We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safari Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Londolozi Founders Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent 3 days at Founders Camp at Londolozi and this family vacation was right up there with the best we've ever had. The game drives were obviously the highlight. We had seen all of the big 5 (plus zebras, giraffes, crocodiles, warthogs, wildebeest, hippos, a cheetah and even a pack of wild dogs) within the first 4 drives. We even came across a pride of lions sunning themselves on the 5-minute drive from the airstrip to the camp. We were able to observe a leopard going for the kill (unsuccessfully) of a warthog and saw lions feasting on a buffalo and later a zebra. We were amazed at how close we were able to get to the animals.

All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Emma who helped entertain the kids when we weren't out on the drives, and to our ranger Dan and tracker Attie who were fantastic! The food was amazing and the entire setting was perfect. We especially enjoyed the views from our deck with the private (except for the monkeys and impala) plungepool and outdoor shower. Yes it is expensive but it is an unbelievable experience and well worth it. We viewed this as a once in a lifetime trip but we are already trying to figure out when we can come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Steve L,

Wow, what amazing sightings you had! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Londolozi in the near future. I will be sure to send your thanks onto Dan, Attie, Emma and all at Founders camp that made your stay so special.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Londolozi Founders Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Londolozi team create a perfect ambiance in the bush from which to base your introduction to the game of Sabi Sands. Rooms are well-appointed with modest plunge pools, from which one might see elephants or other game wandering in the distance.

Food is homey with an emphasis on fostering interaction between guests in a relaxed style.

But it is the game and the ranger/tracker teams which define the spirit of the Camp. We had an exceptional team, but it is clear that Londolozi prides itself on the intensity of training and importance of community spirt among the rangers. Our ranger brought to life the array of game in the surrounding area and helped make our stay be both memorable and truly special.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear M R,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and we are ecstatic to here that you felt as though Londolozi felt like your home away from home! We look forward to welcoming you home in the future!

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Superb family holiday, Christmas 2013. We loved the daily game drives; the afternoon sun downers in the bush. Our tracker Robert and game ranger Nsako were just amazing, professional and very talented. We saw lions every day, hunting and feeding. We also saw jaguar, elephant, buffalo, baboons and monkeys; all sorts of eagles, vultures, hyena and giraffes. The head chef from Malawi really impressed us with fresh, healthy and very tasty food. We are vegan and were served some wonderful meals. The staff could not do enough to ensure our total comfort and satisfaction. The 2 ladies that look after the children were just marvellous. My children played cards, cooked, went to shooting practice and swam. They loved every minute of it. The weather was a bit rainy but we still had a superb 4 day stay... Thank you Londolozi for a superb Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is so wonderful to hear that you and the family had such special stay with us despite the rain! I will be sure to send your kind words onto Ntsako, Robert and the entire Founders camp team!

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We where at Londolozi from the 31st October 2013 for 3 nights. We have been to Londolozi before but have never stayed at Founders camp. From start to finish it was a FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE. There was absolutely nothing to complain about from the service to the rooms, to the game, ranger & tracker too the food and the wonderful staff that make your trip that extra bit special. Cry and Phillip were wonderful hosts and did a great job. Edward who was our butler was a magnificent man he attended to our every need and went above and beyond too even come serve us a 3 course meal on our private deck. We were room no 1 so it was a far walk and he brough everything to us. Thank you Edward for everything. Our Ranger Don and tracker James were very informative and a great team, Don makes excellent ranger coffee, and thank you Don who took us on a bush walk and after about 45 minutes walk we came around the corner and they had planned a romantic picnic in a tree house for us as it was our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was such a special afternoon and one we will remember forever!!!!!!!!! The chefs did a wonderful meal for us and there was champagne and wine, there were even binoculars and a bird book with playing cards to keep us occupied whilst in the tree house. My husband and i have been to well over 15 different game lodges and this was by far one of the best experiences we have ever had in the bush........... We look forward to returning to such wonderful food, accomodation and service and game viewing in the near future. THANK YOU for a trip of a life time. Sean & Michelle Barker

Room Tip: We had room no 1 very quiet and peaceful away from the living area. the splash pool was such a nice...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinasour_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Sean and Michelle,

It is always so wonderful having you with us and such a treat to be able to spend time with you! It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Founders camp! We look forward to your next visit.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a wonderful camp. This was my second visit to Londolozi Founders camp and my third time to Londolozi. Let me begin by saying there are no words to describe the magic of this camp.
Although they are not a small camp it feels as if you are their only guest at times. The attention to detail is impeccable.
The animal sightings are incredible and the hospitality is like no other. Everyone magically knows who you are and your favorite drink and particulars. Each and every person goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable.
My camp managers Tammy and Cry after just 3 days felt like family. My ranger Trevor and tracker Bennett were incredible. They worked effortlessly to find us great sighting and got us up close and personal when i didn't think it was possible. Always making sure everyone on the vehicle had a good view and even assisted with photography. I never felt like we were rushed off a sighting nor did I feel we had to wait for a sighting. There is so much to see and I had the pleasure of seeing big cats every drive. I have been to many camps in many countries and Londolozi is my favorite!

Room Tip: I was in room number 7 it had a wonderful view of river baboons and elephant were in my backyard
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Beanie 2664,

We were so thrilled to have you with us for your third visit and are happy to hear that it lived up to previous experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write to us! You pictures are wonderful.

We look so forward to your next visit!
Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent several days at Londolozi and AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp. We loved both, and found subtle differences that enhanced our overall experience.

We especially liked Londolozi's emphasis on helping and developing a workforce from the local community. Our fantastic ranger and tracker were both from a local village and their cultural insights, in addition to being terrific tracking animals, was extremely enriching. We really appreciated that Londolozi included our tracker, as well as our ranger, in two evening meals.

The accommodations could not have been nicer, though in winter, the plunge pool, which isn't heated, wasn't especially significant to us. The main lodge had beautiful views over the river, and we watched elephants at lunch one day.

The one consideration that we actually preferred at Ngala, is that Londolozi is considerably bigger, and there are more lodges overall in Sabi Sands -- so this meant that there were times when we needed to "stand by" to wait to see a particular animal sighting so there would not be too many vehicles disturbing the animals. Ngala felt just a bit wilder perhaps, because we never had to wait until there was a spot free to see a leopard, etc.

Room Tip: We didn't need it, but we saw a family suite with a connecting glass corridor -- had the childre...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Hi Barbeque,

Thank you for taking the time to review Londolozi Founders camp. We are terribly sorry that you had to wait for sightings as we usually pride ourselves on having enough land to not have to do this. We will be sure to look into the situation and hopefully rectify it for your future visits to Londolozi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the overall Londolozi experience.

Kindest regards,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited this property as the first of three safari camps and our first time to any. Our expectations were high but the reality was better by far. The dedication to preservation of wild Africa was apparent in many ways. Yet the accomodations rival a top level hotel, going beyond basic comfort. Imagine a deck-level hot tub with a view of the banks of the Sand River! We were cared for as honored guests and the small number of other guests heightened this impression. Good opportunities were available to interact with other guests but we were free to choose our desired level of engagement. We were greatly impressed with the skill displayed by all the staff, along with their genuine desire to make our visit a memorable one. Special events were blended into our stay, even the opportunity to visit the nearbby camp village where we were serenaded by the children and welcomed by older students engaged in learning computer skills.

By the time we had finished our three days of safaries we felt part of wild Africa, superbly guided by the team driving and tracking as well as coordinating with other vehicles to share animal encounters. Although we are long-time and experienced travelers, we became so enthusiastic that we have with the slightest encouragement continued to share our experiences and recommended stays at Londolozi Founders Camp.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Founders Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear plktraveler,

Thank you for your kind review on Founders Camp. It is always so fantastic to know that our guests have an enjoyable time.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
12.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
451 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#9 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
504 reviews
6.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
8.3 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Founders Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Founders Camp

Address: Londolozi Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £5,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, intimate and child friendly, Founder’s Camp is ideally situated to provide an insider’s view of the secrets of river life. Seven idyllic chalets, repose in the shade of ancient ebony and matumi trees along the banks of the Sand River.This is an African safari in the classic style, replete with black and cream ticking fabric and original mahogany beds. Deep leather couches, military chests, compass safari lamps and a riverside lounge sala, create a mood of easy luxury and laid back welcome for discerning families and travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Founders Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing