We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Londolozi Tree Camp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
113
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomgame drivessafari experiencecoffee teaour honeymoonamazing placeplunge poolattention to detailpure luxurygame lodgeenormous bathroomafrica tripfour nightsmaking surewithin feetsense of humourpicnic lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Londolozi is absolutely in the once in a lifetime experience category. Not just the fabulous time you will have viewing the amazing array of animal life but the accommodation, dining and service experience. every single member of the team here gets what quality service is about while still maintaining a delightfully friendly and welcoming environment. The food is outstanding and they never stop feeding you, the rooms are absolutely sumptuous and what a delight to be able to look out your lounge window and see an elephant feeding in the bush down below you. to top it off the wildlife viewing in fantastic. Sitting within feet of Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Elephants it is difficult to find words to describe how amazing it was. We saw everything we wanted to see and more. Baby Leopards, baby Hyenas, a porcupine rushing through the brush, a male Lion roaring in the night 6 feet from the vehicle. The guides and trackers are incredibly knowledgeable and skilled but also possess a genuine love and enthusiasm for the bush which is infectious. the whole experience was just perfect

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Murrpark,

It i so wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Londolozi Tree Camp. We look so forward to your next visit.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I am tempted to refer to Chris F's review, write "Like he said," and leave it at that. I can only vouch for the authenticity and veracity of everything he said. My wife and I also had the good fortune of having Ranger Mike, Tracker Like, and manager Jess as the best team imaginable. Our only "complaint" is that we only had five days to spend there. A year would be far more appropriate.
So let me see if I can find some things Chris F didn't mention. First the drill: A knock on the door at 5:45 AM with a tray of hot french-pressed coffee, the best orange juice in the world (It's like they take peeled oranges and just throw them in a blender,) fruit and yogurt, just to be awake enough to get into the landrover at 6:15 AM for the morning drive. Back around 9:30 AM for breakfast, always with some great special, and the best muesli imaginable. (Jess kindly gave us the recipe.) (Breakfast one morning out in the bush with Chef Robbie's scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Best scrambled eggs in the world. Better than I can make at home.) Get some rest before lunch and the PM game drive if possible. We felt we just didn't have time to allow ourselves to truly luxuriate in our - what do I call it? It's not a room. It's more like a chalet. My wife skipped one of the drives, just to be able to spend SOME time in the chalet.
Every chalet is not only beautifully decorated, but the living room is stocked with wonderful reading material including "Londolozi - The Journey," and "I Speak of Africa" (which I purchased when I got home - a must read) and books about wildlife and birds etc. Every evening, the beds have been turned down with our cocoon of mosquito netting, with "Pleasant Sleep" having been sprayed.
The wildlife in camp is great with vervet monkeys, nyalas and duikers roaming freely.
Dinner in the BOMA is beyond magical. It's like the nighttime scene in the movie "Avatar." The kerosene lanterns, the roaring wood fire, glowing coals, the full moon, the sandy floor. I could go on and on.
The game drives - Mike and Like's dedication, knowledge, toughness and kindness - absolutely extraordinary. All the game Chris F talked about, plus birds. Some people say, "Came to Londolozi for the leopards. Stayed for the birds." Could be true! Burchell's starlings, Greater blue-eared starlings, red-billed and yellow-billed hornbills, crested barbets, African jacanas, red-billed oxpeckers, speckle-throated woodpeckers, purple rollers and lilac breasted rollers - what a feast for the eye.
In fact, that is what Londolozi is - A feast for the eye, the heart and the soul. Bravo, and thank you, Londlozi.

Room Tip: Room 2 is superb.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Michael K,

Thank you for the most wonderful words about Londolozi Tree Camp. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. You spot on about the orange juice...that is exactly what we do - through peeled oranges into a blender! I will be sure to get your thoughtful words to Mike, Like, Jess and the rest of the Tree camp staff.

We look so forward to having you with us again to hopefully see more of those wonderful birds and maybe a leopard or two?!

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The entire experience was perfect!
Kate was the BEST ranger ever!! Mark was a wonderful host and New Year's Eve was amazing! The meals were delicious and always beautifully presented!!
Each night dinner was in a unique setting.
Animal sightings were terrific; the love they have for the animals and their protection is wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAHAAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi BAHAAtlanta_Georgia,

Thank you for posting those great pictures and such a wonderful review. It is great to hear that your stay was so enjoyable,

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe the experience we had at Londolozi Tree Camp – it was spectacular from the moment we arrived at the airstrip to be collected by our guide and welcomed to camp with a glass of good quality champagne and a warm welcome.

The first wonder are the staff – every single person is unfailingly cheerful friendly, helpful and willing to go out of their way to make your stay a superb one and one which is tailored to your interests. For example we enjoy wine and were surprised and delighted on the return from our afternoon game drive to be taken to a fabulous wine tasting complete with white table cloths, glasses, nibbles all surrounded by bush lamps in the middle of the park on sunset with very pleasant company – heaven on wheels for us. Staff are around to welcome you back to camp and interact but they also respect your space and leave you to enjoy time on your own without interruption, which was great. We had our own table for breakfast lunch and dinner to share the experiences of the day and also enjoyed sharing dinner on a couple of evenings with Mike, Jess -our Camp manager or our game drive companions.

Second wonder are the rooms and the lodge itself – spacious, luxurious, private and superbly furnished rooms with not a detail skimped on. The bed was massive and so comfortable surrounded by lovely sculpted mossie nets. The bathroom, outside shower and plunge pool, dressing room, private deck, lounge all marvellous spaces to relax.
The Lodge is beautiful, stylish, elegant and very tastefully decorated, it has stunning views across the bush from the deck where you can spot animals as they pass by. Dinner is served in a special outdoor space with candles and lamps to create a lovely atmosphere.

Third wonder - the food which was unbelievably good, fresh, varied and plentiful and would do justice to a Michelin star or two – breakfast, lunch dinner all have multiple delicious choices, specials and are served in very special venues – the tree top deck is beautiful and entertaining as staff chase off the ever watchful monkeys looking for a moment to steal a muffin! We tried impala and many bush fruits and tastes which were fascinating and delicious. Wines are local and delicious and every taste is catered for. One (tongue in cheek) negative is the food is irresistible and so I leave several kilos heavier!

Notice I have not even started on the game drives – they are a wonder of their own and absolutely out of this world! Mike and Like our driver and tracker were so keen, enthusiastic, personable, friendly, helpful and had great sense of humour and delivered every animal we wanted to see. They showed us the animals that were out and about on the day with searching for those we specifically wanted to see. We had several unforgettable and memorable experiences – rhinos – not one, not even two but across the day we saw three groups totalling ten rhino – I never ever believed I would see a single one!!!! Leopard every day often with cubs and kills in a tree, then male lions then lionesses with seven cubs then a kill and watching them eat the unfortunate impala – I could list the amazing fantastic and brilliant sights we saw for days. Mike also knew the best positions for us to get the best photos, light, angle, framing and he managed to position he vehicle and reposition several times to get the shots we wanted . And don’t for a moment think you’ll be watching animals and birds from hundreds of yards distance – here animals ignore vehicles so while you’ll use your telephoto most of the time a wide angle is vital for close encounters. Best of all was Mike and Likes incredible knowledge which they willingly shared answering every question we came up with. They also have an amazing ability to understand behaviour so their unerring sense of timing gave us opportunities for experiences such as lion kills, leopard walking with a cub and following wild dogs which need patience which was richly rewarded. This is far more than a regular ‘drive by’ type of tour where you clock the animal and go – this gives you an understanding of the rhythms of their life – and sometimes their death.
Mike even ‘gave us’ an extra night at Londolozi – we thought we were leaving Monday but we were actually leaving Tuesday – another whole day of heaven!

So what could be better here? It’s almost impossible to think of a thing. Coffee –was considered great by most people but as drinkers of exceptional coffee we missed a good ristretto!

Room Tip: I am sure every room is perfect at Tree Camp as the layout gives everyone a bush view in front of the rooms where monkeys swing through the trees!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi Chris F,

It is truly wonderful to hear what a spectacular time you had at Tree Camp Londolozi! It is so great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will make sure that your kind words make their way to all parties mentioned.
We look forward to a possible return visit but until then I hope that you are able to keep your Londolozi fix by reading our blog.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Londolozi exceeds excellence! From the moment we arrived, it was clear that we had found paradise in South Africa. The accommodations, food, and overall ambience was perfection.
However, no beautiful safari lodge can make a visit special without wonderful people. There is no rating high enough for the dedicated men and women at Tree Camp all of whom made our stay fantastic. In particular,,Mark, you will certainly be missed; Sersant and Robert, your friendly smiles and expert service at every meal was a delight. And to all who prepared those wonderful meals, thank you!

The wildlife was amazing - we witnessed many unbelievable sights and we owe it all to our Ranger Talley and Tracker, Freddie. Your passion for the animals at Londolozi, and your skills are undeniable. Each and every game drive was beautiful and we thank you for sharing that passion and knowledge with us. if you are looking for the perfect safari experience, look no further than
Londolozi Tree Camp.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Tree Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear WinChloe,

The Tree Camp staff are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return visit.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews