size and feel of Founder's.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank story4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi Story4110,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp at Londolozi. It was a wonderful pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return visit. I will be sure to get your kind words to the Founders camp team as well as Dean and Elmon.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Londolozi is about animals and family. If you want an amazing and heart-felt experience where the staff call you by your first name and where the conservation of majestic animals is the primary ethos of the lodge, then Londolozi is the place for you. Londolozi is filled with the legends of Africa. From the Varty family who built and run the five camps at Londolozi (as well as being the inspiration for the particular safari model for Phinda and other reserves throughout Africa) to men like Elmon Mhlongo who have tracked animals in the Londolozi bush for over 43 years, the knowledge that the folks at Londolozi impart to their guests about animals, conservation, politics, economics, art, culture and frankly, anything else sub-Saharan African, is superb. Additionally, the activities at Londolozi support a 250 person village complete with a fully equipped digital learning center serving the Shangaan community who support Londolozi. On nearly every Trip Advisor review of Londolozi, the reviewers are filled with exuberance detailing the wonderful and impeccable accommodations, the plethora of game viewing activities (along with a dearth of other vehicles), and the efforts by the staff to make a guest’s experience memorable. Don’t get me wrong, ALL of that is spot on and more, and the staff go WAY beyond what they have to in order to accomplish their duties for the guests. But aside from the animals, the true heart of Londolozi is its people. Simply put, the staff at Londolozi are the kind of folks to whom you present an open invitation to stay at your home if they ever make it to your hometown. Thank you to our ranger Dean Smithyman, our tracker Elmon Mhlongo, Cry, Jackie, Talley, Lovey, Phil, and everyone else who make Founders Camp at Londolozi the ideal arena to view Africa’s treasures. We are truly indebted to all of you. Kat and Beau.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi Kat and Beau,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is so wonderful to hear that you feel apart of the family, that is what we strive for each and every day. I will be sure to get your kind words to Dean, Talley, Elmon, Lovey, Phil, Cry and all the staff at Founders camp.

We look so forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi in the near future!

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our 3 days at the Founders Camp were simply great.
The accommodations were excellent, newly remodeled, very spacious, comfortable, with a king size bed with a first class mattress, luxurious linen and great pillows. The bathroom was well appointed, with all kinds of amenities and separate interior and exterior showers. A small round pool equipped with a jacuzzi stream was located on the outside deck and regularly visited by monkeys. The private individual bungalows are located on high stilts which permit an excellent view of the banks of the Sand River and the African bush.
The meeting deck was a bit on the minimalist side, but clean looking and well taken care of.
All the food served was simply excellent, well prepared and creative. The service was absolutely superb and our meals were attended by a wonderfully gracious lady named Tokho, which left a deep and memorable impressions on all the members of our party (6).
The 2 daily game drives were attended by a charming, knowledgeable and fun guide named Jessica who teamed up with a great tracker named Jeffrey (highly recommended team); they certainly made our stay worthwhile and we did get to see all the big fives plus cheetahs, bucks, crocs, zebras, hippos, giraffes, monkeys, warthogs and kinds of birds.
The rest of the staff from the camp manager (Tammy) to the other members of the team were also just great and went out of their way to please us.
The camp has a swimming pool, a small work out room, a library and nice store which sells interesting artifacts and African crafts.
A memorable, repeatable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kh445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi Kh445,

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a memorable experience at Founders Camp. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Tammy, Jess, Jeff, Thoko and the rest of the Founders camp team!

We look forward to your next visit but until then keep an eye on our blog for daily updates.
Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After spend tree days at Londolozi, it is difficult to go back to a normal life. I just got back last night and what a memorable experience!
The staff is exceptional and treat you like family.
I could not imagine better guides than Tom and Jerry!
The facilities left not to be desired! The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Our group did not have any complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hi Sira_13,

Thank you for your great review on Founders Camp. We are thrilled to know that your stay was so enjoyable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just got back from S. Africa and our safari there - "Camp" is a ridiculous way to describe Londolozi! It's complete luxury in the middle of the game preserve - Staff is terrific, game drivers and guides extremely well-versed and the animals so plentiful that you can't help seeing "the big five"! We were a group of eight who booked through Classic Africa and age ranged from 27 to 82 and the trip was perfect for every one of us - Recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: No "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank words4beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Hi Words4beth,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Londolozi. We are so glad yo hear that your trip was so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to far future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
12.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
13.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
430 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
8.3 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Founders Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Founders Camp

Address: Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £5,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, intimate and child friendly, Founder’s Camp is ideally situated to provide an insider’s view of the secrets of river life. Seven idyllic chalets, repose in the shade of ancient ebony and matumi trees along the banks of the Sand River.This is an African safari in the classic style, replete with black and cream ticking fabric and original mahogany beds. Deep leather couches, military chests, compass safari lamps and a riverside lounge sala, create a mood of easy luxury and laid back welcome for discerning families and travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Founders Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing