We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect what you pay for...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Londolozi Tree Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Londolozi Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't expect what you pay for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I'm reluctant to give Tree Camp at Londolozi a less than stellar review, but I have to admit, our expectations of this place simply were not met, maybe in part because we relied heavily on the impressive reviews on Tripadvisor, as well as on the review provided by our friends who stayed at Londolozi (though they stayed at Founder's camp and had a different ranger and tracker). My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon here, and thought we had saved the best for last.

In some ways, our 3 days at Londolozi were the best part of our trip (namely, game viewing) and in others, we were less than impressed. After spending 5 nights at Capetown's Cape Grace and 2 night at Ngala Tented Safari Camp, both of which costs a fraction of a night at Tree Camp, we expected Tree to be spectacular in comparison.

In terms of accomodation and location, it is phenomenal, Tree camp is unbelievanly stylish and trendy. The rooms are enormous, complete with outdoor deck and lounge, plunge pool and outdoor shower (which didn't run warm water however). In terms of the atmosphere however, the rooms are not cozy at all and even feel a bit too manicured, which to some might translate into luxury, but for us it wasn't our style in the end.

The most important thing to note about Londolozi is that the game viewing is unparalleled, enough reason alone to stay there. Almost every game drive was filled with spectacular game viewing and the anticipation of what we would see next just continued to build with each amazing game drive. We saw all of the big 5 on several occassions, as well as most other animals, and even witnessed a wild dog kill of a baby impala. We could not have imagined such an amazing game viewing experience, especially because the camp we stayed at just before Londolozi did not prove successful in seeing even some of the big 5. The only negative comment here is that our driver and tracker, though very knowledgeable, were not very enthusiastic or talkative and mostly talked to us when we engaged them with questions or otherwise. Most of the time they just talked to one another, and on a few occasions, made us feel silly and inexperienced when we asked questions about some of the animals. They almost seemed bored with what they were doing. Another minor point, the game drives are pretty long, usually running 3.5-4 hours per drive, and it is customary to stop for coffee during the morning drive and drinks/snacks during the afternoon drive. In our case, our ranger didn't stop on most of the morning drives, and at times it was frustrating watching other vehicles stopped for coffee while we drove past them.

The chief complaint with Londolozi is the caliber of the food, given the price of the stay. The food was just okay, nothing to speak of, and in some cases, it did not taste that good. While most would agree that the experience of Londolozi is about the game viewing, for the expense of staying at Tree Camp, I would suggest that the food should have been superb. It was far from it, and the options limited during the lunch buffet. Perhaps it would have made more sense to stay at one of the other Londolozi camps to experience the same caliber of game viewing and equivalent quality of food, for half the price.

One last point, though the staff (butler and manager, etc) were polite and accomodating during our stay, we didn't appreciate that they were also somewhat cool in their hospitality. This is difficult to quantify, but their dispositions almost seemed forced or contrived rather than warm and friendly, which is the opposite of what we experienced at the other places we stayed at during our honeymoon. It left us feeling less than enthusiastic about our choice of accomodation for the last part of our honeymoon, and curious about whether we should have chosen Singita instead...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank nyctrichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at Londolozi tree camp. So hard to describe how amazing it is. It is small and intimate (only 6 suites) and they make you feel very special and attend to your every need/want. The game drivers and trackers are exceptional (We had James and Elmon!!). They are very passionate about what they do and extremely knowledgable. You have the same driver/tracker throughout your stay. Our ranger, James, had two surprises for us during our stay. One was a fantastic lunch picnic high up in a secluded tree house and the other was a short hike up a large rock formation for coffee with spectacular views in all directions. As far as animal sightings --- WOW!! We saw elephants (including babies), 3 lion prides, 4 leopard sightings, hyenas, hippos, girraffe, wildebeast, cape buffalo, & a rare sighting of a pack of wild dogs with a fresh impala kill. The suites are huge and beautiful and very private. Extremely romantic!! Basically, I wanted to cry when it was time to leave and hope to go back in 2012!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Just returned from three nights at Londolozi Tree Camp and it was beyond anything we could have imagined even after living through trip advisor and the Londolozi website. It is not cheap at all but you certainly get what you pay for.
We were fortunate enough to see all of the "big five" but even if we had not seen one impala the staff, food and accommodations would have made up for it.
Upon arrival you are greeted at the air strip by a fleet of land rovers, then champagne and cold towels five minutes later when you arrive a the camp.
The food was superb, a good variety and there certainly is no lack of anything to drink from scotches and great wines from around the world to water (sparkling or still) whenever you could hope for it and then some.
The best part though is the staff. Any luxury camp or hotel can be nice but the staff makes you feel like family. Not only are they extremely knowledgable about the wildlife, they are friendly and make you feel at home. I really cannot say enough good things and am counting the time until we are able to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This was our wedding anniversary and we had a fantastic time. The people at Tree Camp were beautiful. Our accommodation was amazing. The food, omg, the food. Wake up call in the morning with room service. The drives into the bush. The scenery, the animals. No TV's, no phones. I loved every minute and if I can ever make it back I would go. Miss it.
I give it 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I spent 4 nights at Tree Camp - a special birthday treat. It was an amazing experience. collected from the plane by a handsome ranger, Adam, who drove the short distance to Tree Camp, where Callie and our butler Robert were waiting with hot towels and cold champagne. The suite was fabulous - huge rooms, wonderful decor and furniture, exceptionally comfortable. Plus the deck with the private plunge pool. What luxury.

And then there was the wonder and excitement of the game drives. Adam and James, an incredible tracker, worked hard to provide the most amazing game viewing experience. Adam was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the animals, trees, plants - and James found animals that were invisible to my untrained eye. Watching him walk into the bush to find leopard was a heart stopping moment. So much fun and excitement every day.

Then there was the food - which was superb. Coming back from the morning game drive to a huge breakfast was heaven.
And I must not forget Mo who runs an amazing learning centre in the village where she helps local people acquire skills to improve their chances of getting work.
I have been to other game reserves in Africa and India but to my mind Londolozi is the best. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everything was done with a smile.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beemkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed at Londolozi Tree Camp after our stay at Singita Sweni. I have to say that maybe Singita spoiled us a bit and that would be the only reason why I rated this place the way I did.

The Good: Tree camp is very stylish and intimate. It was recently renovated so everything was clean and new and up to date. The rooms were beautiful and huge. The staff was nice and really helpful. The game viewing was the best (even better than Singita Sweni in Kruger).

The Not As Good: There were a few flaws that we noticed while staying at Tree Camp. The food was not as good as it should be for the prices and caliber of this place. Lunch was a buffet- you could not choose from a menu, and dinner was a choice from 2 appitizers and 2 entrees. On top of that, the food did not always taste very good. At Singita, you always get to choose from a menu and everything tastes amazing! The rooms were nice except the bathroom had a huge window with no shades in front of the shower and outside that window was a walkway leading from the pool! No one ever walked by but it was very nerve racking to take a shower while praying no one decides to use that walkway. Also, the driver and tracker on the game drives did not seem as enthusiastic as they did at Singita. Sometimes after seeing a dangerous animal, the tracker would just stay in the passenger seat for the remainder of the drive and just talk with the driver instead of getting back out and sitting on the front to track more animals. It seemed like they were bored with their job. It definitely took away from the excitement of the safari.

Other than those few things, everything else was great. We went and checked out Granite Camp while we were there, it was even more beautiful and stylish than Tree Camp. If Granite is available, I would stay there next time. The rooms were huge and had an amazing view of the area and animals from the terrace and plunge pool. It was even smaller and more intimate than Tree Camp. I would go back just to stay at Granite Camp. Overall we had a great stay and not too many complaints with Tree Camp. Maybe stay at Londolozi BEFORE you stay at Singita so there are no disappointments.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cockatoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

This is truly one of the most special places on earth. The scenery was amazing, the people and staff were unbelievable. We literally cried when we left because we would miss the people we met there. This place will proabably ruin me for any hotel experience for the rest of my life!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Londolozi Private Game Reserve
39.2 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reser...
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
12.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
5.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Tree Camp

Property: Londolozi Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Camp embodies the very essence of Londolozi’s continuous striving to transcend and redefine the journey to the wilderness.This is a place of connoisseurship, leopards, orchids, lanterns and lead wood trees. Guests spend lazy afternoons on their decks, champagne in hand as they survey the ancient landscape, elephants feeding below in the river.Elegance and simplicity are the hallmarks of the Tree Camp sanctuaries. In every detail and feature, from the private swimming pools and contemplation decks (salas) to the Ralph Lauren wallpaper and chocolate plaited leather beds, this exclusive camp provides a matchless showcase of African excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Londolozi Tree Camp Hotel Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Tree Camp South Africa/Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing