We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Londolozi Founders Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$99
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
143
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolgame viewingsabi sandsoutdoor showersouth africafrom arrival to departureprivate deckattention to detailthree nightsfood was amazingranging in agelovely ladyperfect honeymoonkids clubfamily vacationexceeded expectationsfantastic trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We where at Londolozi from the 31st October 2013 for 3 nights. We have been to Londolozi before but have never stayed at Founders camp. From start to finish it was a FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE. There was absolutely nothing to complain about from the service to the rooms, to the game, ranger & tracker too the food and the wonderful staff that make your trip that extra bit special. Cry and Phillip were wonderful hosts and did a great job. Edward who was our butler was a magnificent man he attended to our every need and went above and beyond too even come serve us a 3 course meal on our private deck. We were room no 1 so it was a far walk and he brough everything to us. Thank you Edward for everything. Our Ranger Don and tracker James were very informative and a great team, Don makes excellent ranger coffee, and thank you Don who took us on a bush walk and after about 45 minutes walk we came around the corner and they had planned a romantic picnic in a tree house for us as it was our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was such a special afternoon and one we will remember forever!!!!!!!!! The chefs did a wonderful meal for us and there was champagne and wine, there were even binoculars and a bird book with playing cards to keep us occupied whilst in the tree house. My husband and i have been to well over 15 different game lodges and this was by far one of the best experiences we have ever had in the bush........... We look forward to returning to such wonderful food, accomodation and service and game viewing in the near future. THANK YOU for a trip of a life time. Sean & Michelle Barker

Room Tip: We had room no 1 very quiet and peaceful away from the living area. the splash pool was such a nice suprise
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinasour_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Sean and Michelle,

It is always so wonderful having you with us and such a treat to be able to spend time with you! It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Founders camp! We look forward to your next visit.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a wonderful camp. This was my second visit to Londolozi Founders camp and my third time to Londolozi. Let me begin by saying there are no words to describe the magic of this camp.
Although they are not a small camp it feels as if you are their only guest at times. The attention to detail is impeccable.
The animal sightings are incredible and the hospitality is like no other. Everyone magically knows who you are and your favorite drink and particulars. Each and every person goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable.
My camp managers Tammy and Cry after just 3 days felt like family. My ranger Trevor and tracker Bennett were incredible. They worked effortlessly to find us great sighting and got us up close and personal when i didn't think it was possible. Always making sure everyone on the vehicle had a good view and even assisted with photography. I never felt like we were rushed off a sighting nor did I feel we had to wait for a sighting. There is so much to see and I had the pleasure of seeing big cats every drive. I have been to many camps in many countries and Londolozi is my favorite!

Room Tip: I was in room number 7 it had a wonderful view of river baboons and elephant were in my backyard
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Beanie 2664,

We were so thrilled to have you with us for your third visit and are happy to hear that it lived up to previous experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write to us! You pictures are wonderful.

We look so forward to your next visit!
Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent several days at Londolozi and AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp. We loved both, and found subtle differences that enhanced our overall experience.

We especially liked Londolozi's emphasis on helping and developing a workforce from the local community. Our fantastic ranger and tracker were both from a local village and their cultural insights, in addition to being terrific tracking animals, was extremely enriching. We really appreciated that Londolozi included our tracker, as well as our ranger, in two evening meals.

The accommodations could not have been nicer, though in winter, the plunge pool, which isn't heated, wasn't especially significant to us. The main lodge had beautiful views over the river, and we watched elephants at lunch one day.

The one consideration that we actually preferred at Ngala, is that Londolozi is considerably bigger, and there are more lodges overall in Sabi Sands -- so this meant that there were times when we needed to "stand by" to wait to see a particular animal sighting so there would not be too many vehicles disturbing the animals. Ngala felt just a bit wilder perhaps, because we never had to wait until there was a spot free to see a leopard, etc.

Room Tip: We didn't need it, but we saw a family suite with a connecting glass corridor -- had the children been younger, this might have been a great option. Founders Camp has been recently redecorated and is lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Hi Barbeque,

Thank you for taking the time to review Londolozi Founders camp. We are terribly sorry that you had to wait for sightings as we usually pride ourselves on having enough land to not have to do this. We will be sure to look into the situation and hopefully rectify it for your future visits to Londolozi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall Londolozi experience.

Kindest regards,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited this property as the first of three safari camps and our first time to any. Our expectations were high but the reality was better by far. The dedication to preservation of wild Africa was apparent in many ways. Yet the accomodations rival a top level hotel, going beyond basic comfort. Imagine a deck-level hot tub with a view of the banks of the Sand River! We were cared for as honored guests and the small number of other guests heightened this impression. Good opportunities were available to interact with other guests but we were free to choose our desired level of engagement. We were greatly impressed with the skill displayed by all the staff, along with their genuine desire to make our visit a memorable one. Special events were blended into our stay, even the opportunity to visit the nearbby camp village where we were serenaded by the children and welcomed by older students engaged in learning computer skills.

By the time we had finished our three days of safaries we felt part of wild Africa, superbly guided by the team driving and tracking as well as coordinating with other vehicles to share animal encounters. Although we are long-time and experienced travelers, we became so enthusiastic that we have with the slightest encouragement continued to share our experiences and recommended stays at Londolozi Founders Camp.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear plktraveler,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp. It is always so fantastic to know that our guests have an enjoyable time.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Londolozi. My husband did not want to go on this trip and we are now planning to return to Africa with the rest of the family at his insistence, and will surely stop at Founder's. The camp is lovely- very comfortable but not over the top. One gets the sense that the staff is well treated and it shows in the warmth and care they show the guests.

We also had a terrific experience with Dean Smithyman and Elmon Mhlongo- a great ranger and guide team.

We visited briefly the other camps that make up the Londolozi property- and I don't think you could go wrong with any of them - although we really liked the size and feel of Founder's.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank story4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi Story4110,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp at Londolozi. It was a wonderful pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return visit. I will be sure to get your kind words to the Founders camp team as well as Dean and Elmon.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews