We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly Spectacular!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Londolozi Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Spectacular!!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at Londolozi tree camp. So hard to describe how amazing it is. It is small and intimate (only 6 suites) and they make you feel very special and attend to your every need/want. The game drivers and trackers are exceptional (We had James and Elmon!!). They are very passionate about what they do and extremely knowledgable. You have the same driver/tracker throughout your stay. Our ranger, James, had two surprises for us during our stay. One was a fantastic lunch picnic high up in a secluded tree house and the other was a short hike up a large rock formation for coffee with spectacular views in all directions. As far as animal sightings --- WOW!! We saw elephants (including babies), 3 lion prides, 4 leopard sightings, hyenas, hippos, girraffe, wildebeast, cape buffalo, & a rare sighting of a pack of wild dogs with a fresh impala kill. The suites are huge and beautiful and very private. Extremely romantic!! Basically, I wanted to cry when it was time to leave and hope to go back in 2012!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
72
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Just returned from three nights at Londolozi Tree Camp and it was beyond anything we could have imagined even after living through trip advisor and the Londolozi website. It is not cheap at all but you certainly get what you pay for.
We were fortunate enough to see all of the "big five" but even if we had not seen one impala the staff, food and accommodations would have made up for it.
Upon arrival you are greeted at the air strip by a fleet of land rovers, then champagne and cold towels five minutes later when you arrive a the camp.
The food was superb, a good variety and there certainly is no lack of anything to drink from scotches and great wines from around the world to water (sparkling or still) whenever you could hope for it and then some.
The best part though is the staff. Any luxury camp or hotel can be nice but the staff makes you feel like family. Not only are they extremely knowledgable about the wildlife, they are friendly and make you feel at home. I really cannot say enough good things and am counting the time until we are able to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This was our wedding anniversary and we had a fantastic time. The people at Tree Camp were beautiful. Our accommodation was amazing. The food, omg, the food. Wake up call in the morning with room service. The drives into the bush. The scenery, the animals. No TV's, no phones. I loved every minute and if I can ever make it back I would go. Miss it.
I give it 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xpatsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I spent 4 nights at Tree Camp - a special birthday treat. It was an amazing experience. collected from the plane by a handsome ranger, Adam, who drove the short distance to Tree Camp, where Callie and our butler Robert were waiting with hot towels and cold champagne. The suite was fabulous - huge rooms, wonderful decor and furniture, exceptionally comfortable. Plus the deck with the private plunge pool. What luxury.

And then there was the wonder and excitement of the game drives. Adam and James, an incredible tracker, worked hard to provide the most amazing game viewing experience. Adam was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the animals, trees, plants - and James found animals that were invisible to my untrained eye. Watching him walk into the bush to find leopard was a heart stopping moment. So much fun and excitement every day.

Then there was the food - which was superb. Coming back from the morning game drive to a huge breakfast was heaven.
And I must not forget Mo who runs an amazing learning centre in the village where she helps local people acquire skills to improve their chances of getting work.
I have been to other game reserves in Africa and India but to my mind Londolozi is the best. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everything was done with a smile.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beemkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed at Londolozi Tree Camp after our stay at Singita Sweni. I have to say that maybe Singita spoiled us a bit and that would be the only reason why I rated this place the way I did.

The Good: Tree camp is very stylish and intimate. It was recently renovated so everything was clean and new and up to date. The rooms were beautiful and huge. The staff was nice and really helpful. The game viewing was the best (even better than Singita Sweni in Kruger).

The Not As Good: There were a few flaws that we noticed while staying at Tree Camp. The food was not as good as it should be for the prices and caliber of this place. Lunch was a buffet- you could not choose from a menu, and dinner was a choice from 2 appitizers and 2 entrees. On top of that, the food did not always taste very good. At Singita, you always get to choose from a menu and everything tastes amazing! The rooms were nice except the bathroom had a huge window with no shades in front of the shower and outside that window was a walkway leading from the pool! No one ever walked by but it was very nerve racking to take a shower while praying no one decides to use that walkway. Also, the driver and tracker on the game drives did not seem as enthusiastic as they did at Singita. Sometimes after seeing a dangerous animal, the tracker would just stay in the passenger seat for the remainder of the drive and just talk with the driver instead of getting back out and sitting on the front to track more animals. It seemed like they were bored with their job. It definitely took away from the excitement of the safari.

Other than those few things, everything else was great. We went and checked out Granite Camp while we were there, it was even more beautiful and stylish than Tree Camp. If Granite is available, I would stay there next time. The rooms were huge and had an amazing view of the area and animals from the terrace and plunge pool. It was even smaller and more intimate than Tree Camp. I would go back just to stay at Granite Camp. Overall we had a great stay and not too many complaints with Tree Camp. Maybe stay at Londolozi BEFORE you stay at Singita so there are no disappointments.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cockatoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

This is truly one of the most special places on earth. The scenery was amazing, the people and staff were unbelievable. We literally cried when we left because we would miss the people we met there. This place will proabably ruin me for any hotel experience for the rest of my life!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

I have been meaning to post a review of Tree Camp for some time. We stayed there in Sept '07. It was the last stop on our African safari visit to Botswana and So Africa.

We wouldn't have missed it for the world. We loved every minute of it.

Recently renovated and distinguished from the other Londolozi Lodges by it’s simply elegant style and its architectural splendor.

Gorgeous suites- with living room, king-size bedroom, large glamorous bathrooms with shower stall, tub, separate loo (and electrical outlet for hairdryers!) Outside - a cool pool with a roofed deck lounge holding two comfortable chairs + ottomans + table. Perfect for reading and naps!

Truly an interior designer's delight. ( I am one). Comfortable beds and luxury bedding. Beautiful appointments, butler service discreetly performed. Food was wonderful and the service perfect. Table settings and stylish appointments.

Our ranger, James Kydd (see Ranger Diaries.com) is one of the best in our African travels. Quietly spoken, fantastically knowledgeable with a lovely sense of humor. Along with Jerry, his courteous tracker, they made sure we had great adventures and out of this world experiences. I loved that James was never blasé about the land, saw the beauty as we did and stopped for quiet moments to absorb it all. Though it is a word I don't often use, it was indeed a ''spiritual' experience.

We watched and tracked amazing leopards in the vehicle. One day, a lion we were watching, suddenly stood up, walked towards our vehicle, stopped in right in front, and roared, letting the world know who was in charge! The roar vibrated through vehicle. Simply magnificent. Wow!

Our only small disappointment was a very chatty family who shared our vehicle and never stopped talking through animal sightings or divine moments when the animals allowed us to share their lives. It was very annoying. Would have changed vehicles but admired James so much that we didn't want another ranger. But it nearly ruined our stay. (We think the camp management should make an effort to tame some of these thoughtless people!) (I will post photos when I get a moment to upload them.)

  • Liked — Elegant tasteful contemporary comfortable interior design. Hate to admit it..pleased to have an electrical outlet for a hairdryer
  • Disliked — Nothing not to hate. Annoyed that management doesn't deal with guests who spoil the safari experience.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
13.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
12.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Tree Camp

Property: Londolozi Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Camp embodies the very essence of Londolozi’s continuous striving to transcend and redefine the journey to the wilderness.This is a place of connoisseurship, leopards, orchids, lanterns and lead wood trees. Guests spend lazy afternoons on their decks, champagne in hand as they survey the ancient landscape, elephants feeding below in the river.Elegance and simplicity are the hallmarks of the Tree Camp sanctuaries. In every detail and feature, from the private swimming pools and contemplation decks (salas) to the Ralph Lauren wallpaper and chocolate plaited leather beds, this exclusive camp provides a matchless showcase of African excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Tree Camp Hotel Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Tree Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing